FATAL Accident near Tarouba Stadium

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 12:06 pm

neoise wrote:<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/bAmwg8GAAVc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

yuh mean trinidad have a wider median that somewhere else in the world? NAH!!!!

may not save you, but keeping an eye on what's taking place in the oncoming lane, may have given some more reaction time.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 26th, 2010, 1:03 pm

In some parts of the world, people have to drive on poorly constructed roads without emergency lanes, street lights, road signs, medians etc...but most users of these road networks are still alive today. Despite the poor conditions most decide that safety starts with them first and not waiting for further road infrastructure development from the gov't. It is a Government's responsibility to make sure that proper facilities are installed for use of its people but the true economics of the situation is that this is not always practiced due to lack of resources and corruption.

The US has some of the world's best road networks but yet they have alot of gruesome accidents as well. In both of these extremes we can conclude that despite the road conditions, safety starts with us first. We cannot blame the other stakeholders for our failures.

Postby cinco » January 26th, 2010, 1:17 pm

so after all this simmi dimmi
they were speeding (obviously they cross the median upside down)
driving recklessly (to lose control yuh had to be driving recklessly road conditions are perfect clear sunny day in a awd vehicle none the less, FriendlyFire no matter how you try to spin it they were, unless they were driving a vehicle with bald tyres, which is still their fault)
crashed almost killed some other people and the truth is now coming out
RIP the kid doesnt deserve to be parentless and speedy recovery to the guys in the pick up

Postby joker » January 26th, 2010, 1:22 pm

driving two weeks ago trying to catch a cefeiro @ 160 after seereram brothers.... rain/ wet road .... truck and 40' trailer jacknifed two cars ahead of me .......

if you are driving fast ..... just be alert and constantly use your mirrors ..... and do the defensive driving course .... MAKE SURE YOU KNOW THE HANDLING OF THE VEHICLE

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 1:26 pm

joker wrote:driving two weeks ago trying to catch a cefeiro @ 160 after seereram brothers.... rain/ wet road .... truck and 40' trailer jacknifed two cars ahead of me .......

if you are driving fast ..... just be alert and constantly use your mirrors to make me out overtaking, using the shoulder from tarouba..... and do the defensive driving course .... MAKE SURE YOU KNOW THE HANDLING OF THE VEHICLE

Postby joker » January 26th, 2010, 1:30 pm

wagonrunner wrote:fack no.........
lewwee stick to the phantom bad drive.
that way some could feel they doing the right thing.

REMEMBER earlier that evening ...that wagon ....was just cutting in
recklessly ... till gasparillo... at 180 and more? and the hilux driver was on the shoulder trying to catch the wagon?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 26th, 2010, 1:36 pm

neoise wrote:<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/bAmwg8GAAVc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

yuh mean trinidad have a wider median that somewhere else in the world? NAH!!!!

may not save you, but keeping an eye on what's taking place in the oncoming lane, may have given some more reaction time.

reaction time? honestly i dont think that i could of done anytihng in the 1 second that happened...

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 26th, 2010, 1:58 pm

cinco wrote:so after all this simmi dimmi
they were speeding (obviously they cross the median upside down)
driving recklessly (to lose control yuh had to be driving recklessly road conditions are perfect clear sunny day in a awd vehicle none the less, FriendlyFire no matter how you try to spin it they were, unless they were driving a vehicle with bald tyres, which is still their fault)
crashed almost killed some other people and the truth is now coming out
RIP the kid doesnt deserve to be parentless and speedy recovery to the guys in the pick up

I wasn't commenting on this specific accident necessarily but on the tendency of people to jump to conclusions. If you check the earlier post in this thread you would see that many were blaming the driver of the pickup only to realize later on that he wasn't the one who crossed the median.

Several of our fellow tuners know this couple and to point fingers at this time would be painful to many so I have tried to refer to the issues with an open point of view. Sorry if any of you think I was placing blame or defending anyone.

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 2:02 pm

joker wrote:REMEMBER earlier that evening ...that wagon ....was just cutting in
recklessly ... till gasparillo... at 180 and more? and the hilux driver was on the shoulder trying to catch the wagon?

was not you driving the wagon.
and ixnay on the 180, it was in 5th. doesnt make that speed in that gear.
try again.

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 2:09 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:reaction time? honestly i dont think that i could of done anytihng in the 1 second that happened...

