Nine-year-old London twins set for high school

Skanky

Nine-year-old London twins set for high school

Postby Skanky » March 2nd, 2010, 6:49 am

A pair of nine-year-old twins are to become two of the youngest pupils admitted to a UK secondary school.

Paula and Peter Imafidon are among hundreds of thousands of other children who are finding out which secondary school they will attend.

Peter and Paula, from Waltham Forest, east London, are two years younger than most of their counterparts.

Dubbed the "Wonder Twins", they broke records when they passed A/AS-level mathematics papers at the age of seven.

A year later they took and passed the University of Cambridge's Advanced Mathematics (FAM) paper, becoming the youngest students ever to pass the rigorous examinations.

You can never rule anything out with them, the competition between the two of them makes them excel in anything they do.
Chris Imafidon, Peter and Paula's father

Their father Chris Imafidon said: "We're delighted with the progress they have made."

He said the youngsters would be fine at secondary school, despite the age difference with their peers.

"Because they are twins they have each other so they are always able to help each other and support each other," he said.

Peter has ambitions to one day become prime minister while his sister wants to be a maths teacher.

Mr Imafidon said he was confident they would achieve their goals as they were both encouraged by each other.

He added: "You can never rule anything out with them, the competition between the two of them makes them excel in anything they do."

The twins take part in the privately funded Excellence in Education programme for inner-city children.

Source:BBC.com

Remarkable.

Postby RASC » March 2nd, 2010, 7:04 am

They're too Black to be applauded on this forum.

Moving right along :arrow:

Postby wagonrunner » March 2nd, 2010, 7:24 am

RASC wrote:They're too Black to be applauded on this forum.

ain't that the truth.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/engl ... 542694.stm

Postby crazybalhead » March 2nd, 2010, 7:34 am

Well done. You can become prime minister young fella, doh listen to no detractors!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 2nd, 2010, 7:40 am

Academically they may be well advanced. How mature are they socially is a next question. Sometimes that can cause problems. I remember a few years back, some extremely intelligent younger than normal student (from Belize) at UWI failed an exam and could not deal with it. Guy went and jumped off a building and killed himself.

Postby crazybalhead » March 2nd, 2010, 7:47 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Academically they may be well advanced. How mature are they socially is a next question. Sometimes that can cause problems. I remember a few years back, some extremely intelligent younger than normal student (from Belize) at UWI failed an exam and could not deal with it. Guy went and jumped off a building and killed himself.

That has nothing to do with age. I have two friends who committed suicide while in UWI, and one that dropped out after trying the first semester twice.

Postby shogun » March 2nd, 2010, 7:50 am

Same thing i was thinking,Rory.Too much pressure,they should be allowed to have a childhood and not let impressing parents,or sibling rivalry,rob them of a normal life.

Postby Damien » March 2nd, 2010, 7:54 am

Well done hope this gives inspiration to our youths

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 2nd, 2010, 8:10 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Academically they may be well advanced. How mature are they socially is a next question. Sometimes that can cause problems. I remember a few years back, some extremely intelligent younger than normal student (from Belize) at UWI failed an exam and could not deal with it. Guy went and jumped off a building and killed himself.

Nothing worth having comes without hard work and sacrifice.The price you pay for excellence/genius varies, but if these children never achieve anything in life again they will still be known world over for their outstanding academic achievement.

In that light, these children have achieved at 9 what most people never achieve in a lifetime.....they have been written into history and will be forever remembered for excellence....which a small part of us all yearns for but hardly any achieve.

urabus

Postby urabus » March 2nd, 2010, 10:44 am

crazybalhead wrote:

That has nothing to do with age. I have two friends who committed suicide while in UWI, and one that dropped out after trying the first semester twice.

blame UWI yes...exams too stressful :lol:

As the father said, they have each other, and hopefully with a strong religious background and close family ties..they could pull through this.

We look at younger than usual girls having sex and becoming pregnant, and going oooh and ahhh about it.

These kids are truly amazing, they're doing something positive with their lives. It's very admirable and encouraging.

Postby RBphoto » March 2nd, 2010, 10:53 am

Well done!!! Hope they can manage secondary school at that age.

Asian chirren going to suffer for this :lol:

Postby Razkal » March 2nd, 2010, 12:02 pm

hardly the accurate recollection, Rishi was the guy's name and he was a classmate of mine for a year, he definitely had some personal issues, but the man was an art student his whole life that got put into a rigorous science program, a double major to boot...he tried to excel, i know cause we tutored him...he was only a year junior his classmates. he probably suffered from depression or something, was mostly sullen and to himself, but by no stretch socially inept, he'd converse brilliantly with anyone who'd approach him sincerely.

