Postby eliteauto » November 29th, 2009, 12:51 am

difference?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 29th, 2009, 1:14 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Mr Gear is right... There's only 1 race in Trinidad and it's neither indian, african, chinee or white- We are all TRINIDADIANS !!

UML, that's quite an interesting post you made there because according to what I was told by many indian friends and family there, it's the total opposite from what you said.

I have INDIAN family there with various business that did not vote PNM yet, they are more successful today with the PNM than they were with the UNC.
Indians still own most of the business in Trinidad. Indians are still the largest land owners in Trinidad. Indians are still in majority when it comes to getting scholarships etc. How it is you can say that the PNM is oppressing the Indian race in T&T?

As far as I see, the indians in Trinidad are like American blacks.... They quick to bawl racial oppression for every lil thing. The government has a priority issue - they not concentrating on the key needs of the people and hence the reason for some people to feel neglect and feel as though they are being oppressed.
Do you think the bandits only choose to rob & kill indians alone?? No! it only looks that way because most business owners are indians and that's why I feel it looks like the crimes are racially motivated. Crime in Trinidad is not limited to only 1 race, is everybody getting their share of the criminals so doh feel like you are being singled out because of your skin color.

you all can keep up that sheit talk about one race and togetherness BS. fact is there is racism everywhere in trinidad in all the races. indians show racism toward their own. i have seen this myself where toddlers of a lighter complexion are treated better than the darker ones. dont fool yourselves. whether you like it or not racism is here to stay

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 29th, 2009, 1:22 am

i HATE indian ppl! worst kinna ppl ever!
smart tho, but PHOQ up in their mentality..
i didnt even read this lol

Postby Maserati » November 29th, 2009, 2:12 am

UML wrote:
Mr Gear wrote:
UML wrote:
a non-indian friend of the family was quarreling ....

Why can't we agree that there are no Indians here...only Trinis

i used "indians" in my comment to diffrentiate

if i said Trinidadians and Trinidadians u see the difference?

8-)

it's people like you who create this difference.
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Rapido

Postby Rapido » November 29th, 2009, 3:52 am

you're right BIGGA514 i am being emo...especially as my race couldn't give a flying fork about this topic...be it indian...negro...homo...you get the point...

i was just trying to show the real topic to the general stupids (like yourself) that frequent the site...

btw...AP...good one again...i'm now getting home and have to laugh at how you did this thread...

this time i'll give you your props...give jack his jack...and in this case give ...anyways lemme stop there...

Postby RASC » November 29th, 2009, 9:22 am

Rapido wrote:...especially as my race couldn't give a flying fork about this topic...

I'm so glad we have the official spokesman for an entire race in our presence.

Welcome your highness, how may we serve you? Do your accommodations please you? Please enjoy your visit :)

Rapido

Postby Rapido » November 29th, 2009, 9:35 am

Rapido wrote:
...especially as my race couldn't give a flying fork about this topic...

I'm so glad we have the official spokesman for an entire race in our presence.

Welcome your highness, how may we serve you? Do your accommodations please you? Please enjoy your visit Smile

meh... that didn't come out right...plus i'm way to mixed up for it to even be taken like that...

Postby RASC » November 29th, 2009, 9:39 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Mr Gear is right... There's only 1 race in Trinidad and it's neither indian, african, chinee or white- We are all TRINIDADIANS !!

UML, that's quite an interesting post you made there because according to what I was told by many indian friends and family there, it's the total opposite from what you said.

I have INDIAN family there with various business that did not vote PNM yet, they are more successful today with the PNM than they were with the UNC.
Indians still own most of the business in Trinidad. Indians are still the largest land owners in Trinidad. Indians are still in majority when it comes to getting scholarships etc. How it is you can say that the PNM is oppressing the Indian race in T&T?

As far as I see, the indians in Trinidad are like American blacks.... They quick to bawl racial oppression for every lil thing. The government has a priority issue - they not concentrating on the key needs of the people and hence the reason for some people to feel neglect and feel as though they are being oppressed.
Do you think the bandits only choose to rob & kill indians alone?? No! it only looks that way because most business owners are indians and that's why I feel it looks like the crimes are racially motivated. Crime in Trinidad is not limited to only 1 race, is everybody getting their share of the criminals so doh feel like you are being singled out because of your skin color.

The Trinbagonian of East Indian descent is the most plotted against human on the face of the earth. Believe that!

Panday did an EXCELLENT job in this form of fear mongering. Alot of them will forever be his mental slaves.

Postby RASC » November 29th, 2009, 9:50 am

Anyway people we kinda straying off topic.

