Good OLE days !

import

Good OLE days !

Postby import » April 16th, 2010, 8:22 pm

Well i know some ppl are more than happy that the rains are back..

We gots no government so i know ZERO preparation has been made for our new upcoming season..

SO is it just me, or are we to expect another wave of the Good ole days ?

Thankful for the rain... But i am soo not in a hurry to go back to this . :?

And thats just Town... Cant forget Central and South :(

monkeyman

Postby monkeyman » April 16th, 2010, 8:34 pm

This we can live with but severe drought not!!

Government or not its the same preparation done absolutely nothing

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » April 16th, 2010, 8:41 pm

Fella,look at it this way,what you prefer........Too much of something or too little or something....presently at the point in time we need as much rainfall as possible to fill up our almost depleted reservoirs.......just something to think about.........Let it fall......... 0X

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 16th, 2010, 9:30 pm

kamla will save us

d spike

Postby d spike » April 16th, 2010, 11:28 pm

Mitsubishi Maniac wrote:Fella,look at it this way,what you prefer........Too much of something or too little or something....presently at the point in time we need as much rainfall as possible to fill up our almost depleted reservoirs.......just something to think about.........Let it fall......... 0X

Oh really???
No son, we need the rain, agreed, but in short, light showers...
What do you think will happen when 'as much rainfall as possible' falls on our bush-fire scorched hillsides?
Silt will wash into our reservoirs and settle, lessening the amount of water the reservoirs can hold... ensuring another crisis next dry season.
Turbid waters cause the pumps to clog, so the pumps are shut down when the rivers run brown... ensuring a continuation of the water shortage.
Rivers get their 'clean' water, not from surface run-off, but from water that percolates through the soil. Without ground cover to absorb the rain and the surface run-off, and cause it to percolate into the soil, all or most of it will run off, and our ground water reserves won't be replenished... ensuring yet another reason for a continued water shortage.

When people say, doh light no blasted fires, there's a reason. All that bull that people spout every year about naturally occurring combustion... not here. EVERY SINGLE fire was lit by an arsehole, whether deliberately, as a damn fool hunter trying to smoke a beast out of a hole in a tree, or accidentally, as in a flicked cigarette out a car window.

Let it rain...

angel_player

Postby angel_player » April 17th, 2010, 12:58 pm

Yea but wasnt there a warning about all this flooding again to come... Look how much fire on the hills it had, ppl almost burn down Maracas St Joseph hills. The was a fire raging on a hillside near me for days on end. The fire Services came very often to put out the blaze but thay could not properly get access to the source of the blaze.

I also saw on TV6 news some nights ago a Citizen Journalist sent in a photo of a clogged drain... It was filled with OLD PLASTIC BOTTLES and OTHER HOUSEHOLD DEBRIS!!! I mean what the hell an old bed doing in a river, why is it we have to find someone's old fridge or stove thrown in a drain down the road!!

simple flood equation:
ARSON + INCONSIDERATE STARTING OF BUSHFIRES + INCONSIDERATE DUMPING OF RUBBISH BY MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC + INADEQUATE DRAINAGE = FLOOD

:? simple :!:

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » April 17th, 2010, 1:05 pm

Bakr will save us............ :)

Postby Trini Hookah » April 17th, 2010, 1:06 pm

heavy rain for the past 20mins in chaguanas certainly reminds me of good ol' times, however flooding wouldn't be a surprise on monday if this continues throughout the weekend...

todd61

Postby todd61 » April 17th, 2010, 1:08 pm

Right now it raining as soon as i open this thread it start to fall

Postby Trini Hookah » April 17th, 2010, 1:11 pm

Postby Stephon. » April 17th, 2010, 1:55 pm

In the last pic the man look for that, he not supposed to be parking there, so take that.

import

Postby import » April 17th, 2010, 1:58 pm

heavy rain for the past 20mins in chaguanas certainly reminds me of good ol' times, however flooding wouldn't be a surprise on monday if this continues throughout the weekend...

That is exactly what am afraid of... A day or two of consistent rain... An we in serious trouble...

Fella,look at it this way,what you prefer........Too much of something or too little or something....presently at the point in time we need as much rainfall as possible to fill up our almost depleted reservoirs.......just something to think about.........Let it fall.

I understand your point but what you angle you need to look at is the fact that its NOT a problem for our reservoirs to be refilled...

WASA gives you the impression yes the water reserves are low an the country WAS or IS in a crisis...

What they dont tell you is what infrastructure is presently in place and whats the MAXIMUM water capacity that WASA can hold at any given time... They have a age old as far as anyone of us can remember water storage and distribution system..

Think of it simply as having a full 2litre softdrink to Satisfy a carload of friends goin on a lime... When they meet two more carloads, can that same FULL 2litre softdrink satisfy three loads now ??

Our population has grown over the years, our water storage and distribution system has NOT ... Let the sun come shine next year.. They gonna sing the same cry song yet again...

WHO REALLY IN CHARGE OF WASA ???

