Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » July 30th, 2009, 12:28 am

vegeboyz wrote:Thanks for the idea, but sorry to say I did that already.

My bro suggested the same thing. So I empty the water, sterilize the stone, plant, everything, full tap water in the tank, treat it, leave it to stale for about 4 weeks, had the filter running, I waited so long that I forgot about the aquarium. Then I buy 2 cheap fish (for $15) put them in, they last about a month to 5 weeks then one bepp, then the other went soon after.....

I personally think this has nothing to do with sunlight or refrigerator gases...it sounds like you getting an ammonia spike. Basically there is too much fish waste/stale food and not enough nitrifying bacteria to break it down. After you run the filter you need to either place some food (just a little) in the tank for the bacteria to take hold or you can purchase "live water" which is basically bacteria-in-a-bottle. Run that for a week and THEN add the 'cheap' fish

Mayaroman

Postby Mayaroman » July 30th, 2009, 12:40 am

Fishman... the glow zebras were patented yes.... but that didnt stop people from breeding them.... they would carry fwd the colour when bred... only 50 % would have the colour...25% would come back like original zebras... and 25% would die ted as a result of having 2 gene for the glow trait... glow zebras were simply created by injecting the fertilized egg with a gene from a glowing sea anemo (sp.)....they dont inject a live baby fry.... um not sure about mixing the clours to breed what would happen.. any one tried this?

Postby Razkal » July 30th, 2009, 7:50 am

mayaro man like he doing homework :lol: :lol:

i collect my 4ft yesterday smashmeed, we hadda go for more plants!..

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 30th, 2009, 8:02 am

Mayaroman wrote:Fishman... the glow zebras were patented yes.... but that didnt stop people from breeding them.... they would carry fwd the colour when bred... only 50 % would have the colour...25% would come back like original zebras... and 25% would die ted as a result of having 2 gene for the glow trait... glow zebras were simply created by injecting the fertilized egg with a gene from a glowing sea anemo (sp.)....they dont inject a live baby fry.... um not sure about mixing the clours to breed what would happen.. any one tried this?

gonna give this a shot^^

Postby Razkal » July 30th, 2009, 8:22 am

if yuh come good, i have some paddnas interested in buying a tri-colour concious looking zebra...red yellow and green... :lol:

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 30th, 2009, 9:30 am

Thanks for the info Mayaroman. I had heard that they made the fish sterile so that they couldent breed, but I guess they can still be bred.

Postby Razkal » July 30th, 2009, 10:44 am

^there's a guy in five rivers, arouca breeding the pink and green ones, not sure if he had orange/yellow, but he breeds them regularly with no issue (except some in-breeding issues the original creators of the variety would have probably overdone to keep the colouration uniform and heritable..), the inbreeding problem just resulted in some of the fry having bent spines...the guy i speak off is very knowledgeable and got rid of this issue at first detection by introducing more parent stock to increase the gene pool he's working with...some good sheit

can arrange a contact, but lemme check with my contact for him first.

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » July 30th, 2009, 12:28 pm

vegeboyz, I saw your other post in the ole talk forum and you mentioned that you use rainwater in your tank. That is your problem right there! I have done a few experiments with rainwater in indoor tanks and trust me it leads to disaster. Rainwater is NOT PH stable! The whitey stuff on the fish as they die is the slime coat of the fish being stripped away as the water acidifies. The bacteria takes hold and then ....dead fish! My recommendations are:

1. Avoid rainwater in indoor setups. If you must use a 3:1 ratio of tap water to rainwater. Collect the water in open air as opposed to off the roof (dissolved metals, rust etc)

2. invest in a Ph test kit (a good one is about $30-$40 TT). Fritz and Tetra are the brands that I use.

3. If you must use rainwater indoors (and I cant think of why!), choose fish that are tolerant of a wide range of PH values. Bear in mind PH is a logarithmic scale, so a ph of 5.0 is 10 times more acidic that a ph of 6.0.