I had to edit this, I just realized one major thing:

I am not in a position to properly answer the topic, when I think about it, I only know 3 Indians in T&T and they are all my age-Embassy kids who came in form 3 :wink:

I think you can only truly answer this question is if you interact with Indians in T&T...put aside your biases from when you lived in Canada, U.K or where ever...this question is directly related to Indian businessmen/women and their interaction with locals.
Last edited by RASC on November 29th, 2009, 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » November 29th, 2009, 9:59 am

That's why I keep asking RANJ. to come comment, but like she ducking the topic all together...
Last edited by RASC on November 29th, 2009, 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

muddy

Postby muddy » November 29th, 2009, 10:10 am

as if there arent enough

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 29th, 2009, 10:36 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

you all can keep up that sheit talk about one race and togetherness BS. fact is there is racism everywhere in trinidad in all the races. indians show racism toward their own. i have seen this myself where toddlers of a lighter complexion are treated better than the darker ones. dont fool yourselves. whether you like it or not racism is here to stay

You only speak like that because you have never experienced true racism. If you are referring to anything you have experienced in T&T, let me assure you that is not what racism is no matter how isolated or intense your experience here might have been. Racism is a systematic, nationwide process that is practiced against a minority ....wait.... There are no minorities in T&T that can complain about racism so I can stop here.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 29th, 2009, 10:43 am

RASC wrote:That's why I keep asking RANJ. to come comment, but like she ducking the topic all together...

Give a girl a chance to wake up properly nuh?

Yes I interact with Indians from India, in Trinidad/Canada/UK/States, never had an issue, they never treated me differently, they actually showed interest in what part of India we originally came from etc. I mean in Trinidad we have them over, we keep in touch etc

In terms of business, there was just a large contingent that came to set up Trade Centers here and an organization was formed for it - don't remember the name now :S I know of people who are helping some of the Indian guys locate space to set up business centers, and their vision for it is fantastic, if you talk to these guys they have such a good understanding of what's going on down here economically/politically/etc, they're very in touch with Trinidad.

happy now Rene :p

Postby RASC » November 29th, 2009, 10:55 am

Sumana.00 wrote:
RASC wrote:That's why I keep asking RANJ. to come comment, but like she ducking the topic all together...

Yes I interact with Indians from India, in Trinidad/Canada/UK/States, never had an issue, they never treated me differently, they actually showed interest in what part of India we originally came from etc. I mean in Trinidad we have them over, we keep in touch etc

In terms of business, there was just a large contingent that came to set up Trade Centers here and an organization was formed for it - don't remember the name now :S I know of people who are helping some of the Indian guys locate space to set up business centers, and their vision for it is fantastic, if you talk to these guys they have such a good understanding of what's going on down here economically/politically/etc, they're very in touch with Trinidad.

You like my name eh...don't let daddy see that :o

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 29th, 2009, 10:55 am

steups :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: loser

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 29th, 2009, 11:16 am

Mr Gear wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

You only speak like that because you have never experienced true racism. If you are referring to anything you have experienced in T&T, let me assure you that is not what racism is no matter how isolated or intense your experience here might have been. Racism is a systematic, nationwide process that is practiced against a minority ....wait.... There are no minorities in T&T that can complain about racism so I can stop here.

No, Mr. Gear. What you describe is institutional racism.

Racism is the belief that one is superior over another on the basis of race/skin color. It is the belief that this superiority determines traits not similar to that of other races and given these traits one should be treated better than X inferior race. Racism is a feeling of entitlement on the basis of race.

And THIS thinking, Mr. Gear, does exist in Trinidad and Tobago.

There are some in Trinidad who believe political parties are actively giving preferential treatment to X and not Y race of people. Some local politicians go on to constitute this as institutional racism while feeding the minds of locals to believe that they are victims of their society.

So, yes, racism does exist in Trinidad. And, yes, there are many Trinidadians who see themselves as victims of a government and coin it "institutional racism".

However, for you to say there is one Trinidad, one people, one society, that sees themselves as Trinidadian before Indo-, Afro-, Syrian, Chinese, Dougla, or whatever the prefix, is myopic on your part.

Postby AllTrac » November 29th, 2009, 11:18 am

metalgear2095 wrote: indians show racism toward their own. i have seen this myself where toddlers of a lighter complexion are treated better than the darker ones.

very VERY TRUE STATEMENT.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 29th, 2009, 11:19 am

Mr Gear wrote:Truth be told, I am not sure if you are a Trini, I never really paid you any attention, but I suspect that you are not Trini. There is a special fiber that connects us all together even in spite of forced racism at election time. I LOVE my Trini people and the PM f India should realize that there are no Indians from Trinidad for anyone from Indian or anywhere else to connect to, there are only Trinidadians here.