Postby Rooki3 » April 17th, 2010, 2:47 pm

Stephon. wrote:In the last pic the man look for that, he not supposed to be parking there, so take that.

ivar

Postby ivar » April 17th, 2010, 6:49 pm

blame manning,
pray that kamla save us

venomz

Postby venomz » April 18th, 2010, 12:19 am

so who can answer this..

the water the fire trucks are using to out bush fires...ent it comes from fire hydrants...now ent these are connected to wasa main lines...the same line we use for drinkin water/potable water? now..

on the papers 900 plus fires have been reported and 500 have been controlled by the fire service...

if we have a water shortage of potable water.. why use wasa's treated source..when u can use water from other sources such as petrotrin/powergen dams that are used for industrial usage? or from rivers that dont lead to dams..like the cipero river etc

d spike

Postby d spike » April 18th, 2010, 10:29 am

venomz wrote:so who can answer this..

the water the fire trucks are using to out bush fires...ent it comes from fire hydrants...now ent these are connected to wasa main lines...the same line we use for drinkin water/potable water? now..

on the papers 900 plus fires have been reported and 500 have been controlled by the fire service...

if we have a water shortage of potable water.. why use wasa's treated source..when u can use water from other sources such as petrotrin/powergen dams that are used for industrial usage? or from rivers that dont lead to dams..like the cipero river etc

While I understand the point behind your question - that of not wasting water - it might seem to many that this query is rather inconsiderate of the Fire officers...

The main duty of the Fire Service is to out fires. One of the duties of WASA is to provide water for the Fire Service. The Fire stations have their hands full what with fires and accidents, to start worrying about the source of their water, don't you think? WASA is the institution to which you should be directing this query... and I do agree with this. WASA should have ensured that there were small 'control' dams in many of the more accessible rivers that are not directly being used as water sources... as they would serve as emergency water source sites, as well as allow for percolation into our ground water (this acts as a massive storage facility which we didn't have to build, and access it via wells) in addition to acting as a flood inhibitor downstream.

noplasticcars

Postby noplasticcars » April 18th, 2010, 9:02 pm

d spike wrote:
Mitsubishi Maniac wrote:Fella,look at it this way,what you prefer........Too much of something or too little or something....presently at the point in time we need as much rainfall as possible to fill up our almost depleted reservoirs.......just something to think about.........Let it fall......... 0X

Oh really???
No son, we need the rain, agreed, but in short, light showers...
What do you think will happen when 'as much rainfall as possible' falls on our bush-fire scorched hillsides?
Silt will wash into our reservoirs and settle, lessening the amount of water the reservoirs can hold... ensuring another crisis next dry season.
Turbid waters cause the pumps to clog, so the pumps are shut down when the rivers run brown... ensuring a continuation of the water shortage.
Rivers get their 'clean' water, not from surface run-off, but from water that percolates through the soil. Without ground cover to absorb the rain and the surface run-off, and cause it to percolate into the soil, all or most of it will run off, and our ground water reserves won't be replenished... ensuring yet another reason for a continued water shortage.

When people say, doh light no blasted fires, there's a reason. All that bull that people spout every year about naturally occurring combustion... not here. EVERY SINGLE fire was lit by an arsehole, whether deliberately, as a damn fool hunter trying to smoke a beast out of a hole in a tree, or accidentally, as in a flicked cigarette out a car window.

Let it rain...
the unfortunate thing is that the arseholes who light these fires dont get flooded out .Its those unfortunate people who live on the plains

noplasticcars

Postby noplasticcars » April 18th, 2010, 9:09 pm

Nothing gets addressed in this country unless someone has a passion for the particular problem.Usually this passion comes in the form of bribes kickbacks or a lucrative contract.Bottom line; if it cant make a quick buck with little or no work it aint happening. :evil:

Postby wagonrunner » April 18th, 2010, 10:10 pm

d spike wrote:

While I understand the point behind your question - that of not wasting water - it might seem to many that this query is rather inconsiderate of the Fire officers...

The main duty of the Fire Service is to out fires. One of the duties of WASA is to provide water for the Fire Service. The Fire stations have their hands full what with fires and accidents, to start worrying about the source of their water, don't you think? WASA is the institution to which you should be directing this query... and I do agree with this. WASA should have ensured that there were small 'control' dams in many of the more accessible rivers that are not directly being used as water sources... as they would serve as emergency water source sites, as well as allow for percolation into our ground water (this acts as a massive storage facility which we didn't have to build, and access it via wells) in addition to acting as a flood inhibitor downstream.

All valid points, but fire services hadda take some pong too.
So an area they're supposed to cover, from Grande, is Manzanilla.
There was a big bushfire a while ago, and they had to send the tender back and forth to grande for water.
Noone in that service, could see the merit of pumping saltwater for such emergencies?

d spike

Postby d spike » April 19th, 2010, 9:44 pm

d spike wrote:

All valid points, but fire services hadda take some pong too.
So an area they're supposed to cover, from Grande, is Manzanilla.
There was a big bushfire a while ago, and they had to send the tender back and forth to grande for water.
Noone in that service, could see the merit of pumping saltwater for such emergencies?

Again, I see your point, but the equipment commonly carried in a tender isn't designed for salt water - to my knowledge, which is at least a decade old.