Anyone visited Australia.....?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 21st, 2009, 11:48 am

Has any member here been to Australia in recent times?
If so what procedure did you go through in order to obtain your Australian visa?

There is no embassy here where one can make an application and there is no on-line application for Trinidad. The information I received is that one has to mail one's passport to their office in Canada where the visa will be issued.

I'm not entirely comfortable with that but if anyone has experience along the lines of my query I would be appreciative of any positive advice.

Much thanks 8-)

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 21st, 2009, 11:53 am

keep me posted... i want to go as well.within the next 2 years

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 21st, 2009, 12:22 pm

Postby janfar » March 21st, 2009, 12:34 pm

I believe as a member of the commonwealth we do not need to obtain a visa for tourist purposes. I could be wrong though.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 21st, 2009, 12:38 pm

aussie is part of commonwealth? :shock:

Postby equipped2ripp » March 21st, 2009, 12:40 pm

PM sr20ve

Postby janfar » March 21st, 2009, 12:46 pm

As a matter of fact, the PM of Aussie is only answerable to the Queen of England. Hence the reason for the small british flag emblem on there flag.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 21st, 2009, 12:49 pm

janfar,

equipped2ripp, meant private message..

Yuh want him send a message to the queen of england??/
Dais wha yuh say dey??

Postby janfar » March 21st, 2009, 12:51 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper,

I was actually refering to the comment you made...

:wink:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 21st, 2009, 12:57 pm

ohh...ok sry guy.

infared

Postby infared » March 21st, 2009, 3:02 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~,pm sr20ve

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 21st, 2009, 3:08 pm

infared wrote:~˜VëgŲ˜~,pm sr20ve

REPOST !!!!!! Look up :roll:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 21st, 2009, 3:09 pm

Australian High Commission
Herbert St., St. Clair, POS

628-0695

www.trinidadandtobago.embassy.gov.au
http://www.trinidadandtobago.embassy.go ... ation.html

infared

Postby infared » March 21st, 2009, 3:10 pm

Dragist,hard luck :lol: :oops:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 21st, 2009, 3:13 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:Australian High Commission
Herbert St., St. Clair, POS

628-0695

www.trinidadandtobago.embassy.gov.au
http://www.trinidadandtobago.embassy.go ... ation.html

Another one REPOST !!!!!!!!!! Look up read the link that I posted.

No Probs infared :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 21st, 2009, 6:01 pm

ok thanks for all the info.........Previously I had called the local aus office and they directed me to do the on-line thing.....didn't get through since it still holds that T&T nationals are unable to apply for e-visa (ETA)..........hence they informed me of the mailing of passport to Canadian office.....

gonna have to PM the member sr20VE.......

RMSTTL

Postby RMSTTL » March 21st, 2009, 6:21 pm

visa's are obtainable from the australian embassy in canada. the high comission here is not a working office just a front. do a searce for the embassy in canada and the site will give you all the info required including the forms you have to fill out and is about 7 pages. then you wil have to fedex the passport and forms to them and they will process. you also have to send a prepaid fedex pouch for them to return the passport to you. a telephone interview may be needed but most times you will need to call to confirm that they have received the passport and how the process is going. it takes about 4-6 weeks. hope this helps. i have done it before with no problems. be aware the aussies are very very peculiar on who they let in their country and reject ppl for no good reason. also check that if u are going u dont even take so much as a salt prune or they will fine u. no food stuff in any form at all. and they are very strict about it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 21st, 2009, 6:37 pm

^^^good stuff man.........MUCH THANKS!!!!!!!!

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » March 21st, 2009, 9:20 pm

Download the VISA FORM fill it out and post it with you passport to the Australian Embassy in Canada for them to issue the VISA

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 21st, 2009, 9:36 pm

tfm34 wrote:visa's are obtainable from the australian embassy in canada. the high comission here is not a working office just a front. do a searce for the embassy in canada and the site will give you all the info required including the forms you have to fill out and is about 7 pages. then you wil have to fedex the passport and forms to them and they will process. you also have to send a prepaid fedex pouch for them to return the passport to you. a telephone interview may be needed but most times you will need to call to confirm that they have received the passport and how the process is going. it takes about 4-6 weeks. hope this helps. i have done it before with no problems. be aware the aussies are very very peculiar on who they let in their country and reject ppl for no good reason. also check that if u are going u dont even take so much as a salt prune or they will fine u. no food stuff in any form at all. and they are very strict about it.

**cosign.. that's the process I went through.. and I live there now :wink:

All forms and instructions can be found here

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2009, 10:59 pm

australia is the place for food
quality beef is actually cheaper than chicken and eaten more often
same with seafood

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 21st, 2009, 11:36 pm

^^Like you never saw Aussie women or wha??

Postby wagonrunner » March 22nd, 2009, 12:03 am

tfm34 wrote:visa's are obtainable from the australian embassy in canada. the high comission here is not a working office just a front. do a searce for the embassy in canada and the site will give you all the info required including the forms you have to fill out and is about 7 pages. then you wil have to fedex the passport and forms to them and they will process. you also have to send a prepaid fedex pouch for them to return the passport to you. a telephone interview may be needed but most times you will need to call to confirm that they have received the passport and how the process is going. it takes about 4-6 weeks. hope this helps. i have done it before with no problems. be aware the aussies are very very peculiar on who they let in their country and reject ppl for no good reason. also check that if u are going u dont even take so much as a salt prune or they will fine u. no food stuff in any form at all. and they are very strict about it.

hmmmmm, for a place that was used for many colonial <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penal_colony">penal colonies</a> eh

caliw

Postby caliw » March 22nd, 2009, 12:23 am

i haven't been but would like to go one time.

i doubt a "pommie" like me would go down well over there though. ah just hope we lick dey tail in the summer though...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 22nd, 2009, 1:24 am

I dreading to know how much this trip is gonna cost me........

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 22nd, 2009, 4:21 am

Actually prices are quite good now.. driven down by the economy. Return tickets should be around $1200 usd..

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 22nd, 2009, 4:24 am

tfm34 wrote:be aware the aussies are very very peculiar on who they let in their country and reject ppl for no good reason.

BS. They let anyone in to visit, and work/migrant visas are easily provided you pass the (somewhat stringent) health tests. They are careful that potential residents don't put extra strain on the health system.

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2009, 5:34 am

plenty blonde and tall

BulletProof wrote:^^Like you never saw Aussie women or wha??

Postby Greypatch » March 22nd, 2009, 6:45 am

bproof why u migrate hoss..of is just a temporary work thing like meh padner who spent 3 years there

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 22nd, 2009, 6:55 am

Borse... The opportunity came up and we wanted to see this side of the world, but I dunno if we staying here for good.. I have the option, and I have until November to choose to be permanent here. Wifey and I loving the life.. but distance from home is a big factor that comes up every now and then.

The Evo was declared in Trinidad before leaving though... so it will not be difficult to bring her back ;) Will miss the E85 though :(