Bravo for the english youths though...part of the next generations geniuses no doubt...

Postby Razkal » March 2nd, 2010, 12:04 pm

urabus, UWI exams aren't too stressful at all....a 40% passmark with chance to make the majority of that doing coursework? it almost breeds mediocrity now...i dunno when a 50% passmark became "too hard and stressful" :?

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2010, 12:07 pm

sorry eh, but it make more sense to have duncey chirren
when dem bright so, man does hada pay for schppl an all kinda ting
when yuh mek duncey chirren dey cud learn ah trade and den yuh cud wuk dem hard tuh finish yuh house an ting

Postby Razkal » March 2nd, 2010, 12:18 pm

^ :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

*wheeeze*

*ded*

urabus

Postby urabus » March 2nd, 2010, 12:21 pm

Razkal I used to think 40% was a joke to make, but after dealing with dr. kalicharan, I got a new perspective on what a 40% meant.

Postby Razkal » March 2nd, 2010, 12:26 pm

^lol, some lecturers adjust their style, marking scheme, exams, material etc to compensate for the dismal pass mark, i've dealt with lecturers like that who make it IMPOSSIBLE to scrape a full 40% in course work and whose finals are absolute murder! lol.....i applaud those lecturers though, you remember those classes alot more.

Postby RASC » March 2nd, 2010, 1:00 pm

when yuh mek duncey chirren dey cud learn ah trade and den yuh cud wuk dem hard tuh finish yuh house an ting

Buh Like you OVER bright
Yuh torque rel sense dere :wink:

peacelove

Postby peacelove » March 2nd, 2010, 1:04 pm

Not all faculties in UWI have course work exams to make reaching that 40% easier.
In Engineering there are still some hard courses that are 100% Final exam for example, the Chemical Engineering dept. Added to the fact that the UWI system on the whole is lapse and careless and that there lecturers in UWI who mark based on favoritism and fail students just to spite them. UWI is a disorganized mess, let's be real here.

Nevertheless, congrats to these two kids.

Postby RASC » March 2nd, 2010, 1:04 pm

Buh Like you OVER bright
Yuh torque rel sense dere :wink:

Postby Maserati » March 2nd, 2010, 1:05 pm

well done kids

beyond

Postby beyond » March 2nd, 2010, 5:32 pm

i hope people use these two kids as REAL role models.

and abandon the sickos like jayz, beyone , machael, etc etc

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 2nd, 2010, 5:37 pm

Prodigies in my lifetime! Brilliant!

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jHHw6M2-Gwc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 2nd, 2010, 5:41 pm

Very funny.

But on a serious note there are scholarships, grants and merit awards for gifted and exceptional students.

I'm just so proud to see black children making a mark in English society.

Postby AllTrac » March 2nd, 2010, 5:43 pm

RASC, next time please add images like that in a spoiler tag, so we can better prepare ourselves, i had my wallet open, my cell phone out, my wife was walking arround etc.

ty

btw, expect youtube antichrist clips on these kids :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » March 2nd, 2010, 5:50 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Very funny.

But on a serious note there are scholarships, grants and merit awards for gifted and exceptional students.

I'm just so proud to see black children making a mark in English society.

very possible.... i know of two brothers that worked the system to thier advantage....and both at hella rich now....

One is the CIO of CLICO and the other brother is the CFO of First Caribbean and MD for Trinidad Capital Markets.

funy thing is that the CLICO CIO studied accounts and the CFO studied maths, then whe nthe yboth garduated from Uni, they taught each other their skill sets....so BOTH now doubled informed n wealthy..

Sad part is that we used to make fun of these fella's in school eh....setta fackin nerds....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » March 2nd, 2010, 6:59 pm

Last edited by zcarz on March 2nd, 2010, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » March 2nd, 2010, 7:14 pm

zcarz wrote:http://news.bbc.co.uk/cbbcnews/hi/newsid_7940000/newsid_7941700/7941720.stm

BRAVO!!!

Postby wagonrunner » March 2nd, 2010, 7:24 pm

AllTrac wrote:
zcarz wrote:http://news.bbc.co.uk/cbbcnews/hi/newsid_7940000/newsid_7941700/7941720.stm
BRAVO!!!

EIAN dollar fete announced.
JW & Blaze banned.

aR&d to give congratulatory speech.