Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Redman » March 2nd, 2010, 8:33 am

Shoulda take a pic of the genocidal crab.
:mrgreen:
But you should post a pic of the whole tank- the tank looking really good man.
Later

wireless

Postby wireless » March 2nd, 2010, 8:48 am

I'm looking into breeding discus...

Any of u guys here have experience in doing so?

i did some reading and spoke to a few people, any knowledge share would be nice..
:mrgreen:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 2nd, 2010, 9:24 am

Anybody saw the pair of Lion Fish at Nu Image Valpark Shopping Plaza?

BEAUtiful fish. Sorry, I didn't take any pix.

*Runs out to buy and setup a salt water aquarium*

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » March 2nd, 2010, 10:41 am

where can i get Drift wood to buy
got some from chais

need to get some more

any other places

Postby Razkal » March 2nd, 2010, 11:40 am

^Wazir in Aranguez has treated drift wood last i was there.

Don't have a contact for him, sorry, sure it was posted here before though..

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » March 2nd, 2010, 10:46 pm

UML wrote:
kss2801 wrote:New camera pic

what u have that aro in? I assuming a pond......does it not jump out?

It jumped one time when i was leaning into the pond to take out a pot. It jumped straight at my face. crazy fish. Other than that no problems yet. i hope it stays that way.

wouldn't jump out of a pond...but put it in a half watertank nah........

that sucks man, i would hate to lose this fish

link

Postby link » March 3rd, 2010, 5:34 am

it jumped at yr eyes :!: :!: because that's what it saw reflected/moving (blinking)
in the wild, any bird, bat, insect, lizard on an overhanging branch is the next snack :shock: I heard they can make EIGHT FEET high if the water depth is enough :!:
always be careful with this fish.....it's just as instinctively agressive as beautiful :wink:

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » March 3rd, 2010, 11:11 am

who has nice fresh water plants for sale

looking for some for a discus tank

rossi

Postby rossi » March 6th, 2010, 9:27 am

Hey I kinda new to the whole fish thing.....so I asked a guy if a Fighter can live with other fish, he said yes. went and bought him, 2 guppies,4 neons,2 zebras and 2 jelly heads. Woke up this morning and I currently have a badly bruised Fighter,2 zebras,1 neon and the 2 jelly heads.....solitary fuh he ass now!

trinigirl

Postby trinigirl » March 8th, 2010, 12:19 pm

roSs wrote:Hey I kinda new to the whole fish thing.....so I asked a guy if a Fighter can live with other fish, he said yes. went and bought him, 2 guppies,4 neons,2 zebras and 2 jelly heads. Woke up this morning and I currently have a badly bruised Fighter,2 zebras,1 neon and the 2 jelly heads.....solitary fuh he ass now!

If yuh was buying the fish from that man he jus looking for ah sale. Fighter can't live with other fish. It does beat them up and kill them sometimes. Sounds like some of the other fish fight back since you say the fighter was badly bruised too. Doh worry about having a big tank for a fighter, it can live in a small bottle (like ah wheat germ bottle) just fine. Doesn't need airline and ting.

Postby zoom rader » March 8th, 2010, 12:52 pm

Large kois for sale, ideal for large ponds. Sizes are from 14inches to 30 inches. All colours and butterflys

link

Postby link » March 8th, 2010, 3:34 pm

trinigirl wrote:
roSs wrote:Hey I kinda new to the whole fish thing.....so I asked a guy if a Fighter can live with other fish, he said yes. went and bought him, 2 guppies,4 neons,2 zebras and 2 jelly heads. Woke up this morning and I currently have a badly bruised Fighter,2 zebras,1 neon and the 2 jelly heads.....solitary fuh he ass now!

If yuh was buying the fish from that man he jus looking for ah sale. Fighter can't live with other fish. It does beat them up and kill them sometimes. Sounds like some of the other fish fight back since you say the fighter was badly bruised too. Doh worry about having a big tank for a fighter, it can live in a small bottle (like ah wheat germ bottle) just fine. Doesn't need airline and ting.

do table-tech, boi.......get a large goblet & put him on the table :idea: :!: :!: :wink:

rossi

Postby rossi » March 8th, 2010, 7:44 pm

sounds good :)
I actually found out that it was the pair of Jelly head Goldfish that ate the others and attacked the Fighter :x . He died in isolation later on...sigh....
so the Jelly heads had to go.
Got another Fighter though, quite younger than the initial one and added some more to the aquarium, will post pics when I get the finished result I'm looking for.

Naka

Postby Naka » March 8th, 2010, 9:32 pm

I have taytas(plecos). Anybody want? Got like 20-30 of them.

link

Postby link » March 8th, 2010, 9:44 pm

local or import taytas ??

