Any Video Clubs renting Blu-ray?

neilsingh100

Any Video Clubs renting Blu-ray?

Postby neilsingh100 » December 27th, 2009, 10:42 pm

Anyone know of any video clubs locally that rent Blu-ray movies and the cost?

Postby Cjruckus » December 27th, 2009, 11:58 pm

man does still rent?

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » December 28th, 2009, 12:08 am

if your blu ray player is your ps3 then just buy one of those external drive and download all blu ray movies as wish if your player has usb then your good as well
links to d/l movies
http://www.onelinkmoviez.com/
http://www.rlslog.net/

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 28th, 2009, 12:20 am

badboi69 wrote:if your blu ray player is your ps3 then just buy one of those external drive and download all blu ray movies as wish if your player has usb then your good as well
links to d/l movies

aside from that being pure piracy, it wont work.

blu ray movies are over 4 GB in size and the PS3 reads only fat32 formatted drives. FAT32 doesnt support files of 4.5 gb (or thereabout)

best option is media streaming
but most high def movies are not encoded in a format that the ps3 can read over streaming..

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » December 28th, 2009, 12:26 am

rodfarva wrote:
badboi69 wrote:if your blu ray player is your ps3 then just buy one of those external drive and download all blu ray movies as wish if your player has usb then your good as well
links to d/l movies

blu ray movies are over 4 GB in size and the PS3 reads only fat32 formatted drives. FAT32 doesnt support files of 4.5 gb (or thereabout)

but most high def movies are not encoded in a format that the ps3 can read over streaming..

X2 I have been searching for a solution to this prob for a while now. found something that said that one could reformat thier ntfs drive or partition to fat32 and maintain the data stored on the drive. Not brave enough to try that yet. still looking for other solutions

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » December 28th, 2009, 12:29 am

you need to download the updates for your ps3 then cuz it works for me
oh and i dont give a fack about piracy

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 28th, 2009, 1:23 am

badboi69 wrote:you need to download the updates for your ps3 then cuz it works for me
oh and i dont give a fack about piracy

it doesnt work.

your probably dealing with files that are smaller than 4.5gb

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 28th, 2009, 2:15 am

hear wat to do if u using ah ps3 as your blu ray player...download an app called vuze den it has a mod where u can send movies and such to external players via a wifi network, install dat an jus drag an drop the movie of ur choice and presto...it has to convert and then send over the wifi but it doesnt take that long...enjoy.... :mrgreen:

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » December 28th, 2009, 3:19 am

rodfarva wrote:
links to d/l movies

he is extremely rite

another alternative is to install linux on the ps3 so u can use it as a computer ( also watch all video formats such as .mkv etc) ...and yea even though is piracy we live in trinidad and not everyone gonna pay so much cash for a blue ray dvd that u would only watch like 2 times unless they money "Ha Ha".

for some bes prices on blu ray check this out - http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=120215

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2009, 9:15 am

absolutely nothing will show like an original blu ray disc unless the file you have is about 40GB

remember blu-ray is full 1080p and the audio will be Dolby TrueHD or DTS HD Master Audio. You will almost never get that quality via torrent.

If you don't know what these things are or the quality doesnt matter to you then don't bother with HDMI cables, HDTV's and good speakers because you will be wasting your money on them watching those crappy downloads.

torrent quality at 4GB is for DVD or Standard Definition at best. Use a normal TV and RCA plugs. At 700MB you better just watch it on TTT with an antenna.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » December 28th, 2009, 9:27 am

Them BluRay rips from Torrent sites does show real good.
720p and 1080p movies.
And I watching them on a 110" screen so I should spot some flaws.
But they perfect once it is H264 encoding and .mkv files.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 28th, 2009, 9:32 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:absolutely nothing will show like an original blu ray disc unless the file you have is about 40GB

remember blu-ray is full 1080p and the audio will be Dolby TrueHD or DTS HD Master Audio. You will almost never get that quality via torrent.

If you don't know what these things are or the quality doesnt matter to you then don't bother with HDMI cables, HDTV's and good speakers because you will be wasting your money on them watching those crappy downloads.

torrent quality at 4GB is for DVD or Standard Definition at best. Use a normal TV and RCA plugs. At 700MB you better just watch it on TTT with an antenna.

yup yup... the average torrent HD rip from a blu ray is about 8 -12 GB in size, which means you'd get a lot of compression. Though the video will be 1080p, the detail will be degraded.

