Postby tr1ad » February 3rd, 2009, 6:07 pm

was a sh!t movie

noobie

Postby noobie » February 3rd, 2009, 6:25 pm

Sad that the mf'ing Producers, Directors et al left the children actors in the f'king slums to continue suffering in poverty and squalor.

f'k them and their movie.

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/Int ... 201&page=1

Slum Life Continues for Two 'Slumdog Millionaire' Stars
Filmmakers Say Kids Were Paid Well but Parents Complain They Haven't Reaped Any Benefits From Movie's Success

Yeah, the kids were paid well.
Because normally they would get 10c to act...and the film paid them a dollar.
So they were paid well.

m'fkers.

Rich people making money depicting people's poverty and suffering.
You have to love f'king ethics free capitalism.

Postby Maserati » February 3rd, 2009, 6:31 pm

I am sure there was a contract drawn up and a sum of $ agreed upon..

I think it is a case of greediness.
parents see how much $ and good reviews the film is getting they want a bigger piece of the pie now.

noobie

Postby noobie » February 3rd, 2009, 6:34 pm

Maserati wrote:lol
I am sure there was a contract drawn up and a sum of $ agreed upon..

I think it is a case of greediness.
parents see how much $ and good reviews the film is getting they want a bigger piece of the pie now.

Oh give me a f'king break.

You think the children working in the sweatshops have a sum agreed upon too I take it? Therefore it's all a-ok?

Shannon

Postby Shannon » February 3rd, 2009, 6:47 pm

Movie was sheit....dont see whats all the hype about

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 3rd, 2009, 6:59 pm

If anyone enjoyed the film please also watch:

The Namesake & City of God

Postby Rooki3 » February 3rd, 2009, 7:05 pm

Jus now done watch it(about 5 mins ago) it was ok

I find he was real whipped over the gyul tho.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 3rd, 2009, 7:20 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:If anyone enjoyed the film please also watch:

The Namesake & City of God

Namesake was ok, but honestly, that was one of those movies that cannot touch the book at all..

Postby M_2NR » February 3rd, 2009, 9:13 pm

Rooki3, too whipped...

TBH it was like a full english bollywood movie

sensiman

Postby sensiman » February 4th, 2009, 2:20 am

Very good movie

soundboy101

Postby soundboy101 » February 4th, 2009, 7:32 am

apart from just cds, anyone know whereles have this

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 4th, 2009, 8:06 am

All said and done,it was an english version of a bollywood movie.
It was good but not as good as critics making it out to be.
I still say A Cajun Story was better than this movie by a country mile but because it was a low budget film it will never get the recognition it deserves.
Anyone here seen A Cajun Story?

kingabdullah

Postby kingabdullah » February 4th, 2009, 9:54 am

AMITABH BACHANNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!

apple

Postby apple » February 10th, 2009, 11:39 pm

got and kept my attention till the end...the rags to riches stories will always appeal to people yes

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 15th, 2009, 11:37 am

teems1 wrote:agree

movie was spectacular

especially the music score

My favorite soundtrack from the movie:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_zPi6w1TWBg&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

How I miss India. :(

aR&D

Postby aR&D » March 15th, 2009, 11:56 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cwdnwsg-Ow0&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby Damien » March 15th, 2009, 12:19 pm

Very good story :!:

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2009, 12:26 pm

somehow I found there were some similarities with forrest gump

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » March 15th, 2009, 2:37 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

movie was spectacular

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_zPi6w1TWBg&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

this vid is confusing

I'm thinking I missed a part of the movie lol

vin123

Postby vin123 » March 15th, 2009, 2:48 pm

amitaaaaaaaaa bachan....!!!!! lol
I was wondering wow first indian movie without dancing and then i saw the ending :D
it was a nice movie

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » March 15th, 2009, 4:01 pm

Was a good movie, the hot oil part was bone chilling though.... but i still find the brother should not have died.... but say what....

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 15th, 2009, 5:55 pm

eurogirl wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

movie was spectacular

this vid is confusing

I'm thinking I missed a part of the movie lol

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/BWGzmczXrFY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="295"></embed>

SR20VE-T

Postby SR20VE-T » March 15th, 2009, 5:57 pm

I was amazed at the lengths the youth went tru to see Amitabh :shock: :shock: :shock:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 15th, 2009, 6:00 pm

ray786 wrote:Was a good movie, the hot oil part was bone chilling though.... but i still find the brother should not have died.... but say what....

That and the part where he jumped into the outhouse hole to get his autograph.

The blinding is real though. They even use little children/babies to gain the sympathy of tourists. They are everywhere in India and they literally gang up on you. I had to run into a nearby bank to get away once. Literally, run.

That's one aspect of my trip I want to forget. :?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 15th, 2009, 11:51 pm

Latika.................

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » March 16th, 2009, 8:20 am

eurogirl wrote:anybody knows who selling it , coz I doh think movietown go show it ..

and I wanna see it ever since I read the review last yr :|

:roll: :roll: :roll:

http://movietowne.com/nowshowing.shtml

Slumdog Millionaire

The story of Jamal Malik, an 18 year-old orphan from the slums of Mumbai, who is about to experience the biggest day of his life. With the whole nation watching, he is just one question away from winning a staggering 20 million rupees on India's "Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?" But when the show breaks for the night, police arrest him on suspicion of cheating; how could a street kid know so much?

Genre: Drama/Romance
Release Date: 2009-03-11
Run Time:
Rating: All Ages PGA
Starring: Dev Patel, Anil Kapoor,Freida Pinto

Director: Danny Boyle, Loveleen Tandan

Show Times Wed. 11th - Mon. 16th March:
2:30pm, 5:15pm, 8:00pm
Early Shows Sat & Sun:
11:45am
Late Shows Fri & Sun:
10:45pm

urabus

Postby urabus » March 16th, 2009, 8:36 am

SR20VE-T wrote:I was amazed at the lengths the youth went tru to see Amitabh :shock: :shock: :shock:

yup we were talking about that movie coming up in the traffic this morning, and someone said the best part was when the guy looked at the pic and the latrine and decided to make a dive into the latrine just to see his hero....lol

haven't seen it yet thou

triniangie

Postby triniangie » March 16th, 2009, 9:02 am

great movie!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 16th, 2009, 9:09 am

it was a bit of an eye opener , i have seen favelas on the mainland but this was a different level danny boyle has come good again i really liked trainspotting.

Also,, capitalism yes for movies to made there must be an investment but i am not so sure what the issue is. Known sums were agreed to and monies paid , the thing is i'm sure if the parents of the child who paid small salim ect were not happy with the offer there would be at least 100-150 thousand children and famailes willing to take their place and that's the reality.

Not what was agreed upon and that the movies was supposed to give the family something that was never agreed upon . if nbc abc of whomever has a problem with this do something to alleviate the conditions of some portion of the billions of people in the world who live in similar conditions

pato

Postby pato » March 16th, 2009, 9:12 am

Very interesting movie, but a few people i know would not agree with me.