WHAT WOULD YOU DO IF THIS HAPPENS TO YOU

clone101

WHAT WOULD YOU DO IF THIS HAPPENS TO YOU

Postby clone101 » January 20th, 2010, 10:34 am

Good day tuners I am seeking advice on an accident I was involved in on November 11th 2009 with an Econo Car Rental vehicle. On the said day I stopped at license office on Wrightson Road to drop off a friend.

I pulled at the side as to not stop the flow of the traffic when the Econo Car tried to over take me and broad sided the bumper and back fender of my car. I came out of my car to see what happened, the rental car was pined to my car so I told the guy to back up which he did and proceeded to get out of his vehicle to see what had happened.

I did the usual ask for the usual documents to realize it was a rental car and he was an American I informed him we need to go to the nearest police station and make to make a report which we did and he should report the accident to Econo Car.

I made a report to my insurance and they said once Econo Car has reported the accident to their insurance the process would start from their. I went an got an estimate for the damages to my car which came up to $3300.00 labour and parts and submitted it to my insurance. My insurance informed me that an easy way out of this is to go to Econo Car with my estimate and see if they would fix my car without having to go through insurance.

I went to Econo Car and spoke to one of their agents and he said that he was aware of the incident and their client was willing to pay for the damages this was on December 4th 2009. I went back to Econo Car on December 9th 2009 with the estimate I spoke to the same agent and gave him the estimate to take to his client which he said is the American Embassy and would take some time to pay for the damages, I asked how long this would take and he replied no more than two weeks.

I returned on January 4th 2010 to Econo Car to enquire about the delay in payment and his response was I will call the client now. In my presence he called and the client said he is only willing to replace the taillight and not for the rest of damages to the car. At this point the agent called the owner of Econo Car daughter Ms. Ella Carter to speak to me about the incident.

I carried Ms. Carter to my vehicle and showed her the damages she agreed that the estimate was within reason an she would call the client to reason with him and she would contact me with the outcome of the discussion.

On January 5th 2010 Ms. Carter called me and said she made contact with the client who agreed to pay for the damages and it would take no more than two weeks and I said I would return to collect the amount owed on January 18th 2010.

I returned on January 19th 2010 and asked for Ms. Carter who was out of the country. Then asked for the agent I previously dealt with and informed him of the arrangement that was worked out with Ms. Carter and their client and informed him that I was yet to be compensated for the damages to my car he then proceeded to call the client. Who replied yet again that he was not paying for the damages.
At this point another agent gave me a copy of the certified copy of the vehicle and report it to their insurance if I wanted to get my car fix. Can any give me some legal advice or a solution to this problem. :evil: :evil:

devrat

Postby devrat » January 20th, 2010, 10:38 am

You did the right thing by posting on tuner...everything will work out after this.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 20th, 2010, 10:43 am

Try to bone Ms. Carter...Youll have more chances of getting it fixed than posting it on Tuner....

Postby noshownogo » January 20th, 2010, 10:44 am

devrat, :lol: :lol:

Your insurance company should have dealt with the issue on your behalf. You understandably frustrated now because you basically doing the work your insurance company should be doing for you. Take it back to your insurance company and state you will take legal action against the owner of the car and or go to the press if this isn't resolved speedily.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 20th, 2010, 10:48 am

clone101,

dude. take their sertified copy, a copy of the police report and the vehicly to his insurance company.

they'll put the wheels in motion. However, due to the unfortunate Trini culture, you will have to live in their asses until you become a pest until its done

devrat

Postby devrat » January 20th, 2010, 10:49 am

^^^^He mentioned that the car was rented to the Embassy...wont the driver have diplomatic status and thus immune from prosecution...just asking. His best bet is to recover the money from econo car and let them deal with their "client" after all it is their vehicle and they have a security deposit and credit card number.

Postby Damien » January 20th, 2010, 10:49 am

Hoss you made the biggest mistake by not beating the honkey mc

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 20th, 2010, 10:50 am

send the "cracker" a e-thug e-mail that does work :mrgreen:

clone101

Postby clone101 » January 20th, 2010, 10:52 am

THE DRIVER TRIED TO GIVE ME AH $100 us to pay for 2003 tail light for my FIELDER WAGON :twisted:

Postby foss » January 20th, 2010, 10:53 am

devrat wrote:You did the right thing by posting on tuner...everything will work out after this.

Postby crazybalhead » January 20th, 2010, 10:57 am

Your insurance should deal with this. Take the police report to your insurer and they will bill Econo's insurer accordingly. You did report this accident to the police didn't you??? :shock:

Postby rollingstock » January 20th, 2010, 10:59 am

Get a copy of the Police Report and go to the Insurance Ombudsman located in the Twin Towers and make a complaint, things should move from there.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 20th, 2010, 11:08 am

taht Ombudsman is a joke...Dont even waste your time..

Postby foss » January 20th, 2010, 11:09 am

good luck yes
Last edited by foss on January 20th, 2010, 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » January 20th, 2010, 11:09 am

noshownogo wrote:devrat, :lol: :lol:

Your insurance company should have dealt with the issue on your behalf. You understandably frustrated now because you basically doing the work your insurance company should be doing for you. Take it back to your insurance company and state you will take legal action against the owner of the car and or go to the press if this isn't resolved speedily.

That's the answer right there, if your car is fully comp, then your ins. company is obligated to pay you and recover the monies from Econo Ins.

If it's 3rd party, your ins. will give you a letter to take to Econo ins. Co. instructing them to deal with you directly.

Given the fact that you both made your report all should work out well and in good time, the ins. Co. only needs to get a copy of the police report (again their job not yours) which from it's contents should allow the ins. Co. to establish liability and pay you your claim.

This will mean that Econo will be liable to their ins. (there should be no issue of any excess to be paid cause Econo will be required to keep their cars fully comp.).

Econo can then go after their client for compensation if they so choose, that's their headache not yours.

PM me if you need further info, I'll be happy to assist.

clone101

Postby clone101 » January 20th, 2010, 11:33 am

THANKS FOR ALL THE GOOD ADVICE FROM TUNER MEN AND THE BAD ADVICE FROM TUNER BOYS :mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » January 20th, 2010, 11:45 am

just deal with your insurance sir, the accident was reported by you to the Police so you should have no issue

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 20th, 2010, 11:49 am

Do your best & bone OLD MAN MR. CARTER & ensure you broadside his back bumper & rear fender !!! :? :? :?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 20th, 2010, 11:55 am

but a lil $3300 they giving u so much horrors for .... :? :? :?

Postby bluesteel29 » January 20th, 2010, 12:04 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:clone101,

dude. take their sertified copy, a copy of the police report and the vehicly to his insurance company.

they'll put the wheels in motion. However, due to the unfortunate Trini culture,you will have to live in their asses until you become a pest until its done

Correct..... :evil:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 20th, 2010, 12:09 pm

man if was me who bounce somebody car i wud sign a paper stating we both agree that d amt of $3300 wud cover all d damages , pay d $ cash & we both go about we bisnis ...

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 20th, 2010, 12:17 pm

your insurance supposed to be doing all that run around....

Postby sMASH » January 20th, 2010, 12:17 pm

^^ not all ah we like dat.

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 20th, 2010, 3:54 pm

2 d Max Auto wrote:
noshownogo wrote:devrat, :lol: :lol:

That's the answer right there, if your car is fully comp, then your ins. company is obligated to pay you and recover the monies from Econo Ins.

If it's 3rd party, your ins. will give you a letter to take to Econo ins. Co. instructing them to deal with you directly.

Given the fact that you both made your report all should work out well and in good time, the ins. Co. only needs to get a copy of the police report (again their job not yours) which from it's contents should allow the ins. Co. to establish liability and pay you your claim.

This will mean that Econo will be liable to their ins. (there should be no issue of any excess to be paid cause Econo will be required to keep their cars fully comp.).

Econo can then go after their client for compensation if they so choose, that's their headache not yours.

PM me if you need further info, I'll be happy to assist.

taht it right there.

Postby Rooki3 » January 20th, 2010, 4:44 pm

clone101 wrote:THE DRIVER TRIED TO GIVE ME AH $100 us to pay for 2003 tail light for my FIELDER WAGON :twisted:

:pwned:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 20th, 2010, 6:07 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:man if was me who bounce somebody car i wud sign a paper stating we both agree that d amt of $3300 wud cover all d damages , pay d $ cash & we both go about we bisnis ...

been dere done dat!

drive straight to ATM and sort out bizness...shake hand and walk away...ah still ha de paper in meh wallet after 4 years! I eh throwing that away nah :wink:

clone101

Postby clone101 » January 20th, 2010, 6:12 pm

As I said before they were Americans and only willing to pay $100.00USD on the spot for all the damages :evil:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 20th, 2010, 6:25 pm

sounds like your insurance company is very lazy

one of the main purposes of having insurance is to save you from having to go through all that bullsh1t

oh yeah, and from what I read above, you still stopped at the side of one of trinidad's busiest roads. even if you pulled aside, obviously some part of your car still had to be on the road in order for someone to broadside it

the other day, a flatbed truck nearly ran into my car, because he was avoiding a car that had pulled aside on wrightson road

clone101

Postby clone101 » January 20th, 2010, 6:33 pm

I f you are familiar with Wrightson Rd , I pulled alongside Gatacre St after the NP gas station, the American guy said because they are left-hand drivers he wasn't too acustomed to the right-hand driving off our culture and didn't pull sufficiently to avoid hitting me.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » January 20th, 2010, 6:39 pm

clone101 wrote:As I said before they were Americans and only willing to pay $100.00USD on the spot for all the damages :evil:

you mus be a light as a matchstick if you let forrinah punk you so lol :?

extort they mc jus talk bout kidnappin they mc till payment.
one of 2 things go happen yuh either make a jail or reach the nearest republic atm and pull out some US dollars