WTK: Transfering Car Rights

Metallicork

WTK: Transfering Car Rights

Postby Metallicork » November 3rd, 2009, 6:56 am

Yeah guys and gals....Hear what I want to know... Lets say you had a car and it got into a bad accident and is costing to much to bring back...You could get a shell for the car in d bamboo but d car old....registered 1991 or so....What the procedure of getting the rights of thr crash car and getting it on the shell LEGALLY??

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » November 3rd, 2009, 11:29 am

Heard of what's called a "CLO", chassis lift off, basically you take the chassis number of your crash along with the new vehicle, the keep the old chassis and license the new car.

Not 100% sure of the procedure, nor do I know of anyone who has done it, but PM Zim on the forum he may have some more info

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 3rd, 2009, 6:57 pm

they stop doing CLO's legally yrs ago.....cause our great leader say cars to cheap,so fixing back ur old one is a waste of money,buy a new one! :evil:

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » November 3rd, 2009, 7:54 pm

eh dais true?? so it have no way to do that?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 3rd, 2009, 7:58 pm

You could do it but u gotta pass the --> $$$$$

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 3rd, 2009, 8:05 pm

PM pioneer

Pre

Postby Pre » November 3rd, 2009, 8:59 pm

2 d Max Auto wrote:Heard of what's called a "CLO", chassis lift off, basically you take the chassis number of your crash along with the new vehicle, the keep the old chassis and license the new car.

Not 100% sure of the procedure, nor do I know of anyone who has done it, but PM Zim on the forum he may have some more info

this is no longer done, The only thing that can be done is to buy the shell and put it onto the chassis that are reg to the Reg no of the veh after doing so u do a normal veh transfer $160TT for a veh that age. Usually more trouble than its worth

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2009, 9:20 pm

Pre wrote:
2 d Max Auto wrote:Heard of what's called a "CLO", chassis lift off, basically you take the chassis number of your crash along with the new vehicle, the keep the old chassis and license the new car.

this is no longer done, The only thing that can be done is to buy the shell and put it onto the chassis that are reg to the Reg no of the veh after doing so u do a normal veh transfer $160TT for a veh that age. Usually more trouble than its worth

only possible with vehcles that have a seperate chassis and body, such as a Jimny

Postby brams112 » November 3rd, 2009, 9:38 pm

buy a next car pallie,that sounds like trouble,,,but you can go to licenseing office and provide pics and just ask,,,,,pass plenty dollars and lots of run around will be your option

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » November 4th, 2009, 7:05 am

wey...so when yuh see them pcc march and pbk 120y is to pelt dem down then.....I want to do this....so what about welding the chassis number onto the firewall ting....? That does work?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 4th, 2009, 8:10 am

Metallicork wrote:wey...so when yuh see them pcc march and pbk 120y is to pelt dem down then.....I want to do this....so what about welding the chassis number onto the firewall ting....? That does work?

[THREAD]Facepalm[/THREAD]

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » November 4th, 2009, 8:48 am

Pre wrote:

only possible with vehcles that have a seperate chassis and body, such as a Jimny

true, heard of a guy down south bringing in old vans (Mazda, 710 etc) and doing this conversation, it's legal since the registered chassis is being used and the new/f used parts being swaped on to it.

As for the welding of the chassis # on to the new vehicle, that's illegal, but will work, be sure to buy a jar of Vaseline first though, cause you'll need it if you get caught :) (hence Dragist response).

Pre

Postby Pre » November 4th, 2009, 10:27 am

2 d Max Auto wrote:
Pre wrote:

true, heard of a guy down south bringing in old vans (Mazda, 710 etc) and doing this conversation, it's legal since the registered chassis is being used and the new/f used parts being swaped on to it.

As for the welding of the chassis # on to the new vehicle, that's illegal, but will work, be sure to buy a jar of Vaseline first though, cause you'll need it if you get caught :) (hence Dragist response).

agreed MG Man. i have seen ppl try to use the chassis no from the write off veh on a diff car many times and it never turn out well, the new owner usually doesn't know onl twice i have seen someone get some complimentary silver bracelets though

Postby rollingstock » November 4th, 2009, 1:12 pm

The only way to get this done legally is to write the transport commissioner asking for permission, and if granted licensing office will do the stamping over, but hardly ever granted and a waste of time unless you have a link inside otherwise they just throw away the application.

Postby AllTrac » November 4th, 2009, 1:16 pm

this cannot be done legally.

Plain talk, the only way to get this done is bribe, check south LO

Postby rollingstock » November 4th, 2009, 1:29 pm

AllTrac wrote:this cannot be done legally.

Plain talk, the only way to get this done is bribe, check south LO

Don't want to contradict you, but have had this done before, the TC has the power to do but hardly ever exercise it, normal friend, family or fcuk thing.

Postby AllTrac » November 4th, 2009, 1:35 pm

rollingstock wrote:the TC has the power to do but hardly ever exercise it, normal friend, family or fcuk thing.

who Cato?? you buy ah fused car from him or what? :lol:

Postby rollingstock » November 4th, 2009, 1:54 pm

Ah won't comment, but i did get it done though, never beg or run down nookie as much as ah run around to get this done, and me ah callin no name but you hit the nail on the head. :mrgreen:

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » November 4th, 2009, 8:37 pm

rollingstock wrote:The only way to get this done legally is to write the transport commissioner asking for permission, and if granted licensing office will do the stamping over, but hardly ever granted and a waste of time unless you have a link inside otherwise they just throw away the application.

so it can be done but this guy have to approve it....hmmmm...so who have links in the transport area of government?