triniangie

Postby triniangie » March 16th, 2009, 9:02 am

great movie!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 16th, 2009, 9:09 am

it was a bit of an eye opener , i have seen favelas on the mainland but this was a different level danny boyle has come good again i really liked trainspotting.

Also,, capitalism yes for movies to made there must be an investment but i am not so sure what the issue is. Known sums were agreed to and monies paid , the thing is i'm sure if the parents of the child who paid small salim ect were not happy with the offer there would be at least 100-150 thousand children and famailes willing to take their place and that's the reality.

Not what was agreed upon and that the movies was supposed to give the family something that was never agreed upon . if nbc abc of whomever has a problem with this do something to alleviate the conditions of some portion of the billions of people in the world who live in similar conditions

pato

Postby pato » March 16th, 2009, 9:12 am

Very interesting movie, but a few people i know would not agree with me.

bean_head

Postby bean_head » March 16th, 2009, 9:20 am

saw it over the weekend... wanted to see what the hype was all about... it was aight

Oleander

Postby Oleander » March 16th, 2009, 10:47 am

I liked I liked..
That is love for Amitah Bachan boi..whaye :|

The storyline was great thou..

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 16th, 2009, 11:12 am

The wife and I saw it on Sunday. Great movie!!

The movie deserved all 8 Academy (Oscars) Awards.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » May 15th, 2009, 6:15 am

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/movies.reu ... wn-reuters

"Slumdog" child star's Mumbai shanty home torn down (Reuters)Source: Reuters Thu May 14, 2009, 10:22 am EDT Buzz up! Share email imdel.ici.ousdiggfacebook

MUMBAI (Reuters) - City authorities in Mumbai demolished the shanty home of a "Slumdog Millionaire" child star on Thursday, forcing his family into the streets months after the Oscar-winning film shot him to global fame.

Azharuddin Ismail, 9, played the character of Salim as a child in the film, a rags-to-riches romance about a poor Indian boy competing for love and money on a television game show.

Ismail's tarpaulin-covered home in a teeming slum was one of several shanties, illegally built along a drain, that were demolished by local authorities in Mumbai, India's financial capital and entertainment hub.

"When they came I was sleeping, they shook me awake and one policeman even threatened me," Ismail, surrounded by half-broken suitcases filled with clothes and utensils, told Reuters.

"What can I do if they have demolished my house? I will sleep out in the open."

A poster of "Slumdog Millionaire," signed by director Danny Boyle, fluttered from the only wall of Ismail's shanty still standing. Open sewers run nearby and it had no running water.

Authorities said the shanties had been demolished earlier but had sprung up again on the same spot.

"The shanties are all touching a drain that has to be cleaned before the advent of the monsoons," said U.D. Mistry, the local official in charge of the demolition drive.

Earlier this year, there was an outcry after pictures emerged of "Slumdog Millionaire's" child stars living in squalor despite the movie's box-office success and eight Academy Awards.

The film also sparked controversy for its name, deemed by some to be offensive to slum dwellers, and its treatment of the cast. Its depiction of the lives of poor Indians was dubbed "poverty porn" by sections of the media.

In February, the housing authority of Maharashtra state, of which Mumbai is the capital, said they would give Ismail and fellow child star Rubina Ali new houses. But Ismail's mother, Shameem, said the family is now at the mercy of the rains.

"We also heard that the government had promised us houses, but what happened? We are still homeless," she said. "My son has brought glory to the country, shouldn't he get some credit?"

(Writing by Tony Tharakan; Editing by Matthias Williams and Paul Tait)

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » May 15th, 2009, 7:05 am

yup just read that this morning,

shocking how things are; they did not see the need to help the child that played a big part in the movie and a "successful" one to add..

Shows the meaning of stepping on the little ppl to get ahead!

G-T

Postby G-T » May 15th, 2009, 7:54 am

o geezz! first the lead actress was almost sold to someone, now this crap! :?

serendipity

Postby serendipity » May 15th, 2009, 8:47 am

the part with the little boy and the hot oil.... his eyes....
that still haunts me

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 15th, 2009, 8:54 am

serendipity wrote:the part with the little boy and the hot oil.... his eyes....
that still haunts me

and it is true, you really do c blind children singing on every corner with their hands outstreached... it is really sad.. :cry:

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » May 15th, 2009, 9:02 am

ray786 wrote:
serendipity wrote:the part with the little boy and the hot oil.... his eyes....
that still haunts me

and it is true, you really do c blind children singing on every corner with their hands outstreached... it is really sad.. :cry:

So true....Children hit the streets just as fast they learn to walk... It's sad...when u see what's really going on there...it's beyond suffering....children runnin "outsiders" down just for sumting to eat.........but on the other hand we have it right here in Trinidad too...

apple

Postby apple » May 15th, 2009, 9:32 am

:cry: :cry: :cry:

apple

Postby apple » May 15th, 2009, 9:33 am

Oleander wrote:I liked I liked..
That is love for Amitah Bachan boi..whaye :|

The storyline was great thou..

ent! not me nah...ah doh have that kinda love in me

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » May 15th, 2009, 9:42 am

^^^^^ good to go tru $hit sometimes :sick:

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » May 15th, 2009, 11:00 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zhf2aAENyo0&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

:shock: :lol:

apple

Postby apple » May 15th, 2009, 11:35 am

dat was necessary? oh gosh man!!