what video card do you use?

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 29th, 2010, 12:23 pm

or what would you recommend for someone who does HD editing....

mine just died :/

and it was due for an upgrade, just now i've got here and don't kno what's really the level of technology these days...

Currently running:
Maximus Extreme II Board
Quad Core 2.4ghz processor
6gb OCZ Platinum

any suggestions as to what card i could use to maximize my video editing options?

thnx much

Chris :!:

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » March 29th, 2010, 12:52 pm

don't know what card is the best noww but i use a gtx 9800+

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 29th, 2010, 1:04 pm

I still in the Dark ages with my AGP MSI NVIDIA GeFORCE FX5200 128 :oops: :oops: :oops:

Donations welcome .

Postby r3iXmann » March 29th, 2010, 1:18 pm

a FireGL or Quadro? :mrgreen:

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 29th, 2010, 1:23 pm

threeplumes wrote:don't know what card is the best noww but i use a gtx 9800+

i was considering the 9800 but i found the price to be.... i dunnno?

cheap?? and that's a 512 card right?

i was looking for something along the lines of a 1gb :?:

like a GTX260?

i mean i know PS3's and Xbox's took over the world, but is PC gaming THAT dead?

what's gonna happen when games like Starcraft II and Diablo III release?

Zas

Postby Zas » March 29th, 2010, 2:57 pm

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » March 29th, 2010, 4:45 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:

like a GTX260?

i using a amd quad core with 6gigs of ddr3 ram with the card and i can play games... modern warfare 2 etc all on the highestt settings

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 29th, 2010, 4:51 pm

threeplumes wrote:
Sinister_Audio wrote:

like a GTX260?

i using a amd quad core with 6gigs of ddr3 ram with the card and i can play games... modern warfare 2 etc all on the highestt settings

hmmm werd

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » March 29th, 2010, 5:05 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:

like a GTX260?

I am using a GeForce 9400gt 1gb DDR2 PCI 1x and Starcraft 2 running rel good

Crucial

Postby Crucial » March 29th, 2010, 5:10 pm

In contrast to gaming, video editing has very little to do with your video card and any modest GPU should suffice.

As your current hardware seems capable of the task, I would recommend focusing your spending on a good NLE.

dman

Postby dman » March 29th, 2010, 7:10 pm

Crucial.s point should be taken as well as what editing software u are planning to use

some are processor intensive and hardly use the video card as well as some need certain types of video cards to maximize their features

and a word of advice dont let a gamer build ur non linear editing system

Postby M_2NR » March 29th, 2010, 7:15 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:

like a GTX260?

u not gaming so STFU :lol:
I have that same card to and it works great. As others are saying, isnt video editing not as GPU intensive as CPU, your apps utilizing your 4 cores? I watch my CPU go to 100% while GPU chilling around when i converting/editing video. Unless u want a Quadro/FireGL :lol:

Pass een if you want my card to buy tho.
ohh if you buying 260, get the core 216 model and u can also check out the ATI 4890. I dunno i just sway towards ATi when i hear video editing :oops:

Postby r3iXmann » March 29th, 2010, 7:18 pm

FireGL ftw :|

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 29th, 2010, 10:04 pm

ATi 4850

Works with everything I throw at it

Would recommend the 5770 (more or less the replacement) if you want DirectX 11

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 29th, 2010, 10:08 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:

like a GTX260?

memory dont say much, you could put how much memory you want on a graphics card but if the gpu cant keep up with it then it doesnt make sense. In other words if you have 12GB on that 9800 it not going to be any different than the 512MB.

oh and

Sinister_Audio wrote:i mean i know PS3's and Xbox's took over the world, but is PC gaming THAT dead?

EH????? what you saying dey is directX 9? and FTW?

pc gaming is far from dead, dont let any ps3 and xbox "statistics" fool you.

and if you want you could check out the gtx470/480 or the HD5850/5870

Postby M_2NR » March 29th, 2010, 11:04 pm

ohh sheit. 1st thing, what d rass is your budget?

jackson5

Postby jackson5 » March 29th, 2010, 11:21 pm

bro.. future proof yuh machine and invest in ah good card >>> ati 5770 upwards...

yuh gettin all d goodies.... ddr5 - dx11 - eyefinity not to mention d money yuh go save on yuh light bill..

i know tech will improve but for now these card rock and will continue to do so for a long time to come...

badart

Postby badart » March 30th, 2010, 1:42 pm

hav a 9800 gtx+...runs great..but my MB is crossfire n can support upto 4 cards so want to go ATI

Postby M_2NR » March 30th, 2010, 6:00 pm

budget?