Postby eliteauto » February 28th, 2010, 1:58 pm

Neither he nor Lara are obligated too

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2010, 1:59 pm

you making blanket statements here,
are you aware of how much money and work lara does for charity ?

how come you not putting any blame on the women ?
I dont think he put a gun to their heads and raped them

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » February 28th, 2010, 2:06 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
cornfused wrote:What's the issue here? , he is speaking on what he sees and lives.

NO, he is speaking to advocate the same lifestyle of cultural polygamy that has shown a history of more bad than good -- fatherless children and broken homes, unwanted pregnancies, spread of STDs/STIs, broken hearts and emotional pain, single mothers, and the list goes on.

Is this the type of role model we want for the youth?

So let me get this straight, You make a comment / statement such as "To call any woman a whore, irrespective of HER decision to share her commodity whenever she sees fit, is quite offensive" (which seems to indicate that you have no issue with a woman being promiscuous) However, you have an issue with a man being simply being honest with not just the public but with himself about what he thinks is best for him or what he thinks works in his life? And some of you women always complain about men not being honest? [/b]

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 2:07 pm

pugboy wrote:you making blanket statements here,
are you aware of how much money and work lara does for charity ?

That excuses his actions, how?

pugboy wrote:how come you not putting any blame on the women ?
I dont think he put a gun to their heads and raped them

This discussion is not about women. It is about sportsmen in TT that are setting a horrible example for "d yute men dem" and by extension even young girl children.

You have young boys aspiring to be a Lara or Yorke of their generation and even family members use both men as examples of success for young lads. Why should such statements be condoned especially in a society where monogamy, marriage, nuclear family and respect for women are still held in high regard?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 2:15 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
cornfused wrote:What's the issue here? , he is speaking on what he sees and lives.

NO, he is speaking to advocate the same lifestyle of cultural polygamy that has shown a history of more bad than good -- fatherless children and broken homes, unwanted pregnancies, spread of STDs/STIs, broken hearts and emotional pain, single mothers, and the list goes on.

So let me get this straight, You make a comment / statement such as "To call any woman a whore, irrespective of HER decision to share her commodity whenever she sees fit, is quite offensive" (which seems to indicate that you have no issue with a woman being promiscuous) However, you have an issue with a man being simply being honest with not just the public but with himself about what he thinks is best for him or what he thinks works in his life? And some of you women always complain about men not being honest? [/b]

INCORRECT.

Is a man considered a whore if he is promiscuous? Is he judged with the same level of partiality? Is he?

It's the connotation of "whore" that *I* and many other women have a gripe with. Why is a woman who decides to use many men for the sole purpose of her sexual satisfaction immediately labeled a whore?

And a man who does the same is someone most/all men should aspire to? Such a man is lauded, encouraged and revered by those around him, some folks even aspiring to be like him.

And a woman? She's a "whore", "slut", "stink", "dutty", "skettel" and the list of negative connotations go on.

Until you and society can start judging both men and women the same with respect to their sexuality, your argument is null.

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2010, 2:18 pm

we dont live in a perfect world, there will also be both sides to every situation
you cant just lay blame on the male role model and ignore the fact that the females more than willing

so where are the female role models to teach females not to fall into that lifestyle of going after high status men ?

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » February 28th, 2010, 2:19 pm

^^^ because if you have a key that can open any lock, well thats a pretty good key to have....but u have a lock that can be opened by any key...then thats a pretty shitty lock!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 2:33 pm

eliteauto wrote:Neither he nor Lara are obligated too

No one said they were, however, given their notoriety and status they become examples and role models by default. Their actions and decisions will have an influence on those who look up to these men.

In the case of Yorke his actions coupled with his advice will be treated as a rule of thumb for many, after all, it is Dwight Yorkeâ„¢ approved.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 2:39 pm

pugboy wrote:we dont live in a perfect world, there will also be both sides to every situation
you cant just lay blame on the male role model and ignore the fact that the females more than willing

No we do not live in a perfect role and this discussion has nothing to do with laying blame but being held accountable for one's words and actions especially if in the limelight. It was irresponsible of Yorke to say such a statement.

pugboy wrote:so where are the female role models to teach females not to fall into that lifestyle of going after high status men ?

Those group of women are known as groupies. They are after high status men for the money with hopes of "trapping" him through pregnancy.

Sure there are women role models who "teach females not to fall into that lifestyle of going after high status men". The number of women who make their own money without the need to financially rely on a man is proof enough of the number of role models that are out there.