Naka

Postby Naka » March 9th, 2010, 2:20 pm

local

Naka

Postby Naka » March 9th, 2010, 6:50 pm

accepting trades only.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 9th, 2010, 6:54 pm

Naka, wat kind of plecos yuh hav?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 9th, 2010, 7:18 pm

roSs][ wrote:sounds good :)
I actually found out that it was the pair of Jelly head Goldfish that ate the others and attacked the Fighter :x . He died in isolation later on...sigh....
so the Jelly heads had to go.
Got another Fighter though, quite younger than the initial one and added some more to the aquarium, will post pics when I get the finished result I'm looking for.

'jelly head" may be some type of Oranda or unlikely Lion head , Orandas are prone to bladder problems so breed , water and food are very important.

The fire trucking water hyacinths have me in a bind they refuse to multiply in these conditions , i thought that my water was too clean , because they seem to be doing well on the Beetham until of late , those are getting brown like mine, even without this much sun , when JM kindly gives me some they last only 3-4 months at most :?

There must be areas . rivers besides the Beetham where these are available

link

Postby link » March 10th, 2010, 12:03 am

The fire trucking water hyacinths have me in a bind they refuse to multiply in these conditions

yer fish eating the new roots frm d hyacinths........it's good snacking :wink:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 11th, 2010, 10:58 am

the "leaves" only get few hour of sun, sunrise to maybe 10: 30 11 am , and the leaves are getting brown and absent .

I know its great snacking for them especially if they are prone to intestinal issues , but going from nearly no surface space to shrubs every few months , something i am missing here , feed twice a day and the right amout of food( varying sicks in the am , algae tablets ,flakes or small pellets at night , some particular condition exist here :?

greedy goldfish yes , but what else chemically , water tests are done and alkalines and acids are kept in check, my theory is that my current filtration sytem is too good
1. It does not give the pants enough amonia as it filters the water too fast

link

Postby link » March 11th, 2010, 1:35 pm

my theory is that my current filtration sytem is too good

quite right.there's such a thing as 'too much of a good thing' :wink:

what u cud try is running the filter for 1 hour in the evenings..that shud keep yr water clear AND leave enough nutrients during the day for plant life.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 11th, 2010, 3:20 pm

yes link i would begin that , and report the findings thanks

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » March 11th, 2010, 9:13 pm

cornfused wrote:the "leaves" only get few hour of sun, sunrise to maybe 10: 30 11 am , and the leaves are getting brown and absent .

I know its great snacking for them especially if they are prone to intestinal issues , but going from nearly no surface space to shrubs every few months , something i am missing here , feed twice a day and the right amout of food( varying sicks in the am , algae tablets ,flakes or small pellets at night , some particular condition exist here :?

greedy goldfish yes , but what else chemically , water tests are done and alkalines and acids are kept in check, my theory is that my current filtration sytem is too good
1. It does not give the pants enough amonia as it filters the water too fast

plants do not use ammonia they use nitrates and phosphates which your filter will convert d fish waste to
if you shut off your filter d bacteria that does this conversion will die
and you may have an ammonia spike

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » March 11th, 2010, 9:44 pm

plants do not use ammonia they use nitrates and phosphates which your filter will convert d fish waste to
if you shut off your filter d bacteria that does this conversion will die
and you may have an ammonia spike

+1[/quote]

link

Postby link » March 12th, 2010, 12:14 am

if his 'system' is not established, there is no cycle in which the hyacinths can fit into, hence he needs to up the ante for plant nutrients to accommodate. the water testing will prevent ammonia/nitrite spike & ecological equilibrium should come around. Then he can extend the period of filter operation (or restrict the efficiency of the system) acdgnly.
but...there are many ways to massage yr systems
rgds
Last edited by link on March 12th, 2010, 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JM

Postby JM » March 12th, 2010, 3:04 am

Cornfused how those insects on the hyacinths going?
did this batch last for a shorter time than before?
U ever considered potting 1 or 2 hyacinths? so that those might grow?
or even just a metal mesh cyclinder on 1 or 2..to limit how much roots the fish can access?
NOt that i mind giving away my hyacinths...LOL..those things are usually friggin bloodseeds

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 12th, 2010, 12:48 pm

all points considered

Cornfused how those insects on the hyacinths going?
will be needing some in a few days or 1 week
did this batch last for a shorter time than before?
well actually no insects were visible on the plants and time is shorter

U ever considered potting 1 or 2 hyacinths? so that those might grow?
I have put aside a few plants in a separate container and put the fish water , with manure , while they are not dead , they are not green and on the way out

bloodseeds?
just say when :)

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 12th, 2010, 9:55 pm

as for the insects JM , some internet research says that the :

Submerged portions of all aquatic plants provide habitats for many micro and macro invertebrates. These invertebrates in turn are used as food by fish and other wildlife species (e.g. amphibians, reptiles, ducks, etc.)." - Aquaplant , Dept. Of Wildlife and Fisheries - Texas A&M

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 12th, 2010, 10:00 pm

there are fish safe fertilizers as well any one knows about these