TrinbagoMan

Will you strip or will they strip you?

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 26th, 2009, 12:03 am

Will you strip or will they strip you?
Aba Luke
Published: 26 Oct 2009

This view of a car with clear glass clearly displays the interior of the vehicle from outside, even at night.
Aba Luke

Save yourself the stress and coast the clean, clear look. Cruise along in your clean car, with its clean, clear glass—and rest comfortably with your dignity intact as you stroll on past the traffic offenders being ticketed, or worse—forced to strip.

The Law
The law states that no motor vehicle, the windscreen nor any other window of which is fitted with glass so tinted, treated or darkened as to obscure the view of the inside of the vehicle from the outside, shall be used upon any road.

For some time now, motorists have been bearing the embarrassment and hassle of being made to strip tints on the roadside, by traffic police or licensing officers. Whether police officers have the right to make motorists strip remains a question for the legislators. They do, however, possess the right to charge motorists. So come January 1, when the $2,000 fine for illegally tinted motor vehicles comes into effect, there’s no doubt that traffic officers will be out in full force.

Why All The Fuss?
Some may argue that the authorities are abusing their power and revoking the simple privileges of the general public. It’s also been said that since there’s no process of measuring the percentage of a vehicle’s tint, the penalty is unconstitutional. Finance Minister Karen Tesheira, in September’s budget presentation, said the drastic increases in fines for breaking road rules are expected to lessen the amount of lawlessness on the nation’s roads. The reality is, she may be right and although the law may bring with it some level of sanction for the regular Joe who simply enjoys “blinging outâ€

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 26th, 2009, 1:19 am

it never occur to the author that probably the discretion of the police is not the best means of implementing a law?

but hey they get their name in the papers. whoop de fackin da :!: :!:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 26th, 2009, 1:49 am

i rocking the clear glass style right now ... i purposely took it off....

IMHO the car looks alot better with the clear glass BUT sun does rellll sting even wid d a/c on :? :?

fras

Postby fras » October 26th, 2009, 7:26 am

So if everyone goes clean crime would drastically decline?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 26th, 2009, 7:38 am

fras wrote:So if everyone goes clean crime would drastically decline?

well our idiotic police force and arsehole ignorant government seem to think so!

i think this will simply change to the type of criminal activity that is now rampant in south america, every stoplight in the night time will now be a potential robbery as bandits can now clearly see their prey and act accordingly.

fras

Postby fras » October 26th, 2009, 7:44 am

I figure the government just wanna make some money & not really interested in the crime

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 26th, 2009, 7:47 am

Exactly fras, amazing how police seem to respond SO quickly and an authorative police firgure who show up when a peaceful Ralley is held in trinidad to protest the obvious Inefficiency of the government.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » October 26th, 2009, 7:51 am

Firewall wrote:it never occur to the author that probably the discretion of the police is not the best means of implementing a law?
Ignorance is bliss... this idiot must be 'happy like pappy'!

evo-STI-k wrote: think this will simply change to the type of criminal activity that is now rampant in south america, every stoplight in the night time will now be a potential robbery as bandits can now clearly see their prey and act accordingly.
Gov't has been formulating policies to increase crime... so far it has been working.

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » October 26th, 2009, 9:19 am

I wonder wats the cost to contest this tint ticket....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 26th, 2009, 9:28 am

We are in a tropical country, TINT IS NEEDED TO KEEP THE HEAT OUT...

How the hell would no tint reduce crime?

We use the tint to protect ourselves from being targeted by criminals....

Cant imagine having my family drive around without tint with every one looking in the car...Also when we park the tint helps conceal our stuff.....

This not tint policy is pure sheit

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » October 26th, 2009, 10:21 am

Police doh see wen bandit on foot running with a gun! dem go notice bandits in car!

Postby SUPAstarr » October 26th, 2009, 10:24 am

i will hide until they catch mih, when i get caught rip off no questions asked

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » October 26th, 2009, 10:30 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
fras wrote:So if everyone goes clean crime would drastically decline?

well our idiotic police force and arsehole ignorant government seem to think so!

i think this will simply change to the type of criminal activity that is now rampant in south america, every stoplight in the night time will now be a potential robbery as bandits can now clearly see their prey and act accordingly.