Postby wagonrunner » February 28th, 2010, 3:44 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

No one said they were, however, given their notoriety and status they become examples and role models by default. Their actions and decisions will have an influence on those who look up to these men.

In the case of Yorke his actions coupled with his advice will be treated as a rule of thumb for many, after all, it is Dwight Yorkeâ„¢ approved.

aaaah, now i get it.
you believe the masses can't make a decision on their own, and therefore need their actions to be decided by someone else for them.
When a man chooses to bull em all, he made that choice. And was not following the instruction of someone else.
It is completely natural, and the reason it is frowned upon is the real sheep (followers) opted to follow someone else's thoughts and ideals (society).

slow323

jordon

Postby slow323 » February 28th, 2010, 3:53 pm

teems1 wrote:Image

jordon mother of his special needs child

Postby eliteauto » February 28th, 2010, 4:03 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

aaaah, now i get it.
you believe the masses can't make a decision on their own, and therefore need their actions to be decided by someone else for them.
When a man chooses to bull em all, he made that choice. And was not following the instruction of someone else.
It is completely natural, and the reason it is frowned upon is the real sheep (followers) opted to follow someone else's thoughts and ideals (society).

exactly, these guys never asked to be role models, society thrust that upon them they have no obligation to be anything but themselves, furthermore their behavior is nothing new, the only shift in the dynamic is the over exposure that media brings now as opposed to times past

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 4:12 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

aaaah, now i get it.

No you do not "get it".

Yorke, Lara, Tom, Dick, Harry, et al can bull away without a commitment to any woman. Hell, they can have a woman every hour of the day to wax their d!ck if they so desire. What's to stop any man?

But when that Tom becomes a Lara and that Harry a Yorke you become a role model by default. A role model not only to the community that made you the famous footballer or cricketer you are today but also to the men (and women) who will use you as an exemplary figure in their life and their children's lives.

Yorke is encouraging young men and adult men to treat women as nothing more than dime pieces at their disposal, her sole purpose being to satisfy a man's sexual craving. This applies not only to a potential dime piece but his mother, grandmother, great-grandmother and where applicable, any future girl children.

This may have been warranted in a culture that practices polygamy but such is not the case in TT society. If such were the case there won't be a phrase like "horning" in the TT dictionary as every man and woman would come to the understanding that we can all share and partake of the same cake without anyone getting hurt.

What you consider "natural"--ie cultural polygamy--is what has resulted in man chopping woman and man, children having no semblance of a father figure and the all too prevalent broken home.

As for the society you reference, particularly within your current place of residence, as long as marriages, monogamous relationships and nuclear families--one man, one woman, child(ren) and the family pet named Barkie--remain the norm, polygamy and its supporters remain the exception.

Do enjoy your saltfish meals and have a very good day.

beyond

Postby beyond » February 28th, 2010, 4:17 pm

i hope all "the little black youths" follow their heroes. and become just like yorke, lara, tiger etc etc.

come on guys. i know you little youths can do it. leave those bi#$hes with 3 chilldren at least.

and move on to the next victim. i am sure by 2020 you will be branded a "player" and then the world can rest easier :) :) :) :) :)

Postby eliteauto » February 28th, 2010, 4:33 pm

beyond, and yuh know how dem lil betis love a "little black youths" douglarisation will end racism :P

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » February 28th, 2010, 4:48 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Yorke is encouraging young men and adult men to treat women as nothing more than dime pieces at their disposal, her sole purpose being to satisfy a man's sexual craving. This applies not only to a potential dime piece but his mother, grandmother, great-grandmother and where applicable, any future girl children.

That is exactly what yall are...women have made themselves this because of their wants and desires for material things by running down high status men. York is just stating the facts.

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2010, 4:51 pm

*takes yorke`s advice*

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » February 28th, 2010, 4:56 pm

C'mon im sure we all know that what York is saying is what is already being practiced by men... we didnt have to wait for him to say it!...he just has the balls to come out in public and speak the truth...

All women are whores and this is a Man's world!

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2010, 5:02 pm

Yorke's decisions and ideals do not fit which AbstractPoetic's so...she has a problem with them, and wants all of to know that.

Okay we know that now Abstract.

good work

You just worried your "significant other", is taking yorke's advice and blazing out everything in the "work place"

It ever occur to you that such a "highly paid" individual, only lives as a pauper with you? And the majority of his money is spent on the outside women?

