Caribbean Airlines to own Air Jamaica within days

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2010, 1:05 pm

KINGSTON, Jamaica, January 14, 2010 - Trinidad and Tobago's state owned Caribbean Airlines is now just days away from taking over Jamaica's national carrier.

A deal in which Air Jamaica will be absorbed into the Trinidad airline is expected to be consummated this weekend, according to a Jamaica government announcement.

Under the plan, Caribbean Airlines will grant Air Jamaica equity, but the Jamaican government will have to find J$27 billion (US$301.6 million) in this year's capital expenditure budget to meet debt and other costs, including the redundancy of hundreds of employees. It is believed that several hundred workers will be on the breadline as a result of the divestment.

Other details of the deal have not yet been released.

And just days ahead of the long-expected divestment, a new Board has been appointed by the Minister of Finance and the Public Service, Audley Shaw.

The five-member team, put in place this week following the expiration of the term of the previous Board, will oversee transitional arrangements and legacy issues surrounding the Air Jamaica divestment.

The new Board is led by businessman and Chairman of the Insurance Company of the West Indies (ICWI) Group, Dennis Lalor. The other members are Christopher Zacca, Special Adviser to the Prime Minister; Dr Wayne Henry, Special Adviser to the Minister of Finance and the Public Service; Sancia Templer, President of Jamaica Trade and Invest; and Christopher Berry, Chairman of Mayberry Investments.

In addition, an Air Jamaica transition management committee has been set up to help guide the divestment process. That will be led by the airline's President and CEO Bruce Nobles.

The divestment of Jamaica's national carrier is coming much later than originally hoped.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding had announced, in April 2008, government's plans to divest the airline by the end of that financial year.

He had said the decision was taken because government could no longer pile the losses of the airline on the backs of taxpayers "with no end in sight". Air Jamaica at that time had accumulated losses of over US$1 billion.

http://www.caribbean360.com/News/Busine ... 10057.html

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » January 14th, 2010, 1:13 pm

Caribbean Arlines one step closer to living up to their name :mrgreen:

But can CA really handle that burden?

Postby janfar » January 14th, 2010, 1:13 pm

'Air Jamaica serves the Caribbean with a modern and efficient fleet. Our planes include seven Airbus A-320s, one A-321, and one A-319.'

http://www.airjamaica.com/OurFleet.aspx

Postby crazybalhead » January 14th, 2010, 1:14 pm

waaaaaaaaay. Pressure...

Postby Maserati » January 14th, 2010, 1:15 pm

a mere 1 billion USD in losses

Pit-Crew

Postby Pit-Crew » January 14th, 2010, 1:18 pm

The question is now people with this acquisition are we set to see an even further hike in the price of inter-caribbean travel.

Since BW..........err sorry.............CA took over as the sole provider to certain routes, airfare increased in cases more than 50%. Then they cited BS reasons as the price of fuel which incidentally dropped more than a year ago.

Wait for it ppl, pretty soon the only way to fly the high skies of Jamrock will be with herb fuel!!!

Re: Caribbean Airlines to own Air Jamaica within days

Postby bluesteel29 » January 14th, 2010, 1:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: It is believed that several hundred workers will be on the breadline as a result of the divestment.

that iz pain

Postby RASC » January 14th, 2010, 1:21 pm

I know there are people here wishing that this partnership fails so they can scream "I TOLD YOU SO"/

Time will tell, y'all already know where I stand on this.

Postby crazybalhead » January 14th, 2010, 1:21 pm

Pit-Crew wrote:The question is now people with this acquisition are we set to see an even further hike in the price of inter-caribbean travel.

Since BW..........err sorry.............CA took over as the sole provider to certain routes, airfare increased in cases more than 50%. Then they cited BS reasons as the price of fuel which incidentally dropped more than a year ago.

Wait for it ppl, pretty soon the only way to fly the high skies of Jamrock will be with herb fuel!!!

It's already very expensive top fly to JA with CA. There are no air Jamaica flights from Trinidad to JA anyhow.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2010, 1:34 pm

^ its more expensive to fly from T&T to Jamaica than it is to fly from T&T to New York sometimes

Caribbean Airlines also recently acquired another 737 to its fleet

Pit-Crew

Postby Pit-Crew » January 14th, 2010, 2:12 pm

Let the total Caribbean monopoly begin!!!

Postby RASC » January 14th, 2010, 2:17 pm

Pit-Crew wrote:Let the total Caribbean monopoly begin!!!

We already kinda do monopolize most things in the region :?

Pit-Crew

Postby Pit-Crew » January 14th, 2010, 2:26 pm

RASC wrote:

More monopolies!!!! So sayeth the Emperor!!!

Postby RASC » January 14th, 2010, 2:27 pm

Pit-Crew wrote:
RASC wrote:

More monopolies!!!! So sayeth the Emperor!!!

Ok so, you rather the other countries run things. :?

