What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby ronsin1 » February 25th, 2010, 9:48 pm

slow323 wrote:
LG Units you will find a lot of trouble to get parts if they can be found at least in my experience

you just looking in the wrong places for LG parts thats all

manzan

Postby manzan » February 26th, 2010, 11:19 am

Trane A/c, 1 of the quiet ones i ever heard, didnt even know if it on or off. 5 yrs warranty. its real good.

Neil26

Postby Neil26 » March 6th, 2010, 11:41 am

manzan wrote:Trane A/c, 1 of the quiet ones i ever heard, didnt even know if it on or off. 5 yrs warranty. its real good.

who distributes "trane"
Has anyone tried the Frigidaire AC units from Pricemart yet?

Smokey

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panason

Postby Smokey » May 13th, 2010, 8:39 pm

i dont mean to rehash the same question again, but i buying the AC this week and I still undecided :D

The units (all 12k BTU) I've narrowed it down to are,

Panasonic Inverter - $7k
Panasonic Deluxe - $5k
Carrier - $5.6k
Katashi - $4.6k
Miller/Westinghouse - $4.5k (or $5k..not sure)

Right now the Katashi seems like a good deal, we've got one at one of the site offices and it works pretty damn good, pretty reliable as well.

Panasonic Inverter is tempting, but 2k extra for something that may save me $50-$100 a month in electricity doesn't seem worth it at the moment....i mean it will pay off in 2 years or less, but......i wont be living here in two years so...

Basically, the decision comes down to reliability, quietness and air filtering abilities (i have dust allergies)....i'll be the first to admit the Katashi isn't the quietest but it's tolerable, so if its the worst of the lot then noise is irrelavent.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 13th, 2010, 9:54 pm

using peakes with over 3 years now with no problem.....

srnoth

Re:

Postby srnoth » May 14th, 2010, 7:36 am

Neil26 wrote:Has anyone tried the Frigidaire AC units from Pricemart yet?

Was wondering about these myself.

venomz

Postby venomz » May 14th, 2010, 7:39 am

Smokey wrote:
Kentucky wrote:
Smokey wrote:reliability and quietness as the two most important factors

Daiken

I've heard this before as well.

Who sells them here in TnT?

cool control limited - san fernando -657-1100

evo-STI-k

Re:

Postby evo-STI-k » May 14th, 2010, 7:51 am

Just Loud wrote:
evo-STI-k wrote:Daikin is definitely the quietest out of the bunch and WHEN its working it works very well, however, they do tend to break down quite a bit and their parts are somewhat exclusive and expensive.

Carrier is quite good as well.

i know people who have daikin units over 30yrs now without any problems at all.
plus i have had for roughly 14 years now, working every single day with no problems. just need to service every few months.
plus the warranty you get with it is 5 years on everything, not just the compressor

The OLD models of Daikin were good, we had one at home and for over 10 years it never gave problems, however we recently did another house where we used another central daikin and that unit breaks down all the time, we have been advised by the dealer to leave the thermostat at 22 or LOWER.

The dealer themselves explained that these new models are very disappointing and that they can do nothing about it!

LOCO

Postby LOCO » May 14th, 2010, 9:26 am

Fujitsu is excellent, we have about six, and they are very silent, extremely powerful and with normal maintenance they are very reliable.

Postby ronsin1 » May 14th, 2010, 9:42 am

The Miller, PEAKE, Frigidaire and the Cool Wave units all come from the same factory in Vietnam

All parts are also interchangeable

geodude

Re: Re:

Postby geodude » May 14th, 2010, 11:54 pm

srnoth wrote:

[quote="srnoth"][quote="Neil26"]

i log in to ask the same question,

thing is i went to buy a cake and ended up leaving with 3 of the Frigidaire units( 2 12k and 1 24k) however i have not installed them as yet,

i would apprecite if i could get some feedback from the tuner community about this brand from their personal experiences

kevinsonny

Postby kevinsonny » May 15th, 2010, 11:12 am

we got 3 lennox split units in our house, going in 4 years no pronlems!!!!1

geodude

Postby geodude » May 16th, 2010, 12:13 am

nobody have anyhting to say bout Frigidaire????