Of course it will still look quite good when compared to SD content

but, Duane I would have thought that the average lossless blu-ray rip would have been around 25GB

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2009, 9:50 am

rmtuner wrote:Them BluRay rips from Torrent sites does show real good.
720p and 1080p movies.
And I watching them on a 110" screen so I should spot some flaws.
But they perfect once it is H264 encoding and .mkv files.

maybe real good for you

a 110" projected screen?
unless you are running a US$8000 to US$20,000 THX certified home theater projector you will not notice the difference. Look at that same file on a 50" plasma or backlit LED and you will see a difference between a torrent and original blu-ray disc.

the encoding (H.264) and the file container (mkv) don't automatically mean the quality is good or lossless. Full blu-ray is lossless compression. Depending on your file size the video and audio may be compressed using lossy compression and so degrading the picture quality.

rodfarva wrote:but, Duane I would have thought that the average lossless blu-ray rip would have been around 25GB

depends on what is being shown to you and with what audio format.
I've lowered the Dolby TrueHD audio from a blu-ray digital copy disc to put on my iPhone and it dropped the file size from 42GB to ~23GB

I'm sure I dont need that size on that screen anyhow

dry

Postby dry » December 28th, 2009, 9:54 am

25GB would be a full-quality blu-ray rip. I've got a few raw rips and they're about 20-25GB for the average movie.

egas

Postby egas » December 28th, 2009, 10:02 am

PS3 plays files encoded with h264 with a profile of 4.1 or less.
If the movie downloaded uses Profile 5.1, there are apps that can change the profile to 4.1, though I've never had success with any.

There are torrents for HD movies specific for the PS3 and Popcorn Hour with will just work.

The next issue is that last I can remember, PS3 does not play mkv files natively.
You're gonna have re-encode it to a format that the PS3 recognizes or repackage it.
There is an app called tsMuxer that change the container from mkv to m2ts to allow the PS3 to recognize and play without loss of quality from the original mkv format.

Then you use something like PS3 Media Server or TVersity to stream it your PS3. No worries about file size or file system.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » December 28th, 2009, 10:15 am

yeh I know you cah beat the original BluRay for ultimate quality.
but the BluRay rips are free and for now it good enough.
Until the launch of 3D BluRay
which would be soon.

Postby honda hoe » December 28th, 2009, 10:16 am

^ u have US$9000 to buy a 3d hdtv? :shock:

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » December 28th, 2009, 10:22 am

US9000?

no hoss

it already have TVs available that are 3D ready.
them Samsung DLPs for example.
Also some monitors that have 240hz.

Postby honda hoe » December 28th, 2009, 10:26 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2009, 10:36 am

dry wrote:25GB would be a full-quality blu-ray rip. I've got a few raw rips and they're about 20-25GB for the average movie.

oh yeah the 40GB file was a 3hr+ extended running of LOTR fellowship of the ring :oops:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 28th, 2009, 10:52 am

got 2 true blu ray rips,dark knight which is 30.3gb and transformers which is around 28gb's or so,as for difference,you can tell from the regular blu ray rips,but then again i pay to much attention to detail sometimes

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 28th, 2009, 10:59 am

^ i still remember the first blue ray movie i saw...was blown away with the quality.....
burn dvds/rips look rel piss poor on a blue ray player now lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2009, 11:39 am

personally I think its worth it to buy blu-ray movies if its a movie you like and would want to watch over and over again.

now from most studios you get a blu-ray disc, a dvd disc, a speacial features blu-ray disc and a digital copy disc in the package for US$17

http://www.amazon.com/Disc-Combo-Pack-D ... 718&sr=8-3

Postby noshownogo » December 28th, 2009, 12:05 pm

until burners and media drop in value i kinda think that there is a market for Bluray rentals

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » December 28th, 2009, 1:34 pm

I find that the BluRay burners are a good price right now.
I have a LG BD burner and it does wuk good. Wanna get the Pioneer 12x.
As for the blanks you cah beat this price

http://www.amazon.com/Memorex-320200133 ... 535&sr=8-1