You have REAL faith hoss :shock:

Emil

Postby Emil » January 14th, 2010, 3:11 pm

So far Lok Jak running CA good, let's hope he handles this just as well.
I really hope they would introduce a decent priced inter island jet service to compliment the water ferry service scheduled to launch soon as well.

Pit-Crew

Postby Pit-Crew » January 14th, 2010, 3:21 pm

RASC, doh get me wrong ya know, I am all for progress. As long as this merger/acquisition/takeover stays a business deal and no politics or politicians get involved, we good.

However, the problem is, invariably as CA is a partially governmental enterprise, dat ain't gonna happen!!!

I am all for a single unified Caribbean carrier servicing all routes at affordable prices. But affordable and CA within the Caribbean does not go hand in hand.

So, in your own words "time will tell!" :!:

Postby Maserati » January 14th, 2010, 3:24 pm

Did CA turn a profit last fiscal year?
how do we measure good performance? by positive customer reviews?making a profit every year? good service?

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2010, 3:27 pm

This merger smells of private sector type thinking..............which I like 8-)

Pit-Crew

Postby Pit-Crew » January 14th, 2010, 3:32 pm

Just hope it doesn't get fowled up by public sector mentality and BS!

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » January 14th, 2010, 3:48 pm

janfar wrote:'Air Jamaica serves the Caribbean with a modern and efficient fleet. Our planes include seven Airbus A-320s, one A-321, and one A-319.'

http://www.airjamaica.com/OurFleet.aspx

Only notable thing about those aircraft is the fly-by-wire set up. Other than that, absolutely nothing!

roadhog

Postby roadhog » January 14th, 2010, 5:59 pm

i wonder which one of AJ planes will get lost in the mix and turn up as patrick's toy.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2010, 6:13 pm

Emil wrote:So far Lok Jak running CA good, let's hope he handles this just as well.
I really hope they would introduce a decent priced inter island jet service to compliment the water ferry service scheduled to launch soon as well.

was now about to say this...Lok Jack raelly holdign his own with CA...man doing things.

Postby UML » January 14th, 2010, 7:16 pm

these idiots......dey putting we in eternal debt in every aspect of governance

jamaica saving the burden of their taxpayers and trinidad taking it up

we buss with BWEE and we bordering/running at a loss with CA...so we take up an additional loss...my lord...dottish is an understatement!!!!

all dis during ah recession eh!!!!!!!!! but tings hard to send money tuh haiti :lol:

AFRICA......I coming!!!!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 14th, 2010, 10:34 pm

UML wrote:these idiots......dey putting we in eternal debt in every aspect of governance

we buss with BWEE and we bordering/running at a loss with CA...so we take up an additional loss...my lord...dottish is an understatement!!!!

all dis during ah recession eh!!!!!!!!! but tings hard to send money tuh haiti :lol:

AFRICA......I coming!!!!

UML,do us all a favor book a flight ti HAITI and do some Humanitarian work and take yuh boyfriend EVO-STI-k along for the ride.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 14th, 2010, 11:46 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
UML wrote:these idiots......dey putting we in eternal debt in every aspect of governance

AFRICA......I coming!!!!

UML,do us all a favor book a flight ti HAITI and do some Humanitarian work and take yuh boyfriend EVO-STI-k along for the ride.

I'll put a please with that or even drop them in Lagos or Kingston's 11- 17

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2010, 12:55 pm

So let me understand this. The PNM could not maintain caroni that had losses of half billion TT per year but perfer to maintain Air Jamaica with losses of 0.9 Billion US per yr.
Does this make sence? They refuse to bail out hindu credit union but help out air jamaica. I guess they will rename it PNM Air lines

Postby eliteauto » January 15th, 2010, 1:02 pm

^^HCU was mismanagement on a small scale versus say CL Financial, isn't that old news by now??? As for Caroni remember the closure plan was drafted by the UNC and executed by the PNM with the largest and sweetest VSEP package ever in T&T

Postby RASC » January 15th, 2010, 1:04 pm

zoom rader wrote:So let me understand this. The PNM could not maintain caroni that had losses of half billion TT per year but perfer to maintain Air Jamaica with losses of 0.9 Billion US per yr.
Does this make sence? They refuse to bail out hindu credit union but help out air jamaica. I guess they will rename it PNM Air lines

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 15th, 2010, 3:14 pm

eliteauto wrote:^^HCU was mismanagement on a small scale versus say CL Financial, isn't that old news by now??? As for Caroni remember the closure plan was drafted by the UNC and executed by the PNM with the largest and sweetest VSEP package ever in T&T

DITTO!!!

Postby UML » January 26th, 2010, 8:17 am

DONE DEAL!!!!!!

Jamaica is ah TOURIST DESTINATION and BUSSING and Trindad & Tobago taking up this dead weight in a recession!!!!!!
Last edited by UML on January 26th, 2010, 8:52 am, edited 1 time in total.