How (and how often) do thieves steal well-secured cars?

Humes

How (and how often) do thieves steal well-secured cars?

Postby Humes » May 18th, 2009, 11:18 pm

The thread on Trincity Mall brought up an issue I've been wondering about for a while:

How exactly do thieves steal cars with good alarms and immobilizers?

I understand that with space and time, a thief might be able to do anything...but do thieves really get past multi-point immobilizers in mall car parks and on city streets?

And I'm not being facetious, I'm asking honestly. How does it happen, and how often does it happen?

Keep in mind that I'm talking about thieves acting on their own, without your keys, while you're away from the car.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 18th, 2009, 11:32 pm

depends on the make and model

Humes

Postby Humes » May 18th, 2009, 11:46 pm

Immobilizers and alarms are easier to work around on different types of cars?

Re: How (and how often) do thieves steal well-secured cars?

Postby Damien » May 18th, 2009, 11:49 pm

Its much easier to hijack someone and take there car

Humes

Postby Humes » May 18th, 2009, 11:55 pm

Damien wrote:Its much easier to hijack someone and take there car

That's for sure, but I was speaking about thieves acting on their own, without your keys, while you're away from the car. You have an immobilizer and a good alarm.

I understand that none of that will prevent a man from bussin yuh glass and stealing what's in the car...but what about the car itself?

enigma

Postby enigma » May 18th, 2009, 11:58 pm

maybe the same people who install ur system or people who familiar with them?

Humes

Postby Humes » May 19th, 2009, 12:00 am

How does that work?

slow323

Postby slow323 » May 19th, 2009, 12:11 am

for stealing the car dont knw how they do it, but if they steal your car and you have all the alarms and immobilizers im guessing the thieves have a knowledge of how the car works and how the alarm is installed remember all alarms no matter how good would have a bypass switch once found well your alarm is usless

for example a guy was breaking to houses in my neighbour hood, all the houses had alarms but he was bypassing them, when they caught the guy it was found out that he used to install house alarms for a living and he got hooked on cocaine hence knowing how to bypass the alarms

point is if a guy used to work in an alarm place or just studies how to disarm an alarm he could probably do it to your car
thas why ppl shouldnt jus go by anyone and get the car alarm installed
thas just my opinion

srnoth

Postby srnoth » May 19th, 2009, 1:02 am

I was interested in this too... because we're always hearing of cars getting stolen in mall carparks (one mall in particular)... but how many of these cars had decent (properly installed) alarms and immobilizers? I know a lot of people who just run with the stock lock/unlock on their car keys, or just throw in a hastily installed Viper 350 with the brain right under the steering wheel... waiting to be unplugged.

Or maybe these cars don't have alarms installed at all? I know our car got tampered with twice in trincity (left and right door locks were broken on each occasion) and the alarm had gone off... but the thieves never got in the car (did the alarm scare them?). Or maybe an old CK lancer with the deck face removed wasn't really worth it?

Postby crazybalhead » May 19th, 2009, 6:57 am

An alarm is just a small box with two fuses powering it. All you have to do is enter the vehicle, pull the negative battery pole and rip the alarm brain out, or pull the fuses. And no more immobiliser alarm.

You have to remember that an alarm is merely a deterrent and will not slow them down for long. My car was locked, armed and parked near little carib theater, in full view of my office and people walking. Rain started falling and within five minutes me me nervously looking outside to check the car, it was broken into, alarm disconnected, battery disconnected, CD player gone and dashboard ripped to shreds.

Do not let an alram give you a false sense of security and ignore your common sense.

Stealing a car is ridiculously easy.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 19th, 2009, 7:08 am

That explains it a lot better.

Postby crazybalhead » May 19th, 2009, 7:17 am

Good things to have:

Siren with backup battery, so that if they disconnect alarm, or the battery, the siren will still make noise.

A pager alarm, so you will know when someone is tampering with YOUR vehicle, and not some random alarm going off.

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » May 19th, 2009, 7:20 am

Thieves are not how they were before; they are skilled people with the relevant knowledge and technique to disarm alarms and immobilizers.

Sourcing information is very easy to come by via internet and other nifty ways, so if there is a way they will find it just to get the car.

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » May 19th, 2009, 7:21 am

crazybalhead wrote:Good things to have:

Siren with backup battery, so that if they disconnect alarm, or the battery, the siren will still make noise.

A pager alarm, so you will know when someone is tampering with YOUR vehicle, and not some random alarm going off.

good advice!

