$12000 fine or jail time fuh buyin cigarette loose.

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 11:00 am

dey go ban da too :arrow:

remember when ppl in tobago get lock up for hemp :lol:

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » November 11th, 2009, 11:06 am

lol this won't pass.....remember election coming up and de people watchin!

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » November 11th, 2009, 11:10 am

200sx wrote:ahhhhh boy good thing ah have meh E-CIG

blowing vapours in yr direction an u can't even smell it :twisted:

Amen to that! It will be a saviour to those that still wants to exercise their freedom of choice.

*hooks up fresh cartridge and charged battery*

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » November 11th, 2009, 12:43 pm

aR&D wrote:* Impose high taxes on cigarettes

* Pass legislation outlining a medium to limited long term policy for the total eradication and weaning off of tobacco. Included within: reducing drastically the legal amounts of nicotine and tobacco per stick manufactures and importers are allowed in their product. Reducing taxes and duties on "stop smoking" medication, programs and or (proven) methods

* Reduce the size of the sticks and the quantity per pack

* Pass legislation banning smoking in public buildings and spaces

this is just gonna encourage chain smoking. if they want people to stop smoking, then ban smoking, and even then it's gonna become just like any illegal narcotics. weed is illegal, but that doh stop anyone from lightin up when they feel like it. Good thing i quit... how much is a retail now anyways? $2?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 11th, 2009, 1:06 pm

Any advice on quitting? can't kick the friggin habbit. :oops:

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » November 11th, 2009, 1:31 pm

i feel they tryin to drop the amount of money parlours getting from selling retail
parlours wud get like $22 profit from selling a pack of retail.
How much the government gets?

Most ppl buy retail cause they trying to stop smoking, because if they have a pack on them, they tend to smoke more.
So the problem remains the same.
How much ppl gonna actually stop gettin a single cigarette to smoke.
How often someone asks you for a cigarette? what do you do?
Give them one. So what is the $12000 fine and 6mths in jail solving?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 11th, 2009, 1:32 pm

Funny how many times the word "myopic" has been used in this thread and no one has mentioned the fact that you can't buy a single cigarette in any of the "developed" countries that many of you try to compare Trinidad to. Funny how you'll go there and don't have a problem with it.

Besides being unhygienic, selling individual cigarettes is in violation of the conditions under which they are allowed to be sold. There are no warning labels on an individual cigarette :idea:

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 11th, 2009, 1:45 pm

Why not make smoking and cigarettes illegal and done talk.
but they won't and the reason is because the only thing that matters to this government is making money off people heads be it by taxing the cig company or taxing the cig consumers. after all it have more taxes to be got from a whole pack that a single.

BTW for all those retards out there that think this move is because of the health risks it poses to the public i give you the proposed Smelter plant.

But then again we deserve what we get so doh complain

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 11th, 2009, 2:22 pm

did you read the last post before you started typing?

You probably do deserve what you get...why are you complaining?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 11th, 2009, 2:28 pm

Notorious Scullman, where in my post do you you see a complaint, mr moderator man?

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 2:37 pm

buzz wrote:stolen: P** ****

get those damn smoking and tint criminals from stealing our cars dammit :x

as i was saying

blondie

Postby blondie » November 11th, 2009, 2:39 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:Actually One child or NO child per househole in certain Areas will do this country a GREAT BENEFIT!

I must agree!!!!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 11th, 2009, 3:30 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Any advice on quitting? can't kick the friggin habbit. :oops:

DM16, if i could do it, anyone can.
I was smoking nearly 2 packs per day. More if i was drinking.

Then one day i just stopped - made up my mind to do it.

Couldnt sleep for 2 weeks, needed sleeping pills. Coffee didnt help. Nicorette didnt help. I was cranky, bitchy and irritable, lol. But i had the support of my coworkers, friends and family.

21st November will be one year since I kicked the habit, feels great.

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2009, 3:42 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Any advice on quitting? can't kick the friggin habbit. :oops:

think abotu erectile dysfunction at the age of around 50 and in addition to cigs, u now hav to buy viagra!!

Postby sharkman121 » November 11th, 2009, 3:51 pm

X_Factor wrote:

think abotu erectile dysfunction at the age of around 50 and in addition to cigs, u now hav to buy viagra!!

do u really really want to.

One must first know this. Make no sense halfway starting if ur not fully into it.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » November 11th, 2009, 3:57 pm

if you can't afford to buy an $18.00 pack of cigarettes, then its quite likely that you can't afford to:

Pay for medical treatment needed if you get sick as a result of smoking.
Financially support yourself when you can no longer perform your job because smoking has affected your health to such a point.