TINT TEST: when approaching the road block give the cops the finger, if they can see a small thing like your finger they should certainly be able to see the rest of you :) and certainly your tint isn't too dark :D

If they don't see your finger, then you have no argument, strip your tint :D

Postby UML » October 26th, 2009, 10:30 am

now i concerned if ah bad-mind police go strip and charge me for ah light tint :shock:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 26th, 2009, 11:31 am

thelem wrote:
Cruise along in your clean car, with its clean, clear glass—and rest comfortably with your dignity intact as you stroll on past the traffic offenders being ticketed, or worse—forced to strip.

Dont u think there are bandits doing this?? SO while the police are stripping some law abiding citizens and studying to give $2000 ticket. The bandit has his gun in his pants pocket driving cool as a whistle in his clear glass.

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » October 26th, 2009, 12:07 pm

so if we all go clear glass....who say it will stop crime?

clear glass=no body to charge for tint = no revunue for gov't :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Greypatch » October 26th, 2009, 12:18 pm

has the proposed tint law been addressed in parliment and effected into law

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 26th, 2009, 12:22 pm

nah well then they will say only bandits does roll with rims on their cars so all men hada get charge for rims :roll:

vramdhan

Postby vramdhan » October 26th, 2009, 1:57 pm

Is there any legal way 2 have your vehicle tinted dark??????? if yes wat are d steps tp get this done>?????

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 26th, 2009, 2:31 pm

pioneer, cause it hasn't..................

if they placed half of the effort into drafting a sensible law based on set standards they wouldn't have any trouble, but well, that would be expecting too much

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » October 26th, 2009, 3:33 pm

Why you guys have to make a big deal about tint?

You don't have to over do a thing and put 5% tint on your whole car...It have transparent tint that reflects the sun UV rays...

Something about breaking the law and being ignorant about it does make man feel big...waits to be bashed for talking meh mind...

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » October 26th, 2009, 3:51 pm

pioneer, I hear you hoss, the system is truly flawed but then again so is many other systems in this country. I had 35% tint and I get stripped because the A$$hole policeman just did not like me.

Now, if we as a ppl unite for the cause and willing to go all the way and not stop fighting when things get rough then and only then I can support this, but dude that eh happening anytime soon.

So i say to you, would you strip your tint or get your car impounded and wait until they feel like requesting someone to inspect your car which will be eventually stripped anyway because they have no way of scientifically checking your tint down here to see if it legal (and then do we have a specific law or is it general "if i cannot see through your car, it illegal sheit") OR strip your tint when required to do so.

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2009, 3:55 pm

vramdhan wrote:Is there any legal way 2 have your vehicle tinted dark??????? if yes wat are d steps tp get this done>?????

Yes... you must contest a seat in the general elections, and be successful

Postby buzz » October 26th, 2009, 4:10 pm

pioneer wrote:Exactly, but seeing this State does not account to the public, they do what they want.

3rd worldism FTL

we don't know what it means to have a government

we came from slavery and slavery mentality still prevails :arrow:

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » October 26th, 2009, 5:06 pm

wow... what about those visors & tint shades that one would use for children in the back seats for sun protection... will they make u remove or peel those off too?

star23

Postby star23 » October 26th, 2009, 6:00 pm

dat removing dark tint idea is de lamest attempt to curb criminal activity. These people who came up wit dat are not thinking critically, they are clearly shallow minded. You guys really think if ah man want tuh do ah kidnapping he going to do it with a car that have distinctive features such as dark tint to be point out easily. These criminals think one step ahead of most shallow minded trinis, now dat is why they get away wit so many things. Tint or no tint, they going tuh pass de popo smiling through their clear glass normal normal but jus wit ur arse in de trunk tie up like crab ( mean while de popo giving a man ah ticket for dark tint who jus wanted a lil bling look).God knows it might be de same people who think removing tint might curb crime ending up in a kidnapper trunk instead. NEXT LEGISLATION> all cars must have plexiglass trunklid.

bd319

Postby bd319 » October 26th, 2009, 6:23 pm

Go Clear?? What kinda crap is that, I work and park my car up in the sun whole day, with no tint my interior would fade out, comin home my A/C would take a real long time to cool the car, I can live with using the 35% but you guys are right some of those idiot police men would want to strip that too...............what can we do?

Postby bushwakka » October 26th, 2009, 10:53 pm

wat abt de courtesy tint for de back glasses?

larafan

Postby larafan » October 26th, 2009, 10:55 pm

wind dong glass ftw

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 27th, 2009, 1:27 am

stupid stupid article!!!!

should have made more of a point to demand legislature that stipulates percentages and scientific measurement of such.....and not be subjected to someone's whims and perspective.......I'm all supportive of cracking down on the "heavily tinted" vehicles, but leave us 20% and 35% be........