Q: are atomic watches able to recieve update signal in trin?

Postby 16 cycles » August 5th, 2009, 12:00 pm

As the topic says - would an atomic watch e.g. casio watches receive the update signal (broadcast from somewhere else) in trinidad?

any owners can clarify please?

thanks

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 5th, 2009, 12:03 pm

PM pioneer- he has one of those watches!

Postby 16 cycles » August 5th, 2009, 12:05 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:PM pioneer- he has one of those watches!

no @pm

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » August 5th, 2009, 12:20 pm

short answer - no

check your manual the range is there...we outside.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » August 5th, 2009, 12:22 pm

beats me...go find out on TPS

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » August 5th, 2009, 12:26 pm

ok but really according to my manual we outside the range...i was able to do it in st croix but not here...there isnt even any signal.

Postby 16 cycles » August 5th, 2009, 12:42 pm

was researching

thanks sleepertercel

Postby De Dragon » August 5th, 2009, 1:56 pm

sleepertercel wrote:ok but really according to my manual we outside the range...i was able to do it in st croix but not here...there isnt even any signal.
What model?

egas

Postby egas » August 5th, 2009, 2:27 pm

Most watches use the WWVB Atomic Clock time signal transmitted from Colorado to synchronize, so it's hardly likely that the signal is able to reach here unless it is repeated somewhere in the region.

Now if the watch uses a GPS receiver, then yuh business fix.
Stratum 1 time iymc!

Postby 16 cycles » August 5th, 2009, 3:05 pm

excellent

will look up more..

Postby 16 cycles » August 5th, 2009, 3:58 pm

so far-

gathered signal updates via fort collins in the US with a 2000 mile radius which excludes trin.

As for the GPS watches - emphasis is on tracking rather than time keeping and battery life is poor.

still looking into it...

Oleander

Postby Oleander » August 5th, 2009, 3:58 pm

atomic watch could blow up :skurry:

egas

Postby egas » August 5th, 2009, 4:01 pm

16 cycles, what are you trying to achieve exactly?

Postby Dave » August 5th, 2009, 4:08 pm

*note to self, don't buy no fancy smancy watch*

Postby 16 cycles » August 5th, 2009, 4:09 pm

egas wrote:16 cycles, what are you trying to achieve exactly?

honestly looking at function and form in a practical nature.

i cant see someone buying a TAG / Breitling for >1500 USD with those watches loosing close to 30 seconds a month and with considerably less functionality than a casio atomic for 200/300 usd- the latter being able to keep time to within a second a month with updates.

You offered and alternative - the GPS watches, but they seem to be built for a different purpose and the cons outweigh the pros for me at least.

Some of the casio atomics look pretty good so was wondering if it was a viable option - was even wondering if an update could be possible via net.

egas

Postby egas » August 5th, 2009, 4:47 pm

You seem to be quite interested in accurate time keeping!

If you have a mobile phone that allows for the the network to provide time, that will provide you with pretty accurate time. TSTT employs a GPS receiver to a time server to provide accurate time for their network. I would expect Digicel to do the same.

Postby De Dragon » August 5th, 2009, 6:17 pm

16 cycles wrote:
egas wrote:16 cycles, what are you trying to achieve exactly?

honestly looking at function and form in a practical nature.

i cant see someone buying a TAG / Breitling for >1500 USD with those watches loosing close to 30 seconds a month and with considerably less functionality than a casio atomic for 200/300 usd- the latter being able to keep time to within a second a month with updates.

You offered and alternative - the GPS watches, but they seem to be built for a different purpose and the cons outweigh the pros for me at least.

Some of the casio atomics look pretty good so was wondering if it was a viable option - was even wondering if an update could be possible via net.

Casio GW-1500A FTW! 8-) ......................only cuz I prefer analog though :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » August 5th, 2009, 6:31 pm

egas wrote:You seem to be quite interested in accurate time keeping!

If you have a mobile phone that allows for the the network to provide time, that will provide you with pretty accurate time. TSTT employs a GPS receiver to a time server to provide accurate time for their network. I would expect Digicel to do the same.

looking at that as well

there seems to be an interface for gps enabled phones to sync with the atomic clocks used for GPS satellites.

atomic updates are one way of making sure you're on the ball - keeping on the ball should be a function of the watches' design etc

looking at watches from these aspects

muddy

Postby muddy » August 5th, 2009, 6:35 pm

i had one and it fell in the toilet.....

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » August 5th, 2009, 8:11 pm

sleepertercel wrote:ok but really according to my manual we outside the range...i was able to do it in st croix but not here...there isnt even any signal.
What model?

Casio GW 002KA

egas

Postby egas » August 5th, 2009, 8:18 pm

16 cycles wrote:looking at that as well

there seems to be an interface for gps enabled phones to sync with the atomic clocks used for GPS satellites.

atomic updates are one way of making sure you're on the ball - keeping on the ball should be a function of the watches' design etc

looking at watches from these aspects

Watch makers have tried to stay on top of their game wrt to time keeping.
Enter the watches that sync with the WWVB signal.
Can't blame Casio for lack of timing signals around the globe.

As for integrating GPS receivers into watch it kinda overkill for a watch. Sorta like buying a high-end computer gaming rig to browse the internet. Not to mention the cost of the watch would sky rocket when you include a GPS circuitry.

Same overkill for bluetooth GPS device to sync time. The difference between that GPS time and TSTT's would be 1 maybe 2 seconds.

If however you NEED that accurate time, do what you gotta do!

Postby Gladiator » August 6th, 2009, 3:16 am

Lol.... man say chose casio over swiss precision yes :shock:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » August 6th, 2009, 7:46 am

i still cant get over the fact is casio we talkin bout..

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » August 6th, 2009, 8:23 am

Dave wrote:*note to self, don't buy no fancy smancy watch*

dem sheit, half de time eh go work in Trini...

:?

Postby 16 cycles » August 6th, 2009, 10:00 am

Gladiator wrote:

Lol.... man say chose casio over swiss precision yes :shock:

why pay >1000usd for watches that are neither as precise nor as accurate?

authentic rolex watches have been known to loose 3 minutes per day.

don't buy into the hype

high end swiss watches are a different ball game though...but not talkin about those

Postby Gladiator » August 8th, 2009, 8:56 pm

high end swiss watches are a different ball game though...but not talkin about those

What brands exactly are you referring to when you say "high end swiss"

Postby De Dragon » August 9th, 2009, 1:11 am

I personally use G-Shocks for the harsh work environment. I also end up using them for formal and every other type occasion. I don't subscribe to the different watch for different occasions nah!

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 9th, 2009, 2:12 am

If you travel overseas with an atomic watch, it will continue to function as a quartz watch but will not receive radio controlled updates. Although Europe has its own atomic clocks, the transmitter frequency used in Europe differs from the one used in the United States.

Postby 16 cycles » August 9th, 2009, 8:51 am

Gladiator wrote:

What brands exactly are you referring to when you say "high end swiss"

mostly a c.o.s.c. cetrified chronometer as a start

kstt

Re: Q: are atomic watches able to recieve update signal in t

Postby kstt » June 8th, 2014, 10:56 pm

Would an atomic wall clock work in trini?

From what I read so far it doesnt look like it would.