Symbian Countdown

Postby RASC » February 3rd, 2010, 5:06 pm

http://countdown.symbian.org/

Nokia been messing with ppl's head since late Jan.

No one seems to be able to figure it out. Apparently there's a code in the source code. See if you could figure it out.

Postby r3iXmann » February 3rd, 2010, 5:09 pm

source code says:

Code: Select all

<html>
<head>
   <title>#symbiancountdown</title>
   <!-- Are you quivering in antici- -->
   <style type ="text/css">
      #wrapper {
         align: center;
      }
      #container {
         margin: 0 auto;
         width: 425px;
         font-size: 180px;
         text-align: center;
      }
      #container p {
         margin-top: 60px;
         margin-bottom: 60px;
      }
   </style>
   <meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
</head>
<body>
    <div id="wrapper">
        <div id="container"><p>
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/JZshZp-cxKg&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0&autoplay=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/JZshZp-cxKg&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0&autoplay=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object></p>
<script src="http://widgets.twimg.com/j/2/widget.js"></script>
<script src="world.js"></script>
<script>
new TWTR.Widget({
  version: 2,
  type: 'search',
  search: '#symbiancountdown',
  interval: 6000,
  width: 425,
  height: 300,
  theme: {
    shell: {
      background: '#8ec1da',
      color: '#ffffff'
    },
    tweets: {
      background: '#ffffff',
      color: '#444444',
      links: '#1985b5'
    }
  },
  features: {
    scrollbar: false,
    loop: true,
    live: true,
    hashtags: true,
    timestamp: true,
    behavior: 'default'
  }
}).render().start();
</script>
   </div>
    </div>
</body>
</html>

maybe something's happening on the 12th

Postby RASC » February 3rd, 2010, 5:16 pm

reiXmann,It's had all kinda numbers... :wink:

Postby M_2NR » February 3rd, 2010, 5:19 pm

Please tell me its the new version of Symbian PLEASE!!!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 3rd, 2010, 6:18 pm

Symbian 3 is in the 3rd quarter of this yr

and Symbian 4 is in 2011...

so nope :(

even Maemo will get broad release in the 2nd half of this yr

so

Postby RASC » February 3rd, 2010, 7:28 pm

If they don't release something MAJOR within the next few months. It's Bye Bye Nokia from me.

Andriod 2.xxxx is sweeping the globe like wild fire

Everyone is holing their breathe for iPhone OS 4.xxxx

...and BB OS has a growing loyal base.

Nokia yuh REAL lapsing!!!

Postby M_2NR » February 3rd, 2010, 7:33 pm

RASC wrote:Nokia yuh REAL lapsing!!!

dsi they still have the nokia is the strongest phone eva crowd so no worries :lol: i bet if they bring out a newer 1100 with monochrome screen et al, it would sell. just cauz it strongggg

like the Xperia Pureness :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2010, 9:49 pm

they put out this single number as a tweet about a week ago

that same hash is in the source code #symbiansourcecode

but 108? 108 what?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 3rd, 2010, 10:02 pm

I lost....what the fack all yuh talking bout

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 3rd, 2010, 10:27 pm

RASC wrote:If they don't release something MAJOR within the next few months. It's Bye Bye Nokia from me.

speaking of MAJOR updates

anybody here have a 5800 and get firmware 40 yet?

where we finally get kinetic scrolling and a proper home screen?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » February 3rd, 2010, 10:31 pm

original_lollybob wrote:
RASC wrote:If they don't release something MAJOR within the next few months. It's Bye Bye Nokia from me.

My sister has it on hers.

It's really awesome and the phone itself operates alot faster.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 3rd, 2010, 10:35 pm

:? coulda SWORN I read "Sybian Countdown" in the title :? :? :? :? :?

btw original_lollybob, as yuh on de topic of phones, you wouldn't happen to be related to anyone from Lollabee Cellular? :|

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 3rd, 2010, 10:39 pm

nah man :lol:

Parvin wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:

i keep checking for updates but i not getting it :evil:

she in Trinidad?

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2010, 11:31 pm

original_lollybob wrote:

i have a 5800 buh i dont kno WTF u tlkin about...
wanna help a n!gga out and explain wtf u tlkin bout?

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2010, 11:36 pm

nvm just got it...now downloading :)

Postby bluesteel29 » February 4th, 2010, 12:22 am

corolla_2nr wrote:
RASC wrote:Nokia yuh REAL lapsing!!!

dsi they still have the nokia is the strongest phone eva crowd so no worries :lol: i bet if they bring out a newer 1100 with monochrome screen et al, it would sell. just cauz it strongggg

like the Xperia Pureness :lol:

wey sellin dat

Postby RASC » February 4th, 2010, 12:22 am

original_lollybob wrote:^^
nah man :lol:

Parvin wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:

i keep checking for updates but i not getting it :evil:

she in Trinidad?

Well Sinister above just got it, and he in TRINI...so yuh kno-try again :?

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 4th, 2010, 12:40 am

UK:

http://nds1.nokia.com/files/support/glo ... tup_en.exe

US:

http://nds1.nokia.com/files/support/glo ... _en_us.exe

come on!!

OR:

1. Key *#0000# into your phone's home screen.
2. Select Options > Check for updates.
3. Follow the on-screen prompts until your update is complete!

NOOBS!!
bwahahhaa

thnx all
thnx RASC for makin this ched

Postby RASC » February 4th, 2010, 12:49 am

Sinister_Audio, No Prob!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 4th, 2010, 6:59 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:UK:

US:

come on!!

OR:

NOOBS!!
bwahahhaa

thnx all

partner i been doin that for d past week and it tellin me no update..

as i try this morning there it is

like u have the magic touch :roll:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 4th, 2010, 1:15 pm

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100204/ap_on_hi_te/us_tec_symbian_free_phone_software

Beginning Thursday the Symbian Foundation planned to release, for free, a large part of the software that powers the most smart phones in the world.

The foundation was set up in 2008 after Nokia Corp., the biggest maker of Symbian phones, bought out the consortium that made the software. Nokia decided to give the software away to make it more popular with other manufacturers, a move not uncommon in the technology world.

Lee Williams, executive director of the London-based foundation, said it has now completed the largest-ever conversion of proprietary software to "open source," which means the source code, or blueprint for the software, is available to anyone. However, software associated with some phone features will be released later this year.

Symbian software is used on more than 330 million phones around the world, the foundation said. It is facing new and vigorous competition in the smart phone arena from Apple Inc.'s iPhone and Google Inc.'s Android system. Android is also freely available for anyone to use.

Analysts say Symbian, which has more than 10 years of development behind it, is starting to look outdated and has lagged in supporting must-have new features like touch screens. Symbian phones have never been big sellers in the U.S.

The open-source version of the software is known as Symbian 3, and supersedes Series 60.

Postby SUPAstarr » February 4th, 2010, 1:19 pm

yawn, to comfortable to care

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 4th, 2010, 2:57 pm

original_lollybob wrote:
Sinister_Audio wrote:UK:

US:

come on!!

OR:

NOOBS!!
bwahahhaa

thnx all

partner i been doin that for d past week and it tellin me no update..

as i try this morning there it is

like u have the magic touch :roll:

dun kno ;)