Try this in conjunction with what was recommended before on tank cycling and you'll be fine. PM me if you have any questions or want more info

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 30th, 2009, 12:45 pm

Razkal wrote:^there's a guy in five rivers, arouca breeding the pink and green ones, not sure if he had orange/yellow, but he breeds them regularly with no issue (except some in-breeding issues the original creators of the variety would have probably overdone to keep the colouration uniform and heritable..), the inbreeding problem just resulted in some of the fry having bent spines...the guy i speak off is very knowledgeable and got rid of this issue at first detection by introducing more parent stock to increase the gene pool he's working with...some good sheit

can arrange a contact, but lemme check with my contact for him first.

aha! :o ...encouragement ...deffinately gonna try

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » August 4th, 2009, 6:07 pm

anybody went chai's recently or see anyting interesting up for sale?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 6th, 2009, 1:33 pm

**SPECIAL**$40**

FUTIAN Freeze-Dried Blood Worms! 100% Natural Fish Food

Guaranteed Analysis :
Crude protein : Min 53%
Crude Fat : Min 2.5%
Crude Fiber : Max 18%
Moisture : Max 5%

For all Tropical & Marine Fish

Regular price: $80. Now: $40. Limited stock. Get yours now!

Futian's Freeze Dried Bloodworms are specially cleaned and tested to remove the presence of unwanted toxins and undesirable organisms that may be found in live bloodworms.

The method of freeze drying retains the nutrients and taste of live bloodworms without the risk of contamination

Futian's Freeze Dried Bloodworms are a good substitute for live or frozen bloodworms.

They contain high levels of protein and natural pigments to help maintain your fish's health and to bring out the deep colours of your fish.

It forms an ideal food for small to medium sized tropical and marine fish.

Call: Fishy Bizniz
762-1223
755-8688

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 7th, 2009, 12:18 pm

yeah its a good deal! i was by him d odda day....thas ah good price!

havent been by chai's lately....may not go there anytime soon!

Mayaroman

Postby Mayaroman » August 8th, 2009, 2:53 am

Razkal wrote:if yuh come good, i have some paddnas interested in buying a tri-colour concious looking zebra...red yellow and green... :lol:

fo sure.... yuh plant yuh tank yet?

JM

Postby JM » August 8th, 2009, 4:31 am

JoeZwalez wrote:vegeboyz, I saw your other post in the ole talk forum and you mentioned that you use rainwater in your tank. That is your problem right there! I have done a few experiments with rainwater in indoor tanks and trust me it leads to disaster. Rainwater is NOT PH stable! The whitey stuff on the fish as they die is the slime coat of the fish being stripped away as the water acidifies. The bacteria takes hold and then ....dead fish! My recommendations are:

1. Avoid rainwater in indoor setups. If you must use a 3:1 ratio of tap water to rainwater. Collect the water in open air as opposed to off the roof (dissolved metals, rust etc)

2. invest in a Ph test kit (a good one is about $30-$40 TT). Fritz and Tetra are the brands that I use.

3. If you must use rainwater indoors (and I cant think of why!), choose fish that are tolerant of a wide range of PH values. Bear in mind PH is a logarithmic scale, so a ph of 5.0 is 10 times more acidic that a ph of 6.0.

Try this in conjunction with what was recommended before on tank cycling and you'll be fine. PM me if you have any questions or want more info

WHat allows out door setups to be stable?!

And i have lots of questions about breeding glofish...
How do u know when they laid the eggs?! are they that visible?
dot he females look pregnant before? and dont after?

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » August 8th, 2009, 8:16 am

JM wrote:WHat allows out door setups to be stable?!

I didnt write the book on this but through reading and a little experimentation, i think it has to do with the levels of dissolved CO & CO2. In an outdoor setup, there is a much larger surface area for gaseous exchange. In my outdoor setups, i use "bottom" overflows which ensures the rainwater that falls in replaces the more stagnant water at the bottom on the pond. I also add natural stone (and a little dirt mixed with activated carbon in a pot ). This is said to do two things. it removes dissolved impurities (via carbon) and adds essential trace elements/minerals (via soil and stone) essential for healthy fish and plants.

That blessing of the trace elements can be a curse. Rain water is naturally acid and the Ph is affected significantly by dissolved organics and ammonia levels. One element that affects our water is aluminium and when the Ph drops below 6, aluminium becomes water soluble and hence toxic to the fish.

I still suggest the 3:1 tap/rain mix for indoors if you must do (still cant see why!!!). Also you need to aerate that water through carbon for as much as a 2-3 weeks before u think of adding any fish! IMO its more trouble than its worth!

