swine flu alert at republic ind sq

littleredcivic

swine flu alert at republic ind sq

Postby littleredcivic » November 11th, 2009, 8:43 pm

at around 1030am on tuesday 10 november 2009 republic bank ind sq had its first confirmed case of swine flu.the individual was immediately sent home however 2 pregnant people from the loans dept were allowed to leave today while several others displaying flu like symptoms were over looked including other pregnant people.
ironically an emergency meeting was called with the management of the branch who stated that they,the staff had nothing to fear since "swine flu is not contageous and incubated in our bodies".
so as we can all see the management cares nothing about the live of their valued costumers much little their loyal staff.

slick

Re: swine flu alert at republic ind sq

Postby slick » November 11th, 2009, 9:09 pm

littleredcivic wrote:at around 1030am on tuesday 10 november 2009 republic bank ind sq had its first confirmed case of swine flu.the individual was immediately sent home however 2 pregnant people from the loans dept were allowed to leave today while several others displaying flu like symptoms were over looked including other pregnant people.
ironically an emergency meeting was called with the management of the branch who stated that they,the staff had nothing to fear since "swine flu is not contageous and incubated in our bodies".
so as we can all see the management cares nothing about the live of their valued costumers much little their loyal staff.

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2009, 9:10 pm

swine flu not any more contagious than any other common cold or flu
the problem is that the majority of people have bad hygiene habits
people like to wipe their nose, touch their face all the time, cough in open
watch anybody using a phone in an office and you will see that kind of thing

it is most appalling to see people wiping their nose and chin with the base of their thumb

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 11th, 2009, 9:11 pm

Let me guess, the staff accept that and continue working like robots after the meeting right :lol:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 11th, 2009, 9:39 pm

Let me guess, the staff accept that and continue working like robots after the meeting right

I wouldn't pound them yet, I know how hard it is to be asertive in that environemnt because it's always your job on the line.
The employees though need to confront management with a unified effort. Their answer was unacceptable. They need to have a policy and it should be alot better than that.

slick

Postby slick » November 11th, 2009, 10:20 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:
Let me guess, the staff accept that and continue working like robots after the meeting right

I wouldn't pound them yet, I know how hard it is to be asertive in that environemnt because it's always your job on the line.
The employees though need to confront management with a unified effort. Their answer was unacceptable. They need to have a policy and it should be alot better than that.

Republic Bank's union was like a jellyfish...no backbone!
Now that BIGWU has started representing RBL, things have gotten better.
I think the staff still suffer from the memories of the previous union as most still don't have any backbone.

Postby SR » November 11th, 2009, 11:45 pm

whats the point of this post?

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 11th, 2009, 11:51 pm

The standard protocol is to send the affected person home, monitor other employees for symptoms and disinfect the person´s workstation. Lysol spray. I believe this is correct, what is the problem with the Bank´s action ?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 12th, 2009, 12:06 am

Mr Gear the policy that has been put in place at my work place requires anyone that has come in contact with someone that is infected to report it to HR.
If there is one person on your floor that has become infected then there is a mandatory work at home until symptoms develop or you are cleared.
Sounds like over kill.
The bank can't exaclty institute a work from home policy but anyone that has flu like symtoms should report it. Given the state of the response of the health sector and the recent deaths, you can't ignore the potential for panic from the employees.

Postby SR » November 12th, 2009, 12:08 am

lets look at the other side of the scenario

staff looking to get time away from the office under the guise of swine flu
and blame it on managment not caring

as an individual what does one do to protect yourself

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » November 12th, 2009, 12:11 am

swine flu not any more contagious than any other common cold or flu

Thank you...same course, prognosis etc...the majority of people who've died have had significant other co-morbidities...and that includes those in Trinidad...

When someone gets the "normal" flu, you don't send the whole floor home do you?

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 12th, 2009, 12:13 am

PROZAC, that is an excellent policy if it is practical for the business. If the bank staff sick out, a lot of businesses and regular folks will suffer real hardship and inconvenience

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 12th, 2009, 12:15 am

No you don't- but when you work in a closed environemnt it's the the company's best interest to contain the infection and not ahve that person come in to spread it to others. - Which is what Republic Bank has done yes.

Yes we've beocme more vigilant with our hygiene but would you want to work with people who have been infected and bring that home to your family?
I don't know man.
As an individual, you have to look out for yourself. You can't get paranoid about contact, it's a way of life. I won't stop shaking hands and what not but I'll definitely be using more Sanitizer and not sucking my thumb as much.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 12th, 2009, 12:21 am

In the first few weeks after April this year when Swine Flu hit, I was paranoid and I shunned people who came in with flu like symptoms. Self preservation FTW. Even now I dodge overseas trips and managed to avoid all business related flights until this Monday. Freaked me out a lil so I understand
how people feel about working around a deadly flu that anyone can get.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » November 12th, 2009, 12:24 am

how people feel about working around a deadly flu that anyone can get.

Ashame that that's how it is protrayed...

.:PROZAC:.., i agree with you 100% bro...what i was actually referring to was the guise that unaffected employees be sent home for what we percieve as this "deadly" flu, when in reality the simple measures that you stated are adequate, as they would be to prevent contraction of a "normal" flu

Postby noshownogo » November 12th, 2009, 7:34 am

*CRACKS WHIP* Back to work ladies, your chills and severe pains are just symptoms of the common cold. Mind you senior management will be first to buss out if things get worse, survival of the most senior. De rest of allyuh dispensable...

littleredcivic

Postby littleredcivic » November 13th, 2009, 5:53 am

rightly said