Nitrogen in Tyres?

Postby bluefete » January 15th, 2010, 3:27 pm

How safe is it to put nitrogen instead of regular air in car tyres?

Postby Maserati » January 15th, 2010, 3:30 pm

don't do it, will blow up yuh tyres!!!

but seriously http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/s ... name=Autos

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 15th, 2010, 3:30 pm

How safe is it to put nitrogen instead of regular air in car tyres?

Sheit ni99er don't do it... The tyrazs does explosition and cause arxidents :shock:

Postby tr1ad » January 15th, 2010, 3:32 pm

don't fall for that scam

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 15th, 2010, 3:34 pm

nitrogen is the best!

to inhale :)

fatts

Postby fatts » January 15th, 2010, 3:35 pm

its reel safe non flamable,jus check out mileage mack,increases tyre life and tread wear,i changed the 4 tyres in my hilux and discovered a nail in 1 and mileage mack told me the nitrogen created a seal around the nail and the tyre never went flat or failed me ,it also decreases the rustin on your rim wether mag or steelgo down and talk to a staff member at mileage mack

Postby bluefete » January 15th, 2010, 3:36 pm

Thank you so much people, especially for the link (Maserati). I will reconsider.

Postby Damien » January 15th, 2010, 3:47 pm

Dry air is primarily made up of nitrogen (78.09%) and oxygen (20.95%). The remaining 1% is made up of argon (0.93%), carbon dioxide (0.03%) and other trace gases (0.003%). Water vapor (water in its gaseous state) is also present in air in varying amounts.

a tyre shop compresses this to fill your tyre

mileage mack compresses the same thing but use filters to extract the pure nitrogen

78% or 100% no big difference so i dont think your tyre will blow up :|

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » January 15th, 2010, 3:58 pm

fatts wrote:its reel safe non flamable,jus check out mileage mack,increases tyre life and tread wear,i changed the 4 tyres in my hilux and discovered a nail in 1 and mileage mack told me the nitrogen created a seal around the nail and the tyre never went flat or failed me ,it also decreases the rustin on your rim wether mag or steelgo down and talk to a staff member at mileage mack

you do realize nitrogen is a gas right?

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » January 15th, 2010, 4:38 pm

lolz

Postby buzz » January 15th, 2010, 6:13 pm

^^^ :lol:

Soundwave wrote:
sleepertercel wrote:
fatts wrote:its reel safe non flamable,jus check out mileage mack,increases tyre life and tread wear,i changed the 4 tyres in my hilux and discovered a nail in 1 and mileage mack told me the nitrogen created a seal around the nail and the tyre never went flat or failed me ,it also decreases the rustin on your rim wether mag or steelgo down and talk to a staff member at mileage mack

you do realize nitrogen is a gas right?

he is correct, I haz nitrogen in my tyres, last week I got in an accident and the nitrogen formed a bubble around my car protecting it, not a single scratch, the donkey on the other hand did not fare as well...

theoutlaw

Postby theoutlaw » January 15th, 2010, 6:30 pm

bazzinga

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 15th, 2010, 6:50 pm

I just changed my Tyres and have the extra Nitrogen to sell if you want it's slightly used .

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2010, 6:54 pm

all the ole talk aside it really depends on your vehicle, European cars use Argon in their tyres because of strict emission aws

Postby X_Factor » January 15th, 2010, 6:55 pm

eliteauto wrote:all the ole talk aside it really depends on your vehicle, European cars use Argon in their tyres because of strict emission aws

lawddddd........

hottstuff

Postby hottstuff » January 15th, 2010, 7:00 pm

I runnin Nitrogen now in my van and found that it increased the smoothness of the ride even further.But now I hearing it causing tyres to explode instead of going down slowly.Vehicle is Isuzu pickup should I go back to normal air now??

Postby Damien » January 15th, 2010, 7:03 pm

:| :| :|

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2010, 7:04 pm

hottstuff, you safe Isuzu vehicles after 1997 have crumple-zones on the lips of the stock rims.. you are still on the stock rims right?

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 15th, 2010, 9:51 pm

how can nitrogen increase treadwear?
i thought treadwear is determined by the company that manufactures them not by the gas used to inflate dem

Re: Nitrogen in Tyres?

Postby bluefete » January 15th, 2010, 9:53 pm

bluefete wrote:How safe is it to put nitrogen instead of regular air in car tyres?

what would Jesus do?

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Postby brams112 » January 15th, 2010, 9:57 pm

people still a$$king about this?

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2010, 11:22 am

to get the best mix of durability, affordability and performance, i use a mixture in my tires. 78% nitrogen and 21% oxygen, but to keep it affordable not much stringent filtering was done so there are traces of water vapor, carbon dioxide, argon, and various other components.

ask them if they could supply the mixture so you could try it and compare for ur self

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 16th, 2010, 11:25 am

Nitrogen is lighter than air. So you would need to put a bag of Cement inthe car to make sure it doesn't run too light..

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 16th, 2010, 11:41 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Nitrogen is lighter than air. So you would need to put a bag of Cement inthe car to make sure it doesn't run too light..

yuh mean run off d road!!!

triniangie

Postby triniangie » January 16th, 2010, 1:28 pm

dreadman wrote:
.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Nitrogen is lighter than air. So you would need to put a bag of Cement inthe car to make sure it doesn't run too light..

yuh mean fly off d road!!!

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » January 16th, 2010, 2:39 pm

so u could run a line from tyres to engine when u need the extra boost from nos?

chasemeifyoucan

Postby chasemeifyoucan » January 16th, 2010, 9:15 pm

I use helium in my tires, everyone knows that helium comes from the farts of HELIOS, God of the sun, and therefore my tires would be godlike.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 16th, 2010, 9:19 pm

:mrgreen: @ Soundwave

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2010, 9:21 pm

I thought nitrogen was ah erd Gen wid Nitrous?