A little experiment u can try is to collect some rainwater in a clean plastic barrel. Cover partially and leave for a month or two. No fish, no chemicals. take a sample from the bottom of the container and just smell it. It stinks like something died in there! Add a couple feeder fish to that water with your filter etc. They may last a week!

JM

Postby JM » August 8th, 2009, 1:05 pm

JoeZwalez wrote:
JM wrote:WHat allows out door setups to be stable?!

I didnt write the book on this but through reading and a little experimentation, i think it has to do with the levels of dissolved CO & CO2. In an outdoor setup, there is a much larger surface area for gaseous exchange. In my outdoor setups, i use "bottom" overflows which ensures the rainwater that falls in replaces the more stagnant water at the bottom on the pond. I also add natural stone (and a little dirt mixed with activated carbon in a pot ). This is said to do two things. it removes dissolved impurities (via carbon) and adds essential trace elements/minerals (via soil and stone) essential for healthy fish and plants.

That blessing of the trace elements can be a curse. Rain water is naturally acid and the Ph is affected significantly by dissolved organics and ammonia levels. One element that affects our water is aluminium and when the Ph drops below 6, aluminium becomes water soluble and hence toxic to the fish.

Perhaps that is y i cant get young columbian sharks to survive in my small water feature outside? everything else is surviving, including 1 irrid. shark (tho 3 others died) the 1 irrid got pretty big, but the kois, angels, a fighter, an algae eater, a bizzillion fantails, some mollies suriviving...i never considered rain water when trying to figure out why my columbians wont last...tho i figured the conditions were harsh, i was thinking temp not pH...there arelots of plants so i have the dirt, tho i have no carbon (another thing i never factored in)!

chris600

Postby chris600 » August 10th, 2009, 11:31 am

hey guys any 1 know where in north/central/south i could get some java moss???
i try fishy biz guy said dey dont have :| a ph contact & location would be reall helpful
thxxx

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 11th, 2009, 11:14 pm

great deal here ppl...check it out...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 95#3717595

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » August 12th, 2009, 10:18 am

anybody have zoa frags for sale?
do you need special lighting to keep these?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 12th, 2009, 10:20 am

kss2801 wrote:anybody have zoa frags for sale?
do you need special lighting to keep these?

check Raj for that.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 12th, 2009, 9:28 pm

anybody know where sellin battery air pumps?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 12th, 2009, 9:55 pm

ryan99tt wrote:anybody know where sellin battery air pumps?

Yip
Chai's have.

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » August 13th, 2009, 1:30 pm

ryan99tt wrote:anybody know where sellin battery air pumps?

honeybee supermarket on el socorro road

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 13th, 2009, 3:14 pm

Anyone know who selling the Ruby Red Peacock Cichlid?
Like this one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbflHw-6 ... re=related

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 13th, 2009, 10:09 pm

rmtuner, yuh cyah get them ting down here...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 22nd, 2009, 11:57 pm

Any eastern or norther suppliers of water hyacinth, i need some asap , Some as in 8-10 plants

thanks

Zim

Postby Zim » August 23rd, 2009, 1:55 am

Fishman wrote:Hey Chris, I have successfully bred zebras. They are actually very easy to breed.
Just put a few males and females in a tank with a mesh divider or marbles on the bottom. The fish will chase each other and spawn early in the morning. The reason for the divider or marbles is so the eggs fall between the spaces and the fish cannot eat them. They will eat the eggs if given the chance. After they have bred, just remove the fish from the aquarium and wait for the eggs to hatch. Keep an eye on the eggs for fungus though.

The fish that you posted are genetically altered zebras. As far as i know they have some sort of patent on the process too and so to stop people from breeding them they make the fish sterile. Or at least so i heard.

Other companies sell dyed fish which are seen by many in the fish trade as inhumane as the fish are actually injected with dye.
Good advice her Fishman, I'd like to try this someday. How do you sex the fish tho?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » August 23rd, 2009, 3:34 pm

any Discus men here

looking to set back up a discus tank

doh say chai , dr fish or pet shops .. know what these have

looking to get stock from a Breeder

I also know Ian any others around ?

thanks

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 24th, 2009, 12:40 am

red_dragon, it hav ah fella but he bringin dem down...dey is purebred, no local stuff but dey mite be pricey though...

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 24th, 2009, 11:33 am

Zim: The males are slimmer than the females. A female that is ready to breed should have a rounded stomach.