WTK: Passport

Evoloution

WTK: Passport

Postby Evoloution » September 3rd, 2009, 1:50 pm

OK here is the scenario:

Passport expires May 2010. Appointment is Jan 2011. Can only travel until Dec 09 since after that validity of Passport will be less than 6 months.

Now I usually go to the small islands for my company and is expected to travel to at least Bdos and Jam next year.

SO the questions are

1) Would I be able to get a temporary Passport for the duration of next year until my appointment?

2) Will I be able to get a US Visa if I have a temporary Passport?

Postby tr1ad » September 3rd, 2009, 1:51 pm

yuh passport in fact expiring dec 31 2009

neoise

Postby neoise » September 3rd, 2009, 1:52 pm

you can get an extension on the existing passport - Not sure about the Visa.

Evoloution

Postby Evoloution » September 3rd, 2009, 1:53 pm

well you could say that cause yuh passport have to be valid for 6 mths + to travel.

Evoloution

Postby Evoloution » September 3rd, 2009, 1:53 pm

How do you go about getting an extension?

Postby crazybalhead » September 3rd, 2009, 2:02 pm

Good question. My passport expires in 2014, but will effectively be invalid at the end of this year, and my appointment is June 2010.

Need to travel for work as well, surely the existing passports will work for a while? It's not my fault I had to wait more than a year for an appointment???!!!!!!

:x :x :x :x

Postby bluesteel29 » September 3rd, 2009, 2:02 pm

apply for it in d immigration orfice :|

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 3rd, 2009, 2:05 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Good question. My passport expires in 2014, but will effectively be invalid at the end of this year, and my appointment is June 2010.

Need to travel for work as well, surely the existing passports will work for a while? It's not my fault I had to wait more than a year for an appointment???!!!!!!

:x :x :x :x

Why will it be invalid at the end of 2009???

Postby bluesteel29 » September 3rd, 2009, 2:07 pm

cause ah dem electronic bizniss?

Postby crazybalhead » September 3rd, 2009, 2:08 pm

All regular, non electronic passports cannot be used after Dec 31st 2009. :|

Postby tr1ad » September 3rd, 2009, 2:11 pm

cbh..get work to supply letter to immigration stating u need it for travel purposes....worked for me :mrgreen:

Postby crazybalhead » September 3rd, 2009, 2:14 pm

I feel I going and do that self!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Muh boss now call meh and say ah need to go South America more next year.

Postby tr1ad » September 3rd, 2009, 2:16 pm

brazil by chance...i think we tryin to expand for more growth on dat side

Postby crazybalhead » September 3rd, 2009, 2:16 pm

tr1ad, yuh just walk een the passport office with yuh application and that???

egas

Postby egas » September 3rd, 2009, 2:21 pm

Some old passports valid until 2015
Wednesday, June 10th 2009

Trinidad and Tobago nationals with non-machine readable passports which were issued after November 24, 2005, can still use the travel documents until 2015, which is some six years after the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) has mandated all 183 of its member states to begin issuing the machine readable passports from April 10, 2010.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161488947

As for the 6 month thing it depends on the country you are traveling to.
For the US, in the past your passport needed to be valid for at least six months AFTER you are scheduled to leave. But that is no more for the US at least.

A bulletin issued by U.S. Customs and Border Protection:
http://www.cbp.gov/linkhandler/cgov/tra ... 162008.pdf

Postby tr1ad » September 3rd, 2009, 2:25 pm

dat self cbh

Postby crazybalhead » September 3rd, 2009, 2:27 pm

Right.

And more Peru, Equador, Colombia perhaps.

devrat

Postby devrat » September 3rd, 2009, 2:29 pm

crazybalhead wrote:tr1ad, yuh just walk een the passport office with yuh application and that???

had the same problem except my passport was full..i walked in the San Fernando office asked to see the supervisor (Ms Williams) showed the letter from my company and i got my passport (business) in 7 days..total cost $600.00.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 3rd, 2009, 2:30 pm

crazybalhead wrote:All regular, non electronic passports cannot be used after Dec 31st 2009. :|

Actually the cut off date for using non-MRPs is 2015....2010 is the deadline by which ALL countries must begin the changeover to MRPs. As it stands Trinidad and many other countries will not complete full change-over to MRPs by the end of 2009 so the 2010 date is impractical.

Referring to ICAO ...

"The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), a United Nations body,
is the international authority charged with developing global standards for
machine-readable travel documentation. The MRP complies with ICAO standards and
specifications, which incorporate security features. The ICAO has mandated
contracting States to begin issuing MRP no later than 01.04.2010.
The above provisions do not intend to preclude the issuance of non-MRP’s or
temporary travel documents of limited validity in cases of emergency.
Additionally ICAO stipulates that:
“passports issued after 24.11.2005 and which are not machine readable,
contracting States shall ensure the expiration date falls before 24.11.2015â€

Postby bluesteel29 » September 3rd, 2009, 2:31 pm

devrat wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:tr1ad, yuh just walk een the passport office with yuh application and that???

had the same problem except my passport was full..i walked in the San Fernando office asked to see the supervisor showed the letter from my company and i got my passport (business) in 7 days..total cost $600.00.

badman doh call up ppl name eh...

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 3rd, 2009, 2:37 pm

tr1ad wrote:cbh..get work to supply letter to immigration stating u need it for travel purposes....worked for me :mrgreen:

worked for me too .... got an extension on the old one for immediate travel and got the new one three month later.

devrat

Postby devrat » September 3rd, 2009, 2:43 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
devrat wrote:

had the same problem except my passport was full..i walked in the San Fernando office asked to see the supervisor showed the letter from my company and i got my passport (business) in 7 days..total cost $600.00.

badman doh call up ppl name eh...

Firstly i am not a badman..and why not, she is the person who screens applicants for expedited passport..she is doing her job and nothing illegal, by knowing who to ask for you can save a lot of bulls&*t and wasted time..i guess that is why "badman eh ha no passport"

Postby bluesteel29 » September 3rd, 2009, 2:48 pm

u sir are misinformed....badman does geh dey passport from ttpost

devrat

Postby devrat » September 3rd, 2009, 2:49 pm

I stand corrected :D

caglowe

Postby caglowe » September 3rd, 2009, 2:51 pm

It is simple let your company give you a letter stating you need to travel on company business so you need an emergency Passport and that should do it....and your company should sent a copy of the letter to the Chief Immirgration Officer. It worked for me so it might for you

Terran

Postby Terran » September 3rd, 2009, 3:35 pm

At this rate, I might as well call for an appointment early next year for my passport which expires in 2014.

Postby hydroep » September 3rd, 2009, 3:38 pm

Sometimes if a spot opens up they'll call you and move up the appointment.

Bro got though a few months ahead of schedule...totally unexpected but welcomed.

Terran

Postby Terran » September 3rd, 2009, 4:00 pm

My Dad told me about that when he made his appointment and he's expecting a call. I tell him good luck with it.

Re: WTK: Passport

Postby redmanjp » November 21st, 2012, 11:58 pm

I have my appointment next week for my first passport. I want to know does the recommender have to know me for at least 3 yrs or something?

Re: WTK: Passport

Postby pioneer » November 22nd, 2012, 12:15 am

what are you...5 years old?...your first passport?

da phoq man