constellations that can be viewed from Trinidad

Mini

constellations that can be viewed from Trinidad

Postby Mini » October 1st, 2006, 8:23 pm

... and with the naked eye...

any websites give when and what part of the sky to look at?

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » October 1st, 2006, 11:54 pm

I go see if I can find d info for you.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » October 1st, 2006, 11:57 pm

the sky was so pretty here last nite, me saw Orion's belt :)

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » October 2nd, 2006, 12:00 am

If u can find these books by Dr Maura Imbert u'll be good to go, Trinidadian Skies, Tropical Skies and Caribbean Skies. Maybe in the UWI book store you may find them. if u are also interested the Trinidad and Tobago Astronomical Society has meetings once a month in UWI, can't remember the dates though. Once the night is clear, before meetings u get to go up on the roof and use the telescope they have there

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 2nd, 2006, 12:05 am

go to manzan beach at nyt....u can see alot of const. but its liek a movie u have to wait and look .....at 7pm some will be seen...at 9 a differnt set..at 12 another... most popular and easiest is orion and his bear the big an small dipper....

jsut get a good star map sit with it..and u can decipher alot.....

Mini

Postby Mini » October 2nd, 2006, 6:50 am

pioneer wrote:what's a constellation :|

[google]constellation[/google]

Postby gt4tified » October 2nd, 2006, 7:56 am

Mini, like yuh just went an buy a radioshak telescope or wha? :lol:

psykomorf

star maps

Postby psykomorf » October 2nd, 2006, 9:02 am

You can check http://www.wunderground.com/sky/ShowSky.asp?TheLat=10.61999989&TheLon=-61.34999847&TimeZoneName=America/Port_of_Spain

You can select the date, time and quadrant of the sky (E,W,N,S) and see what constellations, stars, planets etc would be visible from our location.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 2nd, 2006, 9:05 am

pioneer wrote:what's a constellation :|

On saturday nights on tv6 the national lotteries control board calls a bunch of no's and if u have the ticket with those no's u win.

If not you may win a constellation prize

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2006, 10:43 am

easiest ones to see locally are Orion, Leo, Scorpio and Ursa Major
Mini if u want, I can dig up an old book that shows u how to make a basic star map based on local latitude.......it has two maps,one for each hemisphere, and u make a holder that u rotate to match the month
U will have to scan the charts and cut them out

Mini

Postby Mini » October 2nd, 2006, 11:13 am

MG Man wrote:easiest ones to see locally are Orion, Leo, Scorpio and Ursa Major
Mini if u want, I can dig up an old book that shows u how to make a basic star map based on local latitude.......it has two maps,one for each hemisphere, and u make a holder that u rotate to match the month
U will have to scan the charts and cut them out

sounds good... i've always been inetrigued by astronomy.. but never have the time...

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » October 2nd, 2006, 11:16 am

Mini check out those books I posted up. Dr Imbert is one of the best people to get that info from

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2006, 11:26 am

^^^once I hook him up wid de prints, he cud make a chart and he good to go

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » October 2nd, 2006, 3:52 pm

i feel he lookin to take sumone on a date and say
"look its orion's belt unbuckling, the stars are telling me something"

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » March 1st, 2009, 3:23 pm

NickJr. wrote:If u can find these books by Dr Maura Imbert u'll be good to go, Trinidadian Skies, Tropical Skies and Caribbean Skies. Maybe in the UWI book store you may find them. if u are also interested the Trinidad and Tobago Astronomical Society has meetings once a month in UWI, can't remember the dates though. Once the night is clear, before meetings u get to go up on the roof and use the telescope they have there

Trinidad & Tobago Astronomical Society (TTAS)
http://www.tt-astrosociety.com/

Caribbean Institute of Astronomy (CARINA)
http://www.caribbeanastronomy.com/

You can check out those two sites for more info about astronomy in Trinidad & Tobago. TTAS has monthly meetings in the Dudly Huggins Building at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine. Meeting times for 2009 are at 6.30pm every last Saturday of the month (eg Saturday 28th March 2009). Seeing this year is the International Year of Astronomy, there are very structured lectures about astronomy for those who know nothing and those of you who are well versed.

Check it out.

Postby Cjruckus » March 1st, 2009, 3:24 pm

de phoq is up with the Ads?

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 1st, 2009, 4:05 pm

I repeat dotn go to manzan beach at nyt..u will get robbed less u armed...they only have cutlasses... lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 1st, 2009, 4:19 pm

Venus is huge in the evening sky to the SW but it sets by the time it gets completely dark
it was very very close to the new moon two nights ago

even with a weak telescope you can see the planet

this image is flipped

Postby M_2NR » March 1st, 2009, 4:24 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, do you have a higher resolution shot of that image?

mumz want it :oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 1st, 2009, 5:15 pm

^ nope sorry - she could have seen it live on Friday evening for a few hours after 5:30pm

Postby M_2NR » March 1st, 2009, 5:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ nope sorry - she could have seen it live on Friday evening for a few hours after 5:30pm

ah know... she called me to take a pic.. but a shiddy diggy cam wouldnt have taken that out nicely

thanks anyways 8-)