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » February 28th, 2010, 5:07 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Yorke's decisions and ideals do not fit which AbstractPoetic's so...she has a problem with them, and wants all of to know that.

Okay we know that now Abstract.

good work

You just worried your "significant other", is taking yorke's advice and blazing out everything in the "work place"

It ever occur to you that such a "highly paid" individual, only lives as a pauper with you? And the majority of his money is spent on the outside women?

O_O BOA!!!....SAY IT AGAIN!!!...i eh tink she hear ya!!!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 28th, 2010, 5:33 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Infidelity is usually between two parties , so I for one am very fed up with media and reports putting it up as solely the man who undertakes this , ironically as i am typing this and my neighbour is playing James's 1966 hit "It's a mans world " , really James what happened , external sex is the new most socially irresponsible crime , :?

i remember Charles Barkley saying he did not ask to be put on a pedestal and i guess neither did Yorke, but as they are popular we want to judge and put our value systems on them

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 5:58 pm

eliteauto wrote:exactly, these guys never asked to be role models, society thrust that upon them they have no obligation to be anything but themselves, furthermore their behavior is nothing new, the only shift in the dynamic is the over exposure that media brings now as opposed to times past

That's to assume they were "themselves" before they became a somebody.

That said, I wonder if you and others can say the same of Wendy Fitzwilliams or Danah Alleyne seeing how "they have no obligation to be anything but themselves", of course.

On this premise Fitzwilliams should not be viewed as a mother out of wedlock and Danah Alleyne a promiscuous slut/whore of a teenager. After all, what standards are they to be judged by other than their own?

Ah yes, how can I forget: they were just being "themselves"...in the limelight...for others to see and model.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 6:14 pm

cornfused wrote:Infidelity is usually between two parties , so I for one am very fed up with media and reports putting it up as solely the man who undertakes this , ironically as i am typing this and my neighbour is playing James's 1966 hit "It's a mans world " , really James what happened , external sex is the new most socially irresponsible crime , :?

i remember Charles Barkley saying he did not ask to be put on a pedestal and i guess neither did Yorke, but as they are popular we want to judge and put our value systems on them

Infidelity does not apply in the case of Yorke because he's unattached. But this is not the issue. The issue is openly encouraging such a lifestyle. He even goes on to advise younger generations of the same in how they should treat and view any woman: they being nothing more than for a man's pleasure. That's taking it to a far different level than Barkley or Tiger Woods.

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » February 28th, 2010, 6:53 pm

Aye...woman....yes is advising the younger generations...BASED ON TRUTH!!!!...THE MAN IS SPEAKING THE TRUTH! WAH PART OF THAT YUH NOT UNDERSTANDING!!!!

Is like sayin to a child...doh touch the stove when it hot..it go burn u... are you wrong for doin that? Oh shud the child approach the hot stove with stupidity!!!

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » February 28th, 2010, 6:55 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

INCORRECT.

Is a man considered a whore if he is promiscuous? Is he judged with the same level of partiality? Is he?

Yes. If it doesn't happen in your circle then *shrugs* Tuff

It's the connotation of "whore" that *I* and many other women have a gripe with. Why is a woman who decides to use many men for the sole purpose of her sexual satisfaction immediately labeled a whore?

Well I definitely can't call her Mother Theresa now can I? And for your notification I took the liberty to provide a link so that you can reacquaint yourself with the meaning of whore.
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/whore

Furthermore, A man can't carry a child for 9 months nor can they give birth (duh) so women need to stop with this crap about men do it so I can to because we are NOT equal in that aspect. That is exactly why you have endless women ending up with un-wanted pregnancies because they feel what good for the goose good for the gander.

And a man who does the same is someone most/all men should aspire to? Such a man is lauded, encouraged and revered by those around him, some folks even aspiring to be like him.

I can only speak for myself here but WRT to my friends TRUST ME if they are in relationships and I see them straying I DO make it my duty as a real friend to pull them up.

And a woman? She's a "whore", "slut", "stink", "dutty", "skettel" and the list of negative connotations go on.

Until you and society can start judging both men and women the same with respect to their sexuality, your argument is null.

