Those familiar with the MVRTA - some help please...

dredman1

Those familiar with the MVRTA - some help please...

Postby dredman1 » May 6th, 2009, 2:42 pm

Anyone knows what section of (or even if) the Motor Vehicles Road & Traffic Act states a legal minimum height for tyre tread depth?
I read where something which quoted "it is illegal to have a tyre on the road if...a tread depth of at least 1.6mm throughout a continuous band..."
Is this from the MVRTA? And if so, what paragraph/section?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 6th, 2009, 2:44 pm

why the hell would you want to drive a vehicle with such low treads....

sheit like that is what police should crack down on....

Postby wagon r » May 6th, 2009, 2:51 pm

if you need someone to tell when your tyres need changin for you to drive safely and not kill other people you shouldn't be driving.

Postby joker » May 6th, 2009, 2:53 pm

hydroplane ftw :lol:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 6th, 2009, 2:59 pm

:shock: :shock:
Nah - nothing like that. I completely agree that the police should charge people driving with smooth tyres. The condition of the tyres on my car is something I don't play around with.

Just doing some research and trying to find the legal documentation stating the legal minimum tread depth and the illegality of driving with tyres below this minimum depth.

I know this should be stated somewhere, just not sure where.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 6th, 2009, 3:04 pm

^ frig legality...

the manufacturers put an indicator on the tires for a reason...and it think its something like 1/4 " or something
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on May 6th, 2009, 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby janfar » May 6th, 2009, 3:04 pm

joker wrote:hydroplane ftw :lol:

Hoosier slicks FTW. who needs tread when all yuh need is a good burnout before your traverse to work.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » May 6th, 2009, 3:10 pm

This is all I have found so far unless there was a subsequent amendment.

44. (1) All tyres of a motor vehicle or trailer shall at all times
be maintained in such condition as to be free from any defect which
might in any way cause damage to the surface of the road, or danger
to persons in or on the vehicle or to any persons using the road. A
person shall not be convicted under this regulation if he proves to
the satisfaction of the Court that he could not by reasonable
diligence have become aware of the defect.

(2) Any constable may require the driver of a motor
vehicle, any of the tyres of which appears to the constable to be
defective, to proceed to the nearest Police Station for
examination and if the driver refuses to do so the motor vehicle
may, at the expense and risk of the owner, be detained and taken
to the said station or to a place for safe keeping until such request
is complied with.

Chap 48:52 specifies a $200 fine for "use of vehicles with defective tyres" in contravention of the above section.

the manufacturers put an indicator on the tires for a reason...

Agreed - anything below this - tyre should be changed ASAP

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 6th, 2009, 3:16 pm

Thanks originalbling.
Do you have the MVRTA in softcopy, or do you know if it's available on softcopy?
I tried googling it, but the search returned only sections of it - and none pertaining to what I'm looking for.

originalbling wrote:
Chap 48:52 specifies a $200 fine for "use of vehicles with defective tyres" in contravention of the above section.

Also found this section when I googled, but still nothing with the minimum tread depth.

Postby buzz » May 6th, 2009, 3:19 pm

Any constable may require the driver of a motor
vehicle, any of the tyres of which appears to the constable

now common sense is common sense but...

i find this law ambigious

another law that is left up to the discretion of a police officer ?

a PC for god sakes :shock: :roll:

Postby cinco » May 6th, 2009, 6:21 pm

i personally believe in changing tyres BEFORE they even get to that depth marker
once i find the handling of the vehicle substantially changed in deep water out with dem tyres. safety above cost the tyres i does trow away people does keep and run for months after me but its ok i like my life