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 19th, 2009, 7:25 am

electronic key/chip ftw....thank you honda and nissan lol

enigma

Postby enigma » May 19th, 2009, 7:57 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:electronic key/chip ftw....thank you honda and nissan lol

most manufacturers doin that now. doh lose yuh key tho. it expensive to replace and reprogram

Postby Damien » May 19th, 2009, 8:08 am

Humes, you sure you not going to thief car right :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 19th, 2009, 8:11 am

^ yeah i no...i remember finding out about a spare key for my civic...lol...

even if you install a viper or aftermarket alarm, you cannot by pass the electronic key

Postby crazybalhead » May 19th, 2009, 8:13 am

Damien, Humes safe, doh worry. :lol:

Details

Postby Details » May 19th, 2009, 8:30 am

Humes wrote:The thread on Trincity Mall brought up an issue I've been wondering about for a while:

How exactly do thieves steal cars with good alarms and immobilizers?

I understand that with space and time, a thief might be able to do anything...but do thieves really get past multi-point immobilizers in mall car parks and on city streets?

And I'm not being facetious, I'm asking honestly. How does it happen, and how often does it happen?

Keep in mind that I'm talking about thieves acting on their own, without your keys, while you're away from the car.

dude if uh car well secured d bandits cant take it unless dey tow it away.... if uh putting an alarm make sure n get a good alarm n some one who knows how to install an alarm wit out forgetting to put on ne features, immobilizers are also gud n if u have all 3 alarm immob and multilock and all yuh locks gud n functional in ur car no one eh takin dat...

Postby r3iXmann » May 19th, 2009, 8:32 am

not me and that multilock business nah...i wanna know if there's an emergency,i don't have to be fumbling with lock :|

Details

Postby Details » May 19th, 2009, 8:33 am

Riley2008 wrote:Thieves are not how they were before; they are skilled people with the relevant knowledge and technique to disarm alarms and immobilizers.

Sourcing information is very easy to come by via internet and other nifty ways, so if there is a way they will find it just to get the car.

even if dey source info on how to disarm the alarm its finding it... ppl who installing these alarms in ur cars not doin a gud job at all dey not takin there time nun have certain wires exposed, not hidin the brain box for the alarm properly so i blame the gettin the alarm disarmed by bandits mainly on the person who install it...

Humes

Postby Humes » May 19th, 2009, 8:54 am

But CBH, now that I think about it, does the situation you described, with the disabled alarm/immobiliser, mean that they can steal the whole car?

That's what I was more focusing on...stealing the entire vehicle.

I doh worry too much about them breaking into my car to steal my stock audio and nothing chops (although I know it can happen). What worries me is if they decide to steal the entire car. What Details is saying sounds more like what I thought, but correct me if I'm wrong.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 19th, 2009, 8:56 am

Damien wrote:Humes, you sure you not going to thief car right :|

That self. :lol:

Details

Postby Details » May 19th, 2009, 9:01 am

eh humes once some one put in a gud alarm in ur car n dey install it properly like wise the immobilizer and u slap in ah multi lock no one aint goin wit ur car.... is only when these security features aint install properly dats when ppl would go wit ur car...

nes123

Postby nes123 » May 19th, 2009, 9:04 am

cyar go wrong wit multilock bro....wen dem bandit see dat dem eh bothering to take it

Postby crazybalhead » May 19th, 2009, 9:04 am

Details talking sheit. You cannot hide the brain box THAT good. It can be found and disabled. Remember there are multiple wires coming out of it and they HAVE to go to your ignition etc. Ask anybody who ever install music in a car how esy it is to just look at a wire and figure out where it goes and what it does.

I have heard from a lot of people that the Multilock is good. I had one in the civic and it worked. REixmann, it took no time to take it out either.

When used with an automatic, the multilock can be defeated. heard stories on tuner where people have disconnectd the shifer from below and drove off, but again DETERRENTS.

Details

Postby Details » May 19th, 2009, 9:04 am

crazybalhead wrote:Details talking sheit. You cannot hide the brain box THAT good. It can be found and disabled. Remember there are multiple wires coming out of it and they HAVE to go to your ignition etc. Ask anybody who ever install music in a car how esy it is to just look at a wire and figure out where it goes and what it does.

I have heard from a lot of people that the Multilock is good. I had one in the civic and it worked. REixmann, it took no time to take it out either.

When used with an automatic, the multilock can be defeated. heard stories on tuner where people have disconnectd the shifer from below and drove off, but again DETERRENTS.

yuh is ah kant or wah i use to do this sheit dias how i know uh puss....

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 19th, 2009, 9:06 am

reiXmann wrote:not me and that multilock business nah...i wanna know if some gyul man/husband chasing me out he house in meh jockeyshorts ,i don't have to be fumbling with lock :|

good thinking reix
reix not getting chap/stab first

Details

Postby Details » May 19th, 2009, 9:07 am

watch nah crazybalhead, when uh eh know nun shut to firetruck up nah jed steups... if u want to do a gud job u would do a good job n uh could hide the brain and as for the wires n the overide switch only the person who install the alarm and the owner would know where dat is cuz u wont put it by the kick panel by uh foot like the rest of them jackasses who install alarms