I am Trinidadian, born and raised, with intent to return to contribute to my country. Yes, mine.

Don't get it twisted.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 29th, 2009, 11:22 am

Sumana.00 wrote:

Sumana, thanks for contributing. I'm happy to hear of the positive experiences you have had with Indians from India.

I have also experienced similar interactions during my stay in India, however, I am not sure how they will receive me in the UK. Only one way to find out. :wink:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 29th, 2009, 11:24 am

vimal_vs wrote:i HATE indian ppl! worst kinna ppl ever!

Woah, buddy, isn't that a tad bit too strong. Why hate on a people?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 29th, 2009, 11:27 am

corollalover101 wrote:Oh and btw my Indian family ( from India I mean) when ever they visit are very biased against my Indo-Trini family

Interesting. :?

Postby UML » November 29th, 2009, 11:29 am

as i said India recently had a delegation in Trinidad to setup business relations.

allyuh forget we have bank of baroda, intercommercial bank, etc.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 29th, 2009, 11:29 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
AllTrac wrote:actually Rapido, AP's questions are very valid and should be raised. When I lived in England, the Indians there never considered me to be an Indian, they said I was black because of the way I talked, they looked down on Caribbean Indians, according to them, our forefathers abandoned the motherland when their country needed them the most. So they saw us as outsiders, outcast etc. I hated to mix with them, i hated how they smell, i hate the way they dress, i hate tandoori chicken, I like Amitab Bachan.

Yup, same story here but it's mainly an issue with the "higher class" indians..
When people ask about my ethnicity, I reply with my nationality :lol: Me eh wah be associated with dem stink smelling indians.

Do you see what you are doing here?

Stereotyping a people on the basis of their homeland.

So I guess according to you and others in this thread, Indians from India "stink smelling".

Hmmm.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » November 29th, 2009, 11:32 am

vimal_vs wrote:i HATE indian ppl! worst kinna ppl ever!

do us a favour...take off your computer, go outside and meet people...
check us back in about 5 years when puberty sets in...

Postby AllTrac » November 29th, 2009, 11:37 am

worksux101, :lol: :lol: :lol:

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 29th, 2009, 11:56 am

Mr Gear wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

i have not seen the word 'minority' in any definition of racism

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 29th, 2009, 1:30 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
AllTrac wrote:actually Rapido, AP's questions are very valid and should be raised. When I lived in England, the Indians there never considered me to be an Indian, they said I was black because of the way I talked, they looked down on Caribbean Indians, according to them, our forefathers abandoned the motherland when their country needed them the most. So they saw us as outsiders, outcast etc. I hated to mix with them, i hated how they smell, i hate the way they dress, i hate tandoori chicken, I like Amitab Bachan.

Yup, same story here but it's mainly an issue with the "higher class" indians..
When people ask about my ethnicity, I reply with my nationality :lol: Me eh wah be associated with dem stink smelling indians.

Do you see what you are doing here?

Stereotyping a people on the basis of their homeland.

So I guess according to you and others in this thread, Indians from India "stink smelling".

Hmmm.
Hell farking yea, most of dem smell stink!! You musse never smell a bangali or paki :roll: That don't mean that I hate them.. Actually we have quite a few india born (smelly type) family friends that are often over at our house etc.. It's just that I prefer not to be in the same boat as them because the only thing we have in common is skin color and hair.. Kinda the same way 99% of this forum don't want to be associated with you

Indians that grew up in the US from young are ok to deal with

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 30th, 2009, 5:32 am

why aren't more Indians (from India) visiting and establishing business relations in TT and the wider Caribbean?

because why spend so much money to come to TT to set up a business and get rob/rape/kidnap/kill in the process when u could stay in india and have the same happen for free.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 30th, 2009, 2:04 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote: However, for you to say there is one Trinidad, one people, one society, that sees themselves as Trinidadian before Indo-, Afro-, Syrian, Chinese, Dougla, or whatever the prefix, is myopic on your part.

Nope.. I just grew up and continue to love colour blind. I have never felt inferior to anyone or any race nor have I felt that i was superior to anyone or any race.

If you don't live like this you should try it, its wonderful. Seriously. I guess you really have to be genuine about it to experience it and at the same time have sufficient confidence in yourself. I Love it. I get the best of this world.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 30th, 2009, 2:26 pm

wha kinda facking injun yuh iz boi? yuh hate tandoori chicken??? Boi Gone from here oui!

go eat ya Burnon chicken in d yankee malls! :lol: