WTH??? Anyone else get a overseas call from 243-123-0290/3

dredman1

WTH??? Anyone else get a overseas call from 243-123-0290/3

Postby dredman1 » September 27th, 2009, 11:10 am

Very early last week (Sep 16th) I got a call from 242-123-0290. Missed the call because I didn't reach the phone in time to answer it. They left no voicemail, and I never called back.

Then this morning, my wife saw a missed call on her phone from 243-123-0293 at 6.54am. No voicemail either.

She called it back, because just prior to the 1st call I got, we made an international booking for some accomodations, and thought they were calling to verify some info. There was no answer - only heard like broken music and background noises.

Trying to find where this number was from, I just typed it in google and came up with a couple forums where people from all over the world (including quite a few from T&T) reported getting calls from this number but no one ever got any answer from the caller, some recently as yesterday and today (see below).

http://www.callferret.com/243-123-0293.html
http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-243-123-0290/2

Anyone else got calls from these numbers, or can shed any more light on this? People on these forums seem to think it's a prank/scam, but no one knows for sure. :roll:

Postby r3iXmann » September 27th, 2009, 11:12 am

yep i got the call but nobody answered,i called back and there was static

was reading that it's from africa or something

carfreak

Postby carfreak » September 27th, 2009, 11:16 am

yea hoss i get ah call from dis same number last 2 digits waz different though. phone ringing and jus as i answer, dey hang up. dem call me about 8:15 last nite. d number i get is 243-123-0291

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 27th, 2009, 11:22 am

hmmm - I guess they calling hoping the recipient calls back, and then they charge you for calling the number :evil:

But the amount of people on those forums that say they get those calls and didn't call back, that can't be profitable to the caller - unless is some ridiculous rate like US$10/min or part thereof :shock:

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 27th, 2009, 11:27 am

Like some tuners gonna get a call about winning the XYZMEGA lottery just now. Don't forget the $US "processing charge" eh!!!! :D

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » September 27th, 2009, 12:05 pm

they called me also... 243-123-0294

Trini_tech

Postby Trini_tech » September 27th, 2009, 12:07 pm

yea i got the call to about 2am Wednesday morning

missy77

Postby missy77 » September 27th, 2009, 12:11 pm

yea i got that call also but missed the call didn't bother about it again...if it was important they would call back!

SubyDude

Postby SubyDude » September 27th, 2009, 12:13 pm

yup saw a missed call buh didnt take it on

Postby bluesteel29 » September 27th, 2009, 12:14 pm

:idea: ...im gonna be rich quick

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 27th, 2009, 12:21 pm

LOL doh waste time on that sheit, they call me and say "we have been trying to get in contact with you as we have a check here with your name on it"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2009, 12:23 pm

yup I saw a missed call from that number a few weeks ago. Never bothered with it.

Postby RASC » September 27th, 2009, 12:34 pm

This is a Bahamian Number.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » September 27th, 2009, 12:37 pm

got a call from +2434202513, sounded like a fax machine trying to get a tone

Postby RASC » September 27th, 2009, 12:40 pm

trinigamer wrote:got a call from +2434202513, sounded like a fax machine trying to get a tone

Kazakhstan

Postby equipped2ripp » September 27th, 2009, 12:40 pm

242 or 243 :?

242 is Bahamas

243 is Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Postby RASC » September 27th, 2009, 12:44 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:

My Mistake. Flag looked similar...With Skype installed the flags appear next to the numbers. However That IS the Kazakhstani flag I'm seeing on mine... :? Weird.

Postby Rainman » September 27th, 2009, 12:48 pm

I'm Rich Beyothchhhhhhhh!!!!!!

Postby equipped2ripp » September 27th, 2009, 1:50 pm

RASC wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:

My Mistake. Flag looked similar...With Skype installed the flags appear next to the numbers. However That IS the Kazakhstani flag I'm seeing on mine... :? Weird.

yeah it has the Kazakhstan flag :lol: :lol:

Terran

Postby Terran » September 27th, 2009, 1:50 pm

Yep, I got the call too.

cenile indian

Postby cenile indian » September 27th, 2009, 1:55 pm

me too on the 20th

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » September 27th, 2009, 2:31 pm

got it too +2431230290... this only happening on bmobile or what? anyone from tstt have anything to say about this?
Last edited by Logic42 on September 30th, 2009, 12:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » September 27th, 2009, 3:59 pm

0X ......we r here

Postby gt4tified » September 27th, 2009, 4:17 pm

Got a missed call this morning from a 243 similar #. Didn't even bother....

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » September 27th, 2009, 4:24 pm

yes i did too! wtf

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 27th, 2009, 4:36 pm

District 9 have phones now?

calleocho

Postby calleocho » September 27th, 2009, 5:37 pm

u have all been SELECTED.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » September 27th, 2009, 6:38 pm

dem modda@#$ now call an wake me up.hustle to ans the phone to hear static. :?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 27th, 2009, 6:41 pm

I got an overseas missed call from (403)764-1145 on my phone from Wednesday afternoon so I googled it and I found out that I could be billed for a collect call.

(Follow the link or click the images below)

http://www.numberinvestigator.com/403764

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » September 27th, 2009, 7:16 pm

i got a call.
they say that it was for some reservations i booked blah blah.wanna know if i intereseted.then they went own to tell me all the benefits of the trip and destinations i will going to.for this low cost.(soo i went along waiting for the catch....they went on on about all kinda stuff i can visit and i only hav to pay 996 usd. for he trip. i say okay.

then they they say they goin n mail my ticket but they need to confirm the info..
well they already had my name n stuff,then they asked for credit card nbumber..
i gave them a wrong one to ensure.then they tell me it aint working.

is then i let them know well i am in trinidad and it akes approx 3 years for me to get a passport here and also our polital leader has strong policies about giving out any info about the runnings of my country..i appreciate ur offer but i can not accept.blah blah