Have a good day.

beyond

Postby beyond » February 28th, 2010, 7:53 pm

eliteauto wrote:beyond, and yuh know how dem lil betis love a "little black youths" douglarisation will end racism :P

ever hear about darwinism?
:P :P

Postby eliteauto » February 28th, 2010, 7:54 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
eliteauto wrote:exactly, these guys never asked to be role models, society thrust that upon them they have no obligation to be anything but themselves, furthermore their behavior is nothing new, the only shift in the dynamic is the over exposure that media brings now as opposed to times past

That said, I wonder if you and others can say the same of Wendy Fitzwilliams or Danah Alleyne seeing how "they have no obligation to be anything but themselves", of course.

On this premise Fitzwilliams should not be viewed as a mother out of wedlock and Danah Alleyne a promiscuous slut/whore of a teenager. After all, what standards are they to be judged by other than their own?

Ah yes, how can I forget: they were just being "themselves"...in the limelight...for others to see and model.

you really are naive aren't you? I really see no point to continuing to contribute to this banter, respond as you wish, clearly you North Americans see things differently.

noobie

Postby noobie » February 28th, 2010, 8:04 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
NO, he is speaking to advocate the same lifestyle of cultural polygamy that has shown a history of more bad than good

Really?

Polygamists have fatherless childs?
Are you aware that there is a religious basis for Polygamy in more than one religion?

How many children does he have?

All he is saying, is that he is not the personality to get married.

Why is that a problem? He's been very open and said it in public. Therefore if you as a woman get involved with him, you know where he stands even before you meet him.

Why then is the responsibility for the conduct and direction of the relationship his alone to bear?

If Beckham said the same thing, would you say he is typical white trailer trash with fatherless children? How about Rooney? Or George Clooney? Are all these men trash because they prefer not to go the route of marriage?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 8:41 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
Abstractpoetic wrote:Is a man considered a whore if he is promiscuous? Is he judged with the same level of partiality? Is he?

Yes. If it doesn't happen in your circle then *shrugs* Tuff

This has nothing to do with circles, cliques and associations. Your experience with your circle is certainly not the reality of society/media who have castigated women moreso than men for their decisions with respect to their sexuality. The very same definition you have provided through the below link gives gender partiality in defining "whore". If, as you claim, a man is also considered a whore if he is promiscuous then why is he not also included in the below definition? Why is the definition of "whore" not unisex in nature?

AGENT RORO wrote:Well I definitely can't call her Mother Theresa now can I? And for your notification I took the liberty to provide a link so that you can reacquaint yourself with the meaning of whore.
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/whore

No reacquaintance is needed. "Whore" is a pejorative and solely references a female. It is not as derogatory as "playa", "gigolo"or "womanizer". In fact, the media and men alike have placed men with such descriptions on pedestals. Find me a pejorative as it applies to the male with the same negative connotation to "whore" as it applies to the female and you will actually have an argument.

AGENT RORO wrote:Furthermore, A man can't carry a child for 9 months nor can they give birth (duh) so women need to stop with this crap about men do it so I can to because we are NOT equal in that aspect. That is exactly why you have endless women ending up with un-wanted pregnancies because they feel what good for the goose good for the gander.

You're going off tangent. A woman's decision whether or not to be promiscuous seldom has anything to do with the similar actions of a man. Like a male she herself has a choice to do as she pleases. She neither seeks validation nor affirmation from a male who wishes to sow his royal oats.

And with respect to unwanted pregnancies, each party is responsible for each others actions. A woman may say she is on BC but it is still on the onus of the man to take precautions. The woman is also responsible of same.

This is not about placing blame or the consequences that follow. It is about how differently a woman is judged/labeled by her actions/decisions when compared to a man who makes the same decisions/actions.

AGENT RORO wrote:I can only speak for myself here but WRT to my friends TRUST ME if they are in relationships and I see them straying I DO make it my duty as a real friend to pull them up.

Unfortunately you are part of the minority of men who do.

AGENT RORO wrote:Have a good day.

And to you, the same.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 28th, 2010, 8:52 pm

eliteauto wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

you really are naive aren't you? I really see no point to continuing to contribute to this banter, respond as you wish, clearly you North Americans see things differently.

LOL at your attempts to divert the subject by referencing my train of thought as being that of North American brand.

On your same premise am I to also assume your opinions are not that of your own but of Caribbean influence? But by doing such would result in me being stereotypical, won't it?

I have used your same words to turn the tables and this is your best response? :lol: :lol: :lol:

That said, my "North American" conclusion still stands:

With respect to one's sexual liberty a woman is treated/labeled/evaluated more negatively to that of a man.