ray d saint

Victimization, from H1N1...

Postby ray d saint » June 24th, 2009, 7:58 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161495922

LONG WAIT FOR HELP

ANOTHER student attending the University of the Southern Caribbean (USC) in Maracas, St Joseph, has contracted Influenza A/H1N1 and the family says it is all the school's fault for not informing the student body about the first case in a timely manner.

In addition to that, they criticised the Ministry of Health for not implementing proper protocols and facilities to deal with people who contracted the virus because the way people were being treated left much to be desired.

The student, Danesha Matthews, tested positive for the virus on Monday, making her the second student from that school to be confirmed for the virus in less than six days. She was suffering from several of the symptoms for several days, but by lunch time yesterday evening, the 20-year-old was unable to move due to a high fever and immense body pains so her family rushed her to the Arima Health Facility.

"We took her to Arima (Health Facility), because that is where she went the first time and they said to come back if she got worse. But now she is worse and we have been waiting here for more than two hours in the hot sun because they have no wheelchair to give her and it have no parking in the back here," according to one of her relatives, who preferred to remain anonymous.

The relative, who spoke to the Express via telephone yesterday, said she had no idea why the Ministry of Health was telling people to come to the hospitals when they had no proper facilities in place to deal with the people suspected for swine flu.

"After they confirmed that she had swine flu, they did not even give her any Tamiflu. All she got was Panadol and Benadryl, and that didn't do anything to help," she said.

Chief Medical Officer Dr Anton Cumberbatch said in the past, however, that Tamiflu can only be given to patients 48 hours after they contracted the flu, otherwise it will not be of any use.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161495918

...Anger in Scarborough

CHAOS erupted at the Scarborough Regional Hospital yesterday, where patients suspected of swine flu assembled for treatment, at the former geriatric ward, on the compound.

Patients said even the bathroom facilities were unusable and they felt they were being treated as "castaways" of the society.

Some patients complained about the the long wait to be screened while others complained of the lack of facilities.

"The place is dirty. I spoke to the nurse about the place being dirty, and another nurse said she is not a cleaner, that's not her job," one irate patient said.

"There is no toilet paper for us to use, where the bathroom facility is located," a Lambeau resident added.

"My granddaughter had fever for two days now and I said let me bring her to make sure everything is ok, and up to now late afternoon we have not seen a doctor as yet," a Calder Hall resident said.

After protesting on Monday parents of pupils attending the Signal Hill Government Primary School, the school reopened yesterday but only a few students turned out to write the National Test .

Two students attending the school were tested positive for swine flu on Monday. In addition pupils attending the Signal Hill Government, Scarborough RC, Montgomery Primary, Bon Accord Government and Scarborough Methodist have also tested positive for swine flu.

Bishop's High School, where a female student was among the first persons on the island to test positive for the virus, remains closed.

Scarborough RC and Montgomery Primary all remained open yesterday.

There are 16 confirmed cases in Tobago according to the Ministry of Health. Of those cases, eight persons have recuperated from the virus and are back to regular activities.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » June 24th, 2009, 8:02 am

sigh...the swines are upon us :(

wonder how much ppl in UWI have it already??

Postby RBphoto » June 24th, 2009, 8:13 am

"The place is dirty. I spoke to the nurse about the place being dirty, and another nurse said she is not a cleaner, that's not her job," one irate patient said.

So what they want the nurse to do? Why not complain to management?

I have a need to have my balls washed constantly, but I am sure if I asked that patient, she would say that is not her job, and could not give a hoot about my golf handicap.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 24th, 2009, 8:55 am

It's not even that... it's their attitude. Even simple questions are met with either ignorance or arrogance... I don't blame the person commenting about the place being dirty...

Tobago's hospital is unfortunately more like a dog kennel in most regards... Many of the medical staff have no people skills... Not much medical skills it seems either

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » June 24th, 2009, 11:52 am

time to get my mask yes....i live on this campus :cry:

Humes

Postby Humes » June 24th, 2009, 4:53 pm

This is what happens when people fall for hype and hysteria and think the swine flu is some sort of Ebola or Bubonic Plague.

Masks are virtually useless.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 24th, 2009, 5:53 pm

Humes wrote:This is what happens when people fall for hype and hysteria and think the swine flu is some sort of Ebola or Bubonic Plague.

Masks are virtually useless.

You're so right! In a couple training/awareness sessions I did with my staff, I was amazed to see how many ppl though Pandemic meant 'plague' (mass illness/death).

And, the fact ppl are wearing masks outside in the open air, is clear that the don't understand the how the virus is transmitted/contracted.

Ironically, they take off the masks to line up to buy food, go to the movies, take public transport, travel on aircraft, hug/greet, etc.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 24th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Please do the responsible thing y'all and contact the MoH to collect the A/H1N1 Literature* I mentioned in a previous post. It's free and informative. The MoH working!

Contact Persons - Meena, Mr Mohammed or Andy
Ministry of Health
40-42 Henry Street
P.O.S.
6254289 / 6252885

* Information Leaflets, posters, and other handouts.

Building is situated on the right hand side Brown / Orange they have a huge awning with the MOH sign.

Distribute to your staff, family, schools, etc. Take a leadership roll to help educate those who don't understand.

Philosophy: During any emergency/crisis, the more educated and prepared the public, the lower the health, social and economic impact.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » June 26th, 2009, 8:07 am

:?

Postby RBphoto » June 26th, 2009, 8:20 am

Swine flu really not that bad. Just another cold passing around.

Postby Greypatch » June 26th, 2009, 8:40 am

time to get my mask yes....i live on this campus

in case u eh know them mask doh do sheit eh

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 26th, 2009, 8:58 am

i live on the campus too and everything here if fine..work and school as normal..theres no way she cuda get that from here or else there wud have been more than 2 cases...

steups.. ppl with bad grades tryin fuh get back at de school or wat?? :lol:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 26th, 2009, 11:40 am

All eh see joke yet, i c a yute walkin aroud town wearing one similar to this...

:? :? :?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » June 26th, 2009, 11:45 am

ray786 wrote:All eh see joke yet, i c a yute walkin aroud town wearing one similar to this...

:? :? :?

Looks liek dis could be worn as a jock strap