mini me AWD

*lil help with illustrator needed asap*

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 1:49 pm

hey guys,

so i need a little help with illustrator

here's the scenario:

i need to make a 'deflated tyre donut' on a yellow back ground. tyre is red.

what i did-

i drew the red 'deflated tyre' on the yellow background
then
drew a circle-just the outline of it, on the inside of the red 'deflated circle'

how do i remove the red that is on the inside of the inner circle, so that the yellow back ground is showing through?

Last edited by mini me AWD on June 14th, 2009, 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 14th, 2009, 1:59 pm

select the inner circle and and click the box next to the "stroke" in the top toolbar

and select the white box with the red line through it.

Zas

Postby Zas » June 14th, 2009, 2:01 pm

i'll guess a clipping mask, a picture would help.

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 2:21 pm

jadez wrote:select the inner circle and and click the box next to the "stroke" in the top toolbar

the lasso tool?
doesnt work

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 2:21 pm

Zas wrote:i'll guess a clipping mask, a picture would help.

clipping mask removes my red circle, not the inner one i want removed

apple

Postby apple » June 14th, 2009, 2:32 pm

mini me AWD wrote:
jadez wrote:select the inner circle and and click the box next to the "stroke" in the top toolbar

the lasso tool?
doesnt work

who say lasso?

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » June 14th, 2009, 2:37 pm

if u were working in layers u could've deleted that layer with the red outline... if u did use layers just delete...

or start over .... ??

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 2:42 pm

i dont wanna lose the red outline- i want to use it, i want to get rid of the red in the inner circle

Postby Monk BANzai » June 14th, 2009, 2:45 pm

Coreldraw X4.

(shrugs)....good luck tho....

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 14th, 2009, 2:47 pm

Since you have that lovely avatar, i will help.

1: Magic wand select inner circle (if illus doesnt have magic wand, export to photoshop copy/paste etc). You can use shift to add and alt to minus selection areas.
2: change background colour to white( you can have an all white background layer too)
3: press del on selection
4: if you exported to photoshop, import back to illus

You tune the magic wand's precision in the tool's options.

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 3:08 pm

lol, thanks wolfie

magic wand on illustrator is not doing it- so i imported to photoshop- it worked, but the image is blurred importing back to illustrator- i left it at psd format importing back to illustrator.

what did i do wrong?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 14th, 2009, 3:12 pm

That's wierd, try a copy/paste.

In photoshop Use select all -> copy
In illus paste

Hope that helps, if not check your color/dpi settings on both apps to make sure that they correspond for that image.

mini me AWD wrote:lol, thanks wolfie

magic wand on illustrator is not doing it- so i imported to photoshop- it worked, but the image is blurred importing back to illustrator- i left it at psd format importing back to illustrator.

what did i do wrong?

TK!

Postby TK! » June 14th, 2009, 3:24 pm

would filling the inner circle in yellow acheive what you want?

or do u need ONE shape only?

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 3:24 pm

thanks for you help wolfie,

i colour pickered the inside to match the outside yellow instead- not really want i wanted to do/ cause i had effects i wanted to add, but it'll have to do for now

thanks for your help-

the copy/paste- maybe my magic wand in illustrator serves no purpose lol

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 3:26 pm

TK! wrote:would filling the inner circle in yellow acheive what you want?

or do u need ONE shape only?

i did that, but not really what i was going for, but it'll have to work

was multiple shapes as well

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 14th, 2009, 3:49 pm

obeiron

Postby obeiron » June 14th, 2009, 4:15 pm

Select your red "deflated tyre" and your inner circle, go to window > Pathfinder. With both shapes still selected, click on the second "Shape Mode" button (subtract from shape area). This should delete the inner circle. After that, you can go to Object> Expand Appearance to make it into a single shape.

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 6:10 pm

obeiron wrote:Select your red "deflated tyre" and your inner circle, go to window > Pathfinder. With both shapes still selected, click on the second "Shape Mode" button (subtract from shape area). This should delete the inner circle. After that, you can go to Object> Expand Appearance to make it into a single shape.

fantastic! thank you

trvs

Postby trvs » June 14th, 2009, 6:44 pm

there you got...

you got the instructions from the master himself.. :mrgreen:

apple

Postby apple » June 14th, 2009, 8:26 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Coreldraw X4.

(shrugs)....good luck tho....

correct is right!

Postby MG Man » June 14th, 2009, 9:21 pm

Soundwave wrote:that looking like sauron chupid brother mauron, he could never get the whole "evil menacing eye" thing right...

waaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhoooooooooogadoyeeeeeeeeeee

aaaaaaaaahahahahahahahah

buh Minime, u coulda do dat in MS Paint easy easy

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 14th, 2009, 9:34 pm

Soundwave wrote:that looking like sauron chupid brother mauron, he could never get the whole "evil menacing eye" thing right...

waaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhoooooooooogadoyeeeeeeeeeee

aaaaaaaaahahahahahahahah

buh Minime, u coulda do dat in MS Paint easy easy

lol, it was sort of a water-down version of what i really wanted to do, the artwork i was trying to achieve involved series of multiple backgrounds :oops:

Postby MG Man » June 14th, 2009, 9:35 pm

my bad lol :oops: