Hazel wants bigger role for leaders' spouses in Caribbean

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 25th, 2009, 6:29 am

Spouses of Caribbean Heads of Government should have their own offices with their own budgets to administer official State policy in a similar manner to that of their Latin American counterparts, Local Government Minister Hazel Manning says.

"You really are an extension of your husband and government," Manning, the wife of Prime Minister Patrick Manning, said yesterday at the Red House, Port of Spain, after the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) held a sitting to examine the operations of the National Insurance Board.

Manning said the spouses of the Latin American Heads of State/Government who attended the Fifth Summit of the Americas discussed the details of their official duties during the summit's spousal retreat at the Wild Fowl Trust, Pointe-a-Pierre, last Saturday.

"The spouses in Latin America actually do have an office, they have staff and they have funding. So that the spouses have a programme that they would run. The Caribbean spouses do not have that. Maybe because it is the English system and there was that sense that we needed to meet again to see, to put something in place for the Caribbean spouses or a role for the Caribbean spouses," said Manning, one of the few regional first ladies who holds a Cabinet post.

Asked if she was specifically calling for a greater role for the Caribbean spouses in politics or administration, Manning said, "In providing service to the people and that it is basically what it is."

She added, "We got a presentation from the spouse from El Salvador and she had a particular programme and she was able to show us by video ... what she was doing in El Salvador, comprehensive programmes, staff, funding, et cetera.

"We got a presentation from Mexico and it was the same. We got presentations from Belize and from Trinidad. We got statements from Jamaica and other Caribbean islands but we got a sense that it was not as comprehensive, not as detailed and funded as the Latin American spouses were."

Expressing her disappointment at the absence of US First Lady Michelle Obama and Canada's first lady, Laureen Harper, from the summit, especially with regard to the conversation of the role of the first ladies in Latin America, Manning said she understood why they did not make the trip, as she indicated even they cannot avoid at times having to choose family over work.

"I understand, as parents ... she has her priorities right but it would have been nice to hear and to get a sense of how the system works in Canada and America because the Canadian wife didn't come for the same reasons," Manning said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161469322

DISCUSS....

in these global and economic crisis, this is what hazel has to contribute

Postby joker » April 25th, 2009, 6:39 am

HAZEL should be selling newspapers at the side of the road :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 25th, 2009, 8:36 am

^breakfast-is

Postby r3iXmann » April 25th, 2009, 8:37 am

pioneer wrote:she should stay in the kitchen, where women belong

ent
:?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » April 25th, 2009, 9:12 am

lawd gawd :roll:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 10:40 am

how can someone so ugly still be so stupid...
usually its one or the other...if you're lucky you find someone with both brains and beauty...did she just defy nature? :?

Postby r3iXmann » April 25th, 2009, 10:50 am

worksux101 wrote:how can someone so ugly still be so stupid...
usually its one or the other...if you're lucky you find someone with both brains and beauty...did she just defy nature? :?

take care manning storm trinituner office and demand that you be fired/suspended :lol: :lol:

bunny

Postby bunny » April 25th, 2009, 11:09 am

ah woulda understand dat if it came from some blonde bimbo..but ah big hard back b@$#h like dat. she musbe didnt have she brekfases on time.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 25th, 2009, 11:18 am

bwdmc wrong wit she jed !? ... :shock: :shock: :shock:

look here 'oman - go wash ur husband dutty jockey shorts & cook some food for him & make sure d house looking clean too .... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » April 25th, 2009, 11:40 am

why she ain't shut she kyat...

i waitin for inshan to start a next protest and shutdown day, i'm sure he's gonna get a good support base (myself included) next time around.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 25th, 2009, 2:07 pm

*rofl*
now she wants to bring brekfasses to an international table

Riley2008

Postby Riley2008 » April 25th, 2009, 2:08 pm

She's just in a pissy mood since Michelle Obama blank her, and choose not to come to see her new curtains...

Again everything is for show, and this statement she made is clearly a need for some attention. Since she was put in the back burner during the summit.

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » April 25th, 2009, 2:49 pm

She should not even be there, she did not contest in elections and she there? I want to know why the DPP didn't send she and she husband tail in jail yet for breaking the law.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 25th, 2009, 3:50 pm

Unless you're qualified and/or elected, please keep your contributions to ordinary civilian levels. I doh expect an investment firm manager's wife to be controlling my funds or a doctor's husband to be operating on me...why de frig would I want a government leader's wife having a major influence on how society is run?

Spousal involvement is for simple-minded people who easily swayed by public shows of affection between leaders and their spouses. I'm glad yall get along, but that sht have zip to do with how capable you are to lead a nation, IMO.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 25th, 2009, 3:55 pm

Yuh know, I was startin to feel like I understood where she was coming from with her statement, but then I thought about it a little more and wondered what if this was made rule and Panday were PM once again? :skurred:

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 25th, 2009, 4:02 pm

yea but Panday never made his wife a minister or put her in a government post

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » April 25th, 2009, 4:02 pm

Then Oma would be Ministress of Fiance and Bas would have no idea how much money the country has.

varung

Postby varung » April 25th, 2009, 6:20 pm

i support the idea.

maybe not the person, but the idea is good, they can concentrate on social issues and programmes.

Postby equipped2ripp » April 25th, 2009, 6:37 pm

we don't need this now...

maybe if we had the money to do it, then yeah.

but right now the gov't needs to focus on more important issues... and this is certainly not one of them.

varung

Postby varung » April 25th, 2009, 6:44 pm

^^ agreed

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 25th, 2009, 6:50 pm

Missing the point FTMFW.

She doesn't want, or need this for herself. She's trying to adopt the principle for other Caribbean countries. She's already a minister, why would she want a meagre position like what the article is about?

All it would mean is that come next elections, voters would have another factor to consider about who they vote into power. They'd need to consider whether the wife of the next potential leader is someone who's remembered for a grammatical error or if they're simple arm candy, or used to be the housekeeper

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 25th, 2009, 6:58 pm

^nothin comes to mind

What ah miss?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 25th, 2009, 7:27 pm

I eh gettin in dat. Nex ting UML, Buzz, ar&D, evo-sti-k, and the ress of the clan start back on my case :|

bunny

Postby bunny » April 25th, 2009, 9:31 pm

daz awrite....we like it so. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 25th, 2009, 11:49 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Missing the point FTMFW.

She doesn't want, or need this for herself. She's trying to adopt the principle for other Caribbean countries. She's already a minister, why would she want a meagre position like what the article is about?

All it would mean is that come next elections, voters would have another factor to consider about who they vote into power. They'd need to consider whether the wife of the next potential leader is someone who's remembered for a grammatical error or if they're simple arm candy, or used to be the housekeeper

Good point.

Then it should also be noted that some people know their place & don't force themselves onto the political forum.
And some people use their spouse's power to place themselves in unearned positions of leadership.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 26th, 2009, 1:25 am

pioneer wrote:ent dey say Oma used to dance on table in some bar before she meet Bas :|

no boy..she use to dance in the temple....

btw what has hazel done as a minister???

education standards have dropped drastically while she was minister of education....

local government in a mess.....pdrc and ptrc are under staffed because funds dont reach them....

oh well pnm till we dead even though we cant even buy food..but den again some people defend them because its their source of income

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 26th, 2009, 3:04 am

^^lmao I'm not defending anyone. I simply proposed another view to what you put forward.

How come education's in a mess? Even with GATE and numerous other programs?

Not everyone has parents to put everything in their lap :idea:

Postby joker » April 26th, 2009, 6:15 am

^^ well if not that ... local gov't ministry not doing their job

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 26th, 2009, 1:14 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:^^lmao I'm not defending anyone. I simply proposed another view to what you put forward.

How come education's in a mess? Even with GATE and numerous other programs?

Not everyone has parents to put everything in their lap :idea:

and how many people who are actually attending university are performing well?? because its free people play the ass...With the doing away of A Levels and introduction of CAPE....

putting free education in place doesnt necessarily mean that education has moved forward..the government OWE the citizens that...the natural resources that THEY give away belongs to the citizens...Manning forget is WE put him there to represent us and the finances he's playing with isnt his..its the population....

Since you brought Oma into your argument, let me ask you this......what's your view on puttin hazel has a minister..with no past political experience and not goin up as an MP....

Postby Greypatch » April 26th, 2009, 1:47 pm

how can someone so ugly still be so stupid...