You out on a jobsite and yuh see reel chinee

Postby X2 » July 13th, 2009, 3:49 pm

pioneer wrote:Dem chinee does do PJ?

ONLY if you know the foreman... chinese are like indentured labour here... they can't deal for themselves.

Agreed they work hard and well... many of the chinese are skilled labour... even many of the brick toting ones. Plumbers, welders, masonry, even some professionals like accountants coming to work construction.

But what yuh want ? We training our people to be lazy and good for nothing when decades ago we were seen as the hardest working islanders that would go and mash up the dance up the islands... the current generation local of workers have been trained in this mindset by the very people that propose to substitute them with chinese workers.

Good going ! GENIUS I TELL YOU !!

And to put some more spin on it... the falsehood that the 'business community' is responsible for all our financial problems continues to be preached by our leaders at townhall meetings and rallies.... so next thing you know... the influx of chinese workers will eventually be blamed on the businesses, entrepenuers and construction sector.

There is no fast track to first world status... rushing things will only make it look so... if you feel there is a faster way, I invite you to visit Dubai. It's amazing, wonderous, breathtaking even... but a first world city with no soul and full of locals still living in the dark ages.... Mind you there seems to be a proliferation of exotic cars and miles of smooth tarmac that comes with fast tracking stuff like this.

*looks around at pot holes*

xtech

Postby xtech » July 13th, 2009, 3:50 pm

X2 wrote:

ONLY if you know the foreman... chinese are like indentured labour here... they can't deal for themselves.

Agreed they work hard and well... many of the chinese are skilled labour... even many of the brick toting ones. Plumbers, welders, masonry, even some professionals like accountants coming to work construction.

But what yuh want ? We training our people to be lazy and good for nothing when decades ago we were seen as the hardest working islanders that would go and mash up the dance up the islands... the current generation local of workers have been trained in this mindset by the very people that propose to substitute them with chinese workers.

And to put some more spin on it... the falsehood that the 'business community' is responsible for all our financial problems continues to be preached by our leaders at townhall meetings and rallies.... so next thing you know... the influx of chinese workers will eventually be blamed on the businesses, entrepenuers and construction sector.

There is no fast track to first world status... rushing things will only make it look so... if you feel there is a faster way, I invite you to visit Dubai. It's amazing, wonderous, breathtaking even... but a first world city with no soul and full of locals still living in the dark ages.... Mind you there seems to be a proliferation of exotic cars and miles of smooth tarmac that comes with fast tracking stuff like this.

Go through the construction section of the Express

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » July 13th, 2009, 4:24 pm

i agree with evostik yes

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 13th, 2009, 4:44 pm

X2 wrote:

Soooooooooo yuh know a foreman or wat ?

Help me out nah ?

Postby X2 » July 13th, 2009, 5:29 pm

Yes... know plenty foreman. No... no numbers for you... I support LOCAL wherever possible ! And yes... the projects taking donkey years.... but my conscience clear.

Chinese companies typically do not follow OSHA regs... partially because local enforcement of regs are almost non existant when it comes to construction sector. A good example is seeing a recently completed project in POS where the asian workers are walking around in slippers and no harness on the steel framing. Workers doing 'no look welds', no hard hats, no vests, no steel tips, smoking on site.... all while the powers that be turn a blind eye to this farce of safety.

I'm all for 'may the best man win' but honestly... when the best man is winning because he has a 'bess wallet'.... well... I guess we will like eet so no matter what we say. Try bumping your gums about this in an open discussion amongst our leaders and the room will clear so fast you would swear you just announced you have a raging case of H1N1.

Chicken fried subsidy anyone ?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 13th, 2009, 5:55 pm

*sigh*

so much for having soft hands for the rest of my life ..

I go do it myself yes

Postby bluesteel29 » July 13th, 2009, 9:50 pm

eurogirl wrote:*sigh*

I go do it myself yes

make sure ya creamup b4 ya touch meh wit ya hard hand an dem

Postby sMASH » July 13th, 2009, 10:11 pm

i all for efficiency. get the best work for the best price,,, if any body vex, let them step up or bubble in ah corner....

Postby X2 » July 13th, 2009, 10:20 pm

^^^ Preach on bruddah...

... oh wait... we whole country getting push in the corner.

...carry on... :lol:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 13th, 2009, 11:07 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:

I go do it myself yes

:( no love at all for this indian nuh ..

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » July 13th, 2009, 11:09 pm

Well, knowing how our culture is... maybe the bringing of these external workers is what is needed to shake up local contractors... and get their stuff right!

New competition... better value.

$0.02

Postby bluesteel29 » July 13th, 2009, 11:18 pm

eurogirl wrote:
bluesteel29 wrote:

I go do it myself yes

:( no love at all for this indian nuh ..

ah injun u say??? :P
*awaits facebook add

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 13th, 2009, 11:18 pm

:| :|

ppl does delete me

or put meh on limited profile

apparently i is not a good friend :cry: :cry:

Postby bluesteel29 » July 13th, 2009, 11:23 pm

doh fret....once ya aint teefin pics it all good in da hood :lol: :lol: :lol:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 14th, 2009, 8:36 am

yeah x2 im all for local when local can match thier work ethic. yes they are almost indentured etcetc.. and wow saftey seems to be lost on them but i just liek the fact that it puts local on there toes.. when i walk ona local site and mutter with in earshot of the contractor that wow the chinee woulda never been so far out.. to see them bristle is good..

skettelbang

Postby skettelbang » July 14th, 2009, 11:51 pm

I agree,the chinese are incredible workers down to the last detail but christ they are nasty,2 of the major Shanghai sites are in my rounds.These guys have little or no respect for themselves,they spit all over the place even close to you and then give you the "what yuh go do look" and have little respect for the locals working around them.The amount of chinese that get away from a cutass by my guys.......

skyline5220

Postby skyline5220 » July 14th, 2009, 11:56 pm

Chinese are disciplined. Key difference between people from the east and west.