I hear you.
it crosses the median at 0:23 and impacts at 0:24.
but at 0:21 what do you notice? and that's through the cams lens.
through the windscreen you MAY have noticed it before that.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 26th, 2010, 2:21 pm

wagonrunner,your right you can see the vehicle swerving on the other lane...but lets be realistic most ppl won't even be looking for that, given the width of the road even if she pulled left it would have impacted the side/rear of the van, but that's still better than head if you ask me....personally i keep glancing the other side when i drive, force of habit as a truck tire came across about 100 feet in front of me all ready

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 2:34 pm

mitsu4life,
while your options may be limited.
the difference between an out of nowhere bounce, and a check your options, come up with a plan and execute it, could be your life / well-being.

Postby tr1ad » January 26th, 2010, 2:42 pm

mitsu4life wrote:wagonrunner,your right you can see the vehicle swerving on the other lane...but lets be realistic most ppl won't even be looking for that, given the width of the road even if she pulled left it would have impacted the side/rear of the van, but that's still better than head if you ask me....personally i keep glancing the other side when i drive, force of habit as a truck tire came across about 100 feet in front of me all ready

and many people that drive nowadays do not pay attention to their surroundings

Postby SR » January 26th, 2010, 3:01 pm

drive for 5...................
not people but cars around you

ask wagonr

Postby Monk BANzai » January 26th, 2010, 3:46 pm

SR wrote:drive for 5...................
not people but cars around you

ask wagonr

a thread i did in 2007 after attending a DDC in Houston (was at BGTT at the time)..

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... t=distance

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 3:58 pm

and just 5 days after so much of it was put to the test. :evil:

Postby Team Loco » January 26th, 2010, 10:54 pm

btw, funeral is tomorrow at 10 am, Susmechar (spelling) church, then to the mosquito creek. even if we tried to remain open tomorrow, we would have no staff, so KEL is closed tomorrow

Postby UML » January 26th, 2010, 11:25 pm

[spoiler]Image

[/spoiler]

Postby Morpheus » January 27th, 2010, 12:08 am

On the highway I does try to keep away from the right lane. Keep left except when overtaking is practised a lot. 97% of Trinis do not care about that.

I always glance at that opposite lane. Is years now cars crossing median.

While getting hit may be inevitable, I does hope it gives me a little more time to react. Just a puny bit.

Please be safe Tuners. We are all human and car lovers. We all get the urge now and then to "See wha it have" Some only for a block or two. Some for miles though :? (Not me-I coward).

Just remember that there is a time and place for everything.

RIP again to the couple

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » January 28th, 2010, 1:05 pm

sad to say but this same car was racing up the highway on saturday night with a friend of mine.....

Sorry for the baby that is left behind without both parents.

Postby Stephon. » January 29th, 2010, 6:13 am

Sad to know that the baby had parents that were not thinking while on the road and wasn't realizing how dangerous a car can be. Now look what happened.

SRT-4

2 weeks ago

Postby SRT-4 » January 31st, 2010, 4:41 am

Yeah I came down for a little visit and When I was driving in the left lane cars were overtaking me on the shoulder as well as the passing on the UBH going to POS. That same night going back sando while driving in the the left lane near couva a ferrari f355 blew past me with a grey audi in hot pursuit weaving in an out of traffic at around 7 30 pm. I was doing 120 KPH in my rental, and those cars were easilly doing anywhere between 140 to 160 kph. Pure madness.

Postby Greypatch » January 31st, 2010, 8:30 am

so ah hope de insurance will sort outthe ole man and he passenger.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 31st, 2010, 1:14 pm

wow at those pics!!!

gundelero

Postby gundelero » February 1st, 2010, 8:08 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:wow at those pics!!!

where them?

Postby noshownogo » February 1st, 2010, 9:29 am

unfortunate circumstances, good pics. <---Doh care if i get flamed for it.

Many of you on this very site, in this very thread have probably driven a bit too fast and a bit too recklessly more than once, myself included. Like previous times when similar photos have been released, I hope this serves as a wake up call to at least one person. We all like to think we know our cars and they "tuned" to "perform". Please take into consideration that the nation's roadways are not our tracks and are not intended to achieve top speed in our cars.

Despite the fact that you may think you know your car, do you know how to panic stop or avoid someone who is driving within the speed limit when you are above 140?
Do you know how to avoid a pothole which developed overnight on the highway you swear you know like the back of your hand at 140?
Do you know how to avoid a car that has used the shoulder on the highway for an emergency purpose after you picked up a skid at 140?

Take it down a notch and live to see the facility completed in Freeport, help spread the word about Solodex BYCC events. Use this momentary time without an official track as one in which to tune your car and legally enjoy driving it.

Postby Team Loco » February 1st, 2010, 11:26 am

both deceased took part in solodex fun runs last year. they planned to enter solodex this year