Who do you think is going to pay for that persons medical expenses, National Insurance (if applicable) benefits, etc etc when that person can no longer support him/herself?

People seem to get misguided and upset when someone drops it like "the government want to penalize poor people for smoking"

But its pretty much basic logic.
Cigarettes are sold in certain quantities. Just like any other item that is considered a luxury purchase, If you can't afford to buy it, then Don't buy it.
And there are still ways to get cigarettes if you cant afford a pack....pool money and go halfs or thirds on a pack with other people.

Everything has an effect.
Cigarettes are not a basic necessity, they are pretty much a luxury item. Since they are costly, hazardous to health and meet none of our basic needs.

Thats like going to a fast food outlet and asking for 1/2 a chicken breast and 6 fries.. or half a burger and a sip of soft drink... WTF

200sx

Postby 200sx » November 11th, 2009, 4:02 pm

200sx wrote:ahhhhh boy good thing ah have meh E-CIG

blowing vapours in yr direction an u can't even smell it :twisted:

dem can't ban dis.............they might ban the E-JUICE with over 16mg of nicotine, but i using catridges an boy for $2 ah cat. which lastin me 1/2 days i savin som gd dollars........think abt it $18 for a pack, avg $504 ah month give or take that is $6048 giv or take ah year :shock: :shock:

but who checking :?:

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » November 11th, 2009, 4:15 pm

If you don't know what ah E cig is here it is
D tip does light blue

Postby Greypatch » November 11th, 2009, 6:50 pm

well done Vexx.....well done...

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 11th, 2009, 6:54 pm

ok so a man who usually smokes one or 2 cigs a day or every now and then would now be forced to purchase a pack -- and in turn smoke the entire pack out cause of vice........who benefits

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 11th, 2009, 6:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

DM16, if i could do it, anyone can.
I was smoking nearly 2 packs per day. More if i was drinking.

Then one day i just stopped - made up my mind to do it.

Couldnt sleep for 2 weeks, needed sleeping pills. Coffee didnt help. Nicorette didnt help. I was cranky, bitchy and irritable, lol. But i had the support of my coworkers, friends and family.

21st November will be one year since I kicked the habit, feels great.

HEY MAN CONGRATS.>!!!!!!!! HAVE A du maurier for that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Sky » November 11th, 2009, 7:11 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:ok so a man who usually smokes one or 2 cigs a day or every now and then would now be forced to purchase a pack -- and in turn smoke the entire pack out cause of vice........who benefits

Yuhannastan. And blends does get stale. So smokin 2 a day for 10 days wont cut it.

slow323

smoke

Postby slow323 » November 11th, 2009, 7:40 pm

as a smoker and as someone posted earlier they are putting in place the same smoking laws as away

ppl will still sell singles just it wont be on display

selling packs makes money for witco which is greater profits and larger tax pay off for the govt

anyone who says ban smoking on a whole is a fool why dont they ban alcohol so people can stop getting 'bad drives' and losing control

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 12th, 2009, 3:59 am

simple solution. just keep a empty pack with you so wen u buy your retail(s), put it in the pack dey so if the retail police apprehend u they cant accuse u of nothing bcoz u have the pack to show.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 12th, 2009, 9:05 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:ok so a man who usually smokes one or 2 cigs a day or every now and then would now be forced to purchase a pack -- and in turn smoke the entire pack out cause of vice........who benefits

The government

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » November 12th, 2009, 9:08 am

*group buy*

Postby Chimera » November 12th, 2009, 9:10 am

fouljuice wrote:simple solution. just keep a empty pack with you so wen u buy your retail(s), put it in the pack dey so if the retail police apprehend u they cant accuse u of nothing bcoz u have the pack to show.

Police apprehend you?

They wont stop you and search you for a retail cigarette you know :lol:

They will most likely go after the retailers, send a officer to buy a single cig, then arrest/charge the vendor.

And IF they going after buyers, they would just watch you buying it then charge you.

If they dont see you buying it, they cant do anything about it.

This law so easy to avoid.......

Powermint $2 with free cigarette.

Postby sharkman121 » November 12th, 2009, 10:16 am

yeh but... stilll laughing at retail police

deadin

Postby buzz » November 12th, 2009, 12:11 pm

They will most likely go after the retailers, send a officer to buy a single cig, then arrest/charge the vendor.

in trini? :shock: :lol:

Postby Chimera » November 12th, 2009, 12:15 pm

buzz wrote:

in trini? :shock: :lol:

steups lol

Well that's what they COULD do if they use to do anything lol