That and eating dog :|

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 15th, 2009, 7:42 am

they have a Great work ethic and they know how to succeed in the Proper manner, unlike our local lazy village idiots who want to get paid for a 1/4 days work and then next day go liming and drinking with the money.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 15th, 2009, 9:55 am

X2 wrote:Yes... know plenty foreman. No... no numbers for you... I support LOCAL wherever possible ! And yes... the projects taking donkey years.... but my conscience clear.

Chinese companies typically do not follow OSHA regs... partially because local enforcement of regs are almost non existant when it comes to construction sector. A good example is seeing a recently completed project in POS where the asian workers are walking around in slippers and no harness on the steel framing. Workers doing 'no look welds', no hard hats, no vests, no steel tips, smoking on site.... all while the powers that be turn a blind eye to this farce of safety.

I'm all for 'may the best man win' but honestly... when the best man is winning because he has a 'bess wallet'.... well... I guess we will like eet so no matter what we say. Try bumping your gums about this in an open discussion amongst our leaders and the room will clear so fast you would swear you just announced you have a raging case of H1N1.

Chicken fried subsidy anyone ?

True very true, I see people evaluate tenders often in the public sector , mainly on price they say other factors but its usually only on price and how many ways it can be cut , before you want to laud these workers , would they by your products , rent your buildings, buy your food or services , what do they contribute to the economy? besides a cheaper price.

While some may want them building their homes , they may be neat and cheap but quality standards are not of them and besides how much spit do i want to clean from a new house?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 15th, 2009, 11:39 am

i say we should start EXPORTING our local lazy labour- lets start an exchange labour programme with CHina, bring in more CHINEE and send out locals , hopefully dem go never return! :roll:

W2J

Postby W2J » July 15th, 2009, 12:27 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:i say we should start EXPORTING our local lazy labour- lets start an exchange labour programme with CHina, bring in more CHINEE and send out locals , hopefully dem go never return! :roll:

You and your friends had a meeting at the Association recently to discuss domination?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 15th, 2009, 12:29 pm

:twisted: muhahahahahahahahahaha :twisted:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 15th, 2009, 2:48 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:i say we should start EXPORTING our local lazy labour- lets start an exchange labour programme with CHina, bring in more CHINEE and send out locals , hopefully dem go never return! :roll:

yuh kno they go want they diaspora first

so yuh jumping in tht boat chin ? :lol: :lol:

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » July 15th, 2009, 3:01 pm

dem does do good work but dey does get real bad trement from they employer i work wit dem an c wit my own eyes.dey does get next 2 notting an dey boss who bring dem does make all d money

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 15th, 2009, 3:26 pm

well the sad thing is that they will allagree that here they are getting paid ( even if its small money) , whereas if they were home they might be dead!

Postby X2 » July 16th, 2009, 12:32 am

1) Cornfused... you have it right. Where is the money ending up... unless these people stay in TnT (which quite a few just might)... the money is gone... it's like China just generating income and *poof*... it gone.

2) EXPORTING not allowed... deal wif China is a one way ting... Hey... at least the ones that stay will swirl a little more chinese dna into we melting pot... some more chinee mixed in with some baytee.... I'm not complaining

3) Say it with... "More Chinese restaruants...". I not complaining there either.

4) Locals do NOT get it... local quality on the whole is not going up... few and far between are the worthwhile ones... and they are the ONLY ones that will really prosper IF they can get employed with the right people.

W8

Postby W8 » July 16th, 2009, 3:57 am

http://news.bn.gs/article.php?story=20080617093249706

Take it from this smallman, who is part chinee. That lot more dangerous than they appear. Their workmanship is by and large decent but the things they are willing to overlook is what will kill you in the end.

But hey dey cheaper and dey does work in hot sun so by your theory they're the best.

As much as I hate the Nation of France, Bouygues method of hiring local contractors to do most of the work under their supervision is the better method. Because our local contractors learn ALOT about safety techniques, building techniques and in theory should be able to go on doing things without the intervention of Bouygues.

And let's not even start with the issue of safety and hygiene on a ShangCG/CRR site. But doh study me I only see the pictures and went on the jobsite AFTER the beams were erected.

But considering most of your points and arguments are like chinese toys I'll stop now...

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 16th, 2009, 8:11 am

x2 said somethign intresting about local quality that begs me to question how many locals are justified in complaining about the chinee quality when the chinee doh make the dotish mistakes and play big a bad behind thier msitakes... :? while other locals can manufature top quality an get fight down all the time *** yeah i throwin thing in ppl yard here* :mrgreen:

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » July 16th, 2009, 8:56 am

they do bess work i must admit but allyuh ever notice were ever they work all d dogs and pigeon dissapear

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » July 16th, 2009, 2:40 pm

hmmmmm....

It have any Chinese straightening and painting car?