NASA set to crash on the moon -- twice

Yeo

NASA set to crash on the moon -- twice

Postby Yeo » October 8th, 2009, 10:29 am

Two U.S. spacecraft are set to crash on the moon Friday. On purpose. And we're all invited to watch.

NASA's Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite is scheduled to drop its Centaur upper-stage rocket on the lunar surface at 7:31 a.m. ET.

NASA hopes the impact will kick up enough dust to help the LCROSS probe find the presence of water in the moon's soil. Four minutes later, the LCROSS will follow through the debris plume, collecting and relaying data back to Earth before crashing into the Cabeus crater near the moon's south pole.

The LCROSS is carrying spectrometers, near-infrared cameras, a visible camera and a visible radiometer. These instruments will help NASA scientists analyze the plume of dust -- more than 250 metric tons' worth -- for water vapor.

The orbiting Hubble Space Telescope and NASA's Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter will watch, and photograph, the collisions. And hundreds of telescopes on Earth also will be focused on the two plumes.

NASA is encouraging amateur astronomers to join the watch party.

"We expect the debris plumes to be visible through midsized backyard telescopes -- 10 inches and larger," said Brian Day at NASA's Ames Research Center at Moffett Field, California. Day is an amateur astronomer who is leading education and public outreach for the LCROSS mission.

"The initial explosions will probably be hidden behind crater walls, but the plumes will rise high enough above the crater's rim to be seen from Earth," he said. The Cabeus crater lies in permanent shadow, making observations inside the crater difficult.

The impacts will not be visible to the naked eye or through binoculars. If you don't have a telescope, or you live in areas where daylight will obscure the viewing, NASA TV will broadcast the crashes live. Coverage begins at 6:15 a.m. ET Friday.

The two main components of the LCROSS mission are the shepherding spacecraft and the Centaur upper stage rocket. The spacecraft will guide the rocket to its crash site.

Data from previous space missions have revealed trace amounts of water in lunar soil. The LCROSS mission seeks a definitive answer to the question of how much water is present. NASA has said it believes water on the moon could be a valuable resource in the agency's quest to explore the solar system.

LCROSS launched with the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter aboard an Atlas V rocket from Cape Canaveral, Florida, on June 18.

http://www.cnn.com/2009/TECH/space/10/0 ... index.html

Postby Greypatch » October 8th, 2009, 10:37 am

Them fackers littering on other bodies now :evil:

200sx

Postby 200sx » October 8th, 2009, 10:52 am

nex thing when they do that the friggin moon crack in half ........dem sure they know wat they looking 4 an where..... or wat could b worst if the orbit of the moon shift a little WTF i mean things could go wrong LOL :roll:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 8th, 2009, 10:55 am

^ ah moon man could jump out and leggo a rocket back in we MC

Postby Greypatch » October 8th, 2009, 10:57 am

dem ask/consult any one before rasing more than 250 metric tons of dust.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 8th, 2009, 11:04 am

you guys are funny :lol:

I'm pretty sure they know what they are doing ;)

the explosion in now way could crack the moon LOL or send it off it's orbit.. it would take a meteor/asteroid/comet to do that..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2009, 12:21 pm

Bezman wrote:you guys are funny :lol:

I'm pretty sure they know what they are doing

I'm sure someone said that about NASA just before Challenger took off :|

I support the research though - we wont discover new things without experimentation.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » October 8th, 2009, 12:23 pm

EMA sucks again.. because the space ship have tinted windows :wink:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 8th, 2009, 12:33 pm

Bezman wrote:you guys are funny :lol:

I'm pretty sure they know what they are doing

I'm sure someone said that about NASA just before Challenger took off :|

I support the research though - we wont discover new things without experimentation.

well mechanical failure will always happen and will lead to innovation and preventative measures etc..

BUT

that said, NASA is responsible for allot of the stuff we use and rely on everyday (satellites etc).. they are not going to blow up the moon or anything

they are just trying to see, if after Theia collided with (the then) Earth and formed 'the' Earth we know now, and if the debris that formed the moon had any water on it. and if it had any signs of life..

this is all useful in helping them find life on other planets, if they had water on the moon a couple billion years ago, they can look at other moons and maybe catch them at the right moment when they have water on them, and maybe life ;)

would i think would be wild, is if they drop the bomb and get the plume they wnat to examine, but unearth some giant sand worm :twisted:

neoise

Postby neoise » October 8th, 2009, 12:42 pm

The man in the moon is not amused

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 8th, 2009, 12:42 pm

would i think would be wild, is if they drop the bomb and get the plume they wnat to examine, but unearth some giant sand worm

daz wuh we talkin 'bout :lol: :lol:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 8th, 2009, 12:57 pm

i hope none of you are allergic to Moon dust! :lol: cause yuh might ded!

Postby janfar » October 8th, 2009, 1:51 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/WoNAT8ZYbvw&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

No need fork or spoon!!!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 9th, 2009, 9:22 am

<script src="http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/.element/js/2.0/video/evp/module.js?loc=int&vid=/video/tech/2009/10/09/sot.moon.nasa.impact.nasa" type="text/javascript"></script><noscript>Embedded video from <a href="http://www.cnn.com/video">CNN Video</a></noscript>