techies computer advise

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 12:04 am

have vista home premium and it annoying me, (SP 1)

can't download music or anything on it and it frustrating me

can i download XP or Window's Ultimate and install it by myself and have it working properly?

or maybe you can recommend what i can do

i know i would probably need a key-gen or something, would i get that if i download it?

is there any certain steps i need to go through in order to do this?

please advise me

i going mad without my music!!

PM steps, precautions etc if need be

give me the best possible options for me, i am a bit weary about downloading and installing and unable to do something and then end up with a laptop un-useable

thanks!

Postby st7 » May 19th, 2009, 12:55 am

firewall enabled or someting?

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 19th, 2009, 12:56 am

Why can't you download your music? There is almost nothing XP can do that vista can't... and quite a lot the other way round.

Also the difference between premium and ultimate isn't much... unless you want to join a domain or something.

It will be easier to solve the music problem than to reinstall windows completely. Can you give some more details?

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 12:58 am

nah, any music program i download and have running disables all other internet devices.. msn.. firefox etc.. i was able to use the programs on XP, but for some reason since i tried using Vista no luck

the only way i will get it to work again is to do a system a restore

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 1:01 am

well i was using XP back home on a desktop and never had any problems with it.. any program i used worked.. yet i have no luck getting any music program to work on Vista without it disabling all other internet programs

i tried, soulseek, ares, and frostwire.. and i get the same problem with all ..

even when the program is closed off, no other internet program works, i then have to do a system restore to get back running properly..

i think all i can do is get another operating software

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 1:03 am

and all firewalls disabled as well..

when i use the music programs they only work for maybe 5mins then they stop working as well.. nothing works really once it is installed

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 1:07 am

ahh i know.. i know ppl do it.. nobody has to say anything here if they dont want..

PM's welcomed..

i not in Trinidad either, i know if i was it would be much easier to get it.. it would be done blindly

i just trying to see what can be done if it can

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 19th, 2009, 1:08 am

Hmm... I've personally used Soulseek and limewire with Vista without any problems... also bittorrent. Are they the original programs or some cracked version you're installing?

You may have to run some of them 'As Administrator' to get it to work.

Another question is what anitvirus/firewall are you using? It might be possible that the firewall is detecting the programs as a threat and blocking access. Vista's stock firewall works fine and things like Norton, Zone Alarm and Avast tend to screw things up and you end up with no internet access at all :evil: .

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 1:13 am

i download them from the sites itself.. all original programs

and i am the administrator on the computer

i have Norton and McAfee but McAfee isnt in use, it is the 30day trial thing the computer came with.. have no other Zone Alarm or Avast

Norton doesn't signal anything.. all other firewalls are off

u use Vista Home Premium as well?

this real frustrating me

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 2:32 am

mods, please don't delete if anyone post after me.. i really would like to read the other comments to thread.

if it has to be deleted, can you just lock it if its necessary?

i appreciate it..

i'm just trying to see what i can do

thanks!

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 19th, 2009, 8:02 am

^^Okay try uninstalling both McAfee and Norton... several times I've had someone bring a computer that wasn't accessing the net and that was the solution.

Norton actually provides a tool to do this, seeing as uninstalling it from the Control Panel can be messy.
ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_u ... l_Tool.exe

Turns out McAfee has one too:
http://download.mcafee.com/products/lic ... s/MCPR.exe

So run both of those and see if it works. After that, reinstall just 1 antivirus so that they won't conflict with eachother. I also strongly recommend you disable or do not install the firewall part of these applications and just leave the Vista firewall to do its job.

Keep us posted.

Postby buzz » May 19th, 2009, 8:06 am

pioneer wrote:I suggest you get legit software, downloading Microsoft OS is very illegal, even in Trinidad.

