Gates being installed in Pt. Lisas

Postby pete » January 28th, 2009, 12:33 pm

This morning I saw a gate being installed to the north of the estate, past Powergen heading north, and just now saw another one being installed on one of the roads from Pacific avenue to the SMR.

Anyone know what this is being done for and what the traffic arrangements of the future will be?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2009, 12:48 pm

^it was speculation a lil while now..thats why the passport system was being introduced

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 28th, 2009, 12:49 pm

^^ If that is so, you would have to show your "Passport" to enter there

Postby AllTrac » January 28th, 2009, 12:50 pm

Mr. Cheese wrote:^^ If that is so, you would have to show your "Passport" to enter there

yes.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2009, 12:52 pm

^ im talkin about the dotish orange thing with ure picture on it etc..mostly contractors had to sit in the safety course for it...

when i was with IPSL i was asked my plant manager about it..and he said that there was a plan to lock off the estate from the public so contractors had to acquire the passport for entry into the estate...most company men would use their company id when it is implemented...

IPSL....PCS and one or two other companies already started the use of this system before visitors can enter their compound

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 28th, 2009, 12:56 pm

[quote="Aaron 2NRwhen i was with IPSL[/quote]

Where yuh based now ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2009, 12:59 pm

^^^Pt.fortin....smelter....

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 28th, 2009, 1:08 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:^^^Pt.fortin....smelter....

seen...
I saw the van heading down that side a couple times...
Next 2 weeks things supposed to be in full swing down that side...

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2009, 1:13 pm

^^ yea boy...tings nice on this side...no setta traffic really..just on the creek buh small ting...woodland ftw...

but not to stray..the gating of the estate would have some ups and downs but at the end of the day there would be more positive than negative coming outta it

Postby pete » January 28th, 2009, 1:21 pm

Traffic will be a nightmare..

Postby AllTrac » January 28th, 2009, 1:22 pm

nice nice, now i know where to find aaron, hadda leggo some slap on he mc.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 28th, 2009, 1:24 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:^^ yea boy...tings nice on this side...no setta traffic really..just on the creek buh small ting...woodland ftw...

but not to stray..the gating of the estate would have some ups and downs but at the end of the day there would be more positive than negative coming outta it

This would be keeping with the ISPS (International Ship and Port Security) code...

I guess all these "systematic" developments as well as others "in the pipeline" would be introduced before the Summits.

Kudos to Patos for showcasing Trinidad to the world as a systematic and deleloping country :?

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » January 28th, 2009, 1:50 pm

good ting i have meh passport

This however can as well be a potiential nightmare

We looking at unwanted persons getting in but what about getting out in the event of a plant going down

urabus

Postby urabus » January 28th, 2009, 1:59 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Mr. Cheese wrote:^^ If that is so, you would have to show your "Passport" to enter there

yes.

r u referring to the machine readable passports only?

Postby tr1ad » January 28th, 2009, 2:00 pm

sh!t now i hadda go sidown an get one ah those

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2009, 2:00 pm

^^ it would be the same as it is now....

bottle necking.....a couple months when point lisas flooded out...i took more than 3 hrs to exit the estate...there was stand still traffic in flood....

im sure the public isnt even aware of the Ammonium nitrate plant that is being constructed in the estate and the devastation that it can do....i sat in a conference with the vendors and just thought WTF!!!

take a look at this

http://www.exponent.com/process_plant_explosion/

Postby pete » January 28th, 2009, 2:02 pm

The gates look like they'll only restrict vehicular traffic. Unwanted persons would still be able to get in and out.

IMHO it'll just be to give an appearance of security while being a major PITA.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » January 28th, 2009, 2:09 pm

This could probably be a good initiative by Plipdeco but when they decide to have a Security Check and a line of Paramount Trucks coming down .. I could very well see some Traffic piling up ... well I guess it all depends on where the gates will be situated !

Postby tr1ad » January 28th, 2009, 2:12 pm

dem special effect straight outa batman from d 70's

Postby wagonrunner » January 28th, 2009, 2:17 pm

pete wrote:The gates look like they'll only restrict vehicular traffic. Unwanted persons would still be able to get in and out.

IMHO it'll just be to give an appearance of security while being a major PITA.

will access to say FCB for example be affected?
not all A/C holders, etc, would have one of these passports.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2009, 2:18 pm

^ the only way i can see there being gated is on the junction infront of M5...

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 28th, 2009, 2:58 pm

we have been trying to get the passports for MONTHS now! plipdeco keeps sending us to some guy in Yara that is NEVER THERE!!!!!

anybody have a link to get these passports?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 28th, 2009, 3:10 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:we have been trying to get the passports for MONTHS now! plipdeco keeps sending us to some guy in Yara that is NEVER THERE!!!!!

anybody have a link to get these passports?

Petrofac Training at Atlantic Plaza sees about the Passports on behalf of Plipdeco...
Not sure if they still have the contract...

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 28th, 2009, 3:23 pm

Thanks, I will check them out

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 28th, 2009, 3:27 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Thanks, I will check them out

No probs...
I lost the # for them, If you go there ask for Michelle Rampersad.

Postby bushwakka » January 28th, 2009, 7:55 pm

de traffic is already bad....how they plan to do this? my god.....it will really be a nightmare....

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » January 29th, 2009, 10:49 am

the traffic already bad as it is and personally anything that plipdeco does to facilitate security just ends up causing more traffic or problems...when my pass for my van expired it took me nearly a hour to get another...

Deviboy

Postby Deviboy » January 29th, 2009, 10:25 pm

i work in Pt Lisas, i see that gate is gonna cause TRAFFIC.

The passport they are talking about is the Plea Passport, but that is only for workers that are working in plants.....

If you notice there are no guard booths being erected at either gates, so i want to know what really going on !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » January 30th, 2009, 7:38 am

i wukkin on d port an i eh know nuttin bout dat!!!!!!!!

den again i only out to work dis week............. :? :? :?