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 16th, 2010, 1:34 am

^^^I more want to know if you got the cake?

Postby ronsin1 » May 16th, 2010, 7:41 am

ronsin1 wrote:The Miller, PEAKE, Frigidaire and the Cool Wave units all come from the same factory in Vietnam

All parts are also interchangeable

geodude wrote:nobody have anyhting to say bout Frigidaire????

:shock: :shock: :shock:

minipresident

Re:

Postby minipresident » May 16th, 2010, 9:05 am

acesinghit wrote:please use search function, this topic was discussed just recently.

that's okay if Smokey Re-posts. His Avatar makes up for it! :lol:

One of my partners bought three of the frigidaire 12,000Btu split units from Pricesmart and he says they've have been working well for the six or seven months he has them.
not too loud and cools quite well he says.

Trane is supposed to be a pretty good brand but expensive. after all 'nothing stops a trane.'

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 16th, 2010, 6:10 pm

nice informative thread

i just want to go OT a little & ask what is d recommended size split unit for a 200 sqft bedroom ?

dont say to google it since u mostly get american sites recommending some lowish btu units that wont work well for d conditions in d Caribbean so i need to know b4 i start calling around soon ...

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » May 16th, 2010, 7:22 pm

carrier or voltas

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 16th, 2010, 10:45 pm

Short answer is Panasonic is the best there is no questioning this and it ain't up for debate.

However LG being second I still recommend LG because parts is easier and cheaper than the Panasonic.

Sh!t like Carrier and YORK and PEAKE and Innovair etc are all the same thing with a different sticker
I bought a Split AC from pricesmart it was a frigidaire. Circuit board blew first week but they came home and replaced it for me for free.

I still won't recommend it unless you installing it yourself then its a super great deal cause its only $3000 but I had to pay someone to install it and well I also had to buy brackets for the compressor.

PS: Daikin is actually supposed to be the best on the planet but I don't know nah. The price they want is quite high and I mean very very high. You can get 2 Panasonic with the price you would pay for one Daikin.

RadeonHD

Re: Re:

Postby RadeonHD » May 16th, 2010, 10:52 pm

srnoth wrote:

I have one. like I said in a previous post the circuit board in it blew in the first day.

However they replaced it for me and it works perfect ever since. Just make sure and keep yuh receipt

But forget that crap just invest in a little more and get a real AC like a LG or Panasonic.
Its only $1000 difference and worth it.

PEAKE is rubbish. So is the rubbish I buy from pricesmart. ALl the same thing with a different sticker.

LG would be the best because parts is easier to get and their stuff last long. But Panasonic would be the king for its price.

PS: To those who are questioning about quietness trust me even the frigidaire I buy from pricesmart is dead silent.

All Mini Split AC is quiet. Infact them big donkey dinosaur ones also supposed to be quiet on the low speed because technically speaking the larger the surface area of the blades the more air flow it produces with the same RPM and its RPM that will cause the noise.

But what I can say is all mini split is quiet thats not even worth debating. But to get it very quiet you must put it on low fan speed and you need to mount the compressor either on the concrete beam of your house or put it on the ground or build a stand with its own foundation separate from your house.

My one is mounted on the wall outside my office and when the compressor starts up you can hear a thumping bass sound coming from the walls. Should have mounted it on the beam but my AC guy was to lazy and did not want to drill on the beam. I mean its nothing to talk about but if the compressor was mounted on something separate from the wall then it would have been dead silent. I actually had it on the step first but that did not work out to well but was super frecking silent you could not even tell if it was on.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 17th, 2010, 1:12 am

^^^ good info, thanks man
first time i hearing about the mounting options and yeah it sucks that you have to buy your brackets for the Frigidaire units.
they said the units need to be installed by a professional or the warrently is void, so what sort of professional installed yours?
like what does one need to be considered a professional Ac dude in the eyes of Price smart?

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^I more want to know if you got the cake?

yeah i got the cake, mammy was serious about that.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 17th, 2010, 9:11 am

where sells the panasonic?
i need a 18000 BTU split like this week.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 17th, 2010, 11:18 am

352 6467 Rajesh tell him ryan from cedar hill tell u call

468 3553 Aleem tell him his cuz ryan sent you

both units these guys sell i highly recommend

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 17th, 2010, 2:10 pm

^^^ Honestly speaking. Pricesmart sent their technician the guys replaced the circuit board, they never even asked for the receipt or any frecking thing. LOL

I tell you I could have bought it years ago and tell them yeah I buy that last month boy and this happen. LOL

Reason they say you need a professional to install it is because when you connect the copper lines to the evaporator unit from the condenser. The line has moisture and air in it.
You need to get a special vacuum to clean it out.

If you don't then the compressor may only last half its life span sometimes quarter and sometimes a month.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 17th, 2010, 2:32 pm

Alpine wrote:^^^ Honestly speaking. Pricesmart sent their technician the guys replaced the circuit board, they never even asked for the receipt or any frecking thing. LOL

I tell you I could have bought it years ago and tell them yeah I buy that last month boy and this happen. LOL

Reason they say you need a professional to install it is because when you connect the copper lines to the evaporator unit from the condenser. The line has moisture and air in it.

If you don't then the compressor may only last half its life span sometimes quarter and sometimes a month.

How much it cost you to get them installed? What about if u do the install and u just call the guys to do the gassing up of the lines?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 17th, 2010, 2:39 pm

Quick question, what about the GE?

geodude

Postby geodude » May 17th, 2010, 10:39 pm

srnoth wrote:
Alpine wrote:^^^ Honestly speaking. Pricesmart sent their technician the guys replaced the circuit board, they never even asked for the receipt or any frecking thing. LOL

How much it cost you to get them installed? What about if u do the install and u just call the guys to do the gassing up of the lines?

thanks alpine, i will keep that in mind, i hope meh cousin know what eh doing, :shock:

srnoth

when i was asking aroung i was told on avearage 600 for a 12000 btc unit, some even went to like a grad, my cousin doing all 3 units ( 2 12k and 1 24 k) for a bottle of Johnney, and i plan to drink haft of that, but doh tell him :lol:

dragsta34

Postby dragsta34 » May 17th, 2010, 10:46 pm

useful info here...

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 17th, 2010, 10:55 pm

^ sure thing man.

srnoth

It is about $600 to install it. It comes precharged so no need to gas it up. But you need to know what you doing when releasing the FREON.

I also had to purchase a extra Breaker for my electrical box and electrical cable because these units use 220 volt current. You can't just plug it in any normal socket.

After installation, electrical, brackets and purchasing the unit. It coasted me $4300 I believe. Think it was around that give or take.

However my case was a little different eh. Because I was to harden I had to get the tech to disconnect the unit and move it on the other side of my office and the gas it up again. This was because I put the compressor on the step but its a wide platform step. But I did not like how it was looking and also some water was leaking on the step because of the condensation which you can't help. And well I used to smoke my cigarette on that same step so yuh know nah I just had to move the blasted thing. What I miss is the silence because the step has its own foundation separate from the house. So you never knew if the unit was on sometime you had to look to see if the unit was on cause it was so silent. Now that it on the wall you can hear a slight noise because even though its concrete, the compressor is very heavy and also I have it waaay out on the bracket all the way to the ends so the leverage playing a part here.

Reason I did it that way is because more space the condenser fins has on the compressor the more airflow and hence more heat removed and hence less work for the compressor and hence less electricity because the unit already uses 1350 watts. Then there was the reason it would be easier to use my hose and attachment to wash out the condenser fins because when it gets dirty the unit uses more current it takes longer to cool. 1350 watts is no joking matter and thats for the 12,000 BTU and I haven't turned off this unit in 2 months. So its always important to have your AC as efficient as possible.

740-7571

call that number thats the guy who did everything for me. He also does electrical and every thing.

tnthoneybee

Postby tnthoneybee » May 17th, 2010, 11:05 pm

hussy and i own our own company and i would recommend the toshiba, miller or york any day, carrier also but it a little more expensive than the others. daikin really good too but twice as expensive as the others. even the lg depending on the supplier but u have to be very careful for the back up service for availability of parts. so go with the first three i recommended