I'd ask Duane to delete this if i were you :|

and lets not hope yuh in d US :lol:

Postby buzz » May 19th, 2009, 8:08 am

mods, please don't delete if anyone post after me.. i really would like to read the other comments to thread.

just edit out the "dowloading the key gen and such part" :|

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » May 19th, 2009, 9:19 am

Postby SUPAstarr » May 19th, 2009, 9:22 am

foss wrote:i download them from the sites itself.. all original programs

and i am the administrator on the computer

i have Norton and McAfee but McAfee isnt in use, it is the 30day trial thing the computer came with.. have no other Zone Alarm or Avast

Norton doesn't signal anything.. all other firewalls are off

u use Vista Home Premium as well?

this real frustrating me

That in bold doesnt matter somtimes, some programs u still have to right click and run as administrator, like msger on my old laptop

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 19th, 2009, 9:31 am

PM me the full details of what going on and any other probs you having and I can see what I can offer ya

Postby noshownogo » May 19th, 2009, 12:04 pm

if you getting thru at home with other pc's using the same apps then it isn't the internet service provider. If you have windows firewall running i would disable that first, conflicting antivirus software could be causing the problem as well therefore you would want to remove them both and then reinstall one.

I just reread what you tried so far and its sounding like a trojan or worm causing all other bandwidth dependent apps to close off.

Install malware bites and update, then run full scan on all drives/partitions , after that make sure your virus software up to date and run that as well on all drives/partitions.

Postby Damien » May 19th, 2009, 12:07 pm

Trinituner supporting piracy now :roll: :lol:

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 3:37 pm

thanks for all your help so far...

i will pass the relevant info on soon

if it has to be deleted, can you just lock it if its necessary?

i appreciate it..

i'm just trying to see what i can do

thanks!

Postby A172 » May 19th, 2009, 3:44 pm

oh fcuk man....

is adviCe. :x :x :x

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 19th, 2009, 6:35 pm

I just posting this here than to create another thread........

Does anyone know if Peachtree accounting allows TAX Inclusive Pricing????

noobie

Postby noobie » May 19th, 2009, 6:43 pm

Whatever your problem is, and chances are you have many, it is not Vista Premium which is preventing you from running your music.

I would guess that you are not using an original version of Windows Premium and probably have one of the 'franken copies' with several system files changed.

You need to get a proper, working version of Windows Premium and Re-install the operating system.

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 7:24 pm

i have the original Vista software that came installed on the computer,

i could maybe re-install it?

and also the Norton Antivirus is something i got from a friend, which is just there and i use it to run scans now and then

the McAfee software is the original that came on the computer as well and is the one that comes as a 30day trial

if i re-install windows i would lose the Norton software and probably not get McAfee back either

so thats also a predicament i am in

noobie

Postby noobie » May 19th, 2009, 7:55 pm

That's not a predicament. Use AVG or something instead.

You need to reinstall the OS. Home Premium is more than enough for everyone to use, Ultimate is a thief head.

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 8:10 pm

can i do the installation for myself and not have problems?
or should i have some one re-install it?
and whats is AVG?

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2009, 8:21 pm

use XP, lighter, faster, less memory intensive.

I use peachtree complete 2008 and it does not appear to do invoices with
tax inclusive pricing, it does subtotal, tax, total
it also does not allow for a simple builtin discount on an invoice

noobie

Postby noobie » May 19th, 2009, 9:19 pm

foss wrote:can i do the installation for myself and not have problems?
or should i have some one re-install it?
and whats is AVG?

Is your computer a brand name like Dell or something? Did it come with Reinstallation discs?

If you are a newbie then no...you need to get someone to reinstall it.

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 9:22 pm

lol.. newbie ent..

yeah iz a dell and i have the re-installation disc..

if is just to put it and run i cud do it.. if i have to do certain things during the installation i would leave it then

noobie

Postby noobie » May 19th, 2009, 9:53 pm

You should be able to stick the Dell discs in, and just follow the on-screen instructions. However, doing it this way will most likely wipe ALL DATA from your hard disk.

It will be like getting the comptuer brand new with NONE OF YOUR DATA on it.

So...like...ALL YOUR FILES WILL BE ERASED if you choose to do that reinstall.
Did I mention that ALL YOUR FILES WILL BE ERASED?

so you should backup any data that you want to keep to an external drive. That would include Outlook .pst files, the My Documents Folder etc. etc.

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 9:57 pm

ok great i will do that.. thanks bro!

i won't have a antivirus again tho right?
maybe just the trial 30days of McAfee