PRICESMART..... and no more bags...

ray d saint

PRICESMART..... and no more bags...

Postby ray d saint » January 21st, 2009, 11:44 am

They giving out a flyer, saying from February 16th 2009, they will no longer provide plastic bags for u r groceries...

:shock: :shock:

They say they doing they part to "SAVE THE EARTH"

However they SELLING a plastic bag for $30.00 to put u r groceries in....

Postby SR » January 21st, 2009, 11:45 am

i agree

buy yuh gorcery bag or walk with one and re use it

how many of theose plastic bags end up clogging drains or used as landfill

Postby Maserati » January 21st, 2009, 11:49 am

yup get your own bags and walk with them

one like this

holds more and is stronger

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 21st, 2009, 11:49 am

boxes ?

silver

Postby silver » January 21st, 2009, 11:50 am

this is common practice in developed countries...most people walk with their crocus bag or bag with handles to carry their groceries.

everybody wins...they save money..you dont wind up with 30 plastic bags that take 200 years to degrade ...we live longer.. the end

aR&D

Postby aR&D » January 21st, 2009, 11:51 am

i agree with a better alternative to using plastic bags is to make or get those jute or cloth bags and use those, instead of plastic.
Last edited by aR&D on January 21st, 2009, 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

streak

Postby streak » January 21st, 2009, 11:51 am

That's what they do in the US ..

Postby RASC » January 21st, 2009, 11:54 am

Great Move!

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 21st, 2009, 11:54 am

very nice. Reuse plastic bags or get some organic cotton ones.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 21st, 2009, 11:54 am

By selling a Plastic bag for $30. they are hinting to you that they no longer support the use of that type of bag, but if you are so adamant on using a plastic bag, you can pay an exorbitant price for it. Its not a money making thing...its just their way of dropping plastic bags.

streak

Postby streak » January 21st, 2009, 11:58 am

It's not a plastic bag for $30.00 is a cotton like bag

Postby noshownogo » January 21st, 2009, 11:58 am

second that, I tried to take as little bags as possible from them when packing. I see some people used to try to pack box in dem bag :?

This is an initiative that has been successful in Europe and Asia.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 21st, 2009, 12:00 pm

nothing wrong with dat & saving d earth etc but seeing how PS will be saving a ton of $ d prices should be adjusted down accordingly...

Postby RASC » January 21st, 2009, 12:06 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:nothing wrong with dat & saving d earth etc but seeing how PS will be saving a ton of $ d prices should be adjusted down accordingly...

wackaman

Postby wackaman » January 21st, 2009, 12:13 pm

Stop using plastic bag and save the world *stueps* :|

Postby RASC » January 21st, 2009, 12:17 pm

Took You ppl long enough to reach...Wow whats that a record...END of page one?
Usually by the third post we see such responses.

Postby Razkal » January 21st, 2009, 12:23 pm

^ent? :?

Excellent move by PS 8)
I've tried my best to stick to this a couple yrs now, avoid taking bags at stores as much as I can. Small, but the difference is made though..

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 21st, 2009, 12:23 pm

noshownogo wrote:second that, I tried to take as little bags as possible from them when packing. I see some people used to try to pack box in dem bag :?

This is an initiative that has been successful in Europe and Asia.

i not too sure if that is due to ignorance about environment, or trying to conceal purchases and avoid having your car broken into. That might be a different topic altogether

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » January 21st, 2009, 12:24 pm

that's a great move! but aren't some of the plastic bags that are used now biodegradeable? i ask that since the ones i get from hilo wld disintegrate after a couple of months. Even some of the garbage bags i buy wld disintegrate as well.

wackaman

Postby wackaman » January 21st, 2009, 12:36 pm

Plastic bag from hilo disintegrate :?
Last edited by wackaman on January 21st, 2009, 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

urabus

Postby urabus » January 21st, 2009, 12:44 pm

wackaman wrote:Plastic bag from hilo disintegrate
into what?

we reuse the bags at home to put garbage in, so im happy for the bags, but then again i dont shop at PS regularly so it doh bother me much

is trinidad we live in, and many of us are resistant to change
perhaps PS shud indicate (if they havn't done already), their reasoning behind such a move, as to the general public, they may think PS's trying to be cheap and not give us bags to put our groceries in.

Postby Razkal » January 21st, 2009, 12:48 pm

^they probably are and using the environmental spin on it to appear more concerned than cheap :? corporations work that way stimes

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 21st, 2009, 12:49 pm

Price Chopper & No frills in Canada do it. If you want bags it costs 5 cents.

TM MAD

Postby TM MAD » January 21st, 2009, 1:00 pm

i agree with saving the earth and everthing but i suggest that they do somthing with the prices and even show some interest buy giving every member 1 of those bags or even a buy 1 and get 1 free incentives 2 support the no plastic bag save the earth
because most ppl like my self would have to buy aleast 10 bags and even more
so please be considerate to the working ppl who has to pay membership to buy and bring there own bags everytime they shop
i am a member and in my opinion pricemart should not be only for members and there should not be a cost for membership because their price are rising every time i visit and and some of the prices are are higher than places without membership.
what pricemart does is make us pay a membership fee annually to pay higher prices and stand in longer lines jus to be robbed and now we are agreeing to be robbed with the bags that we have to buy i agree that we have to save the earth and all for our children and there children to come but why we as the buying customer have to save it alone let pricemart help save the earth also by givin us at least 2 bags a year to there members especially at renewual time and run a campaign from the february to 16th march 16th every member gets free reusable grocery bags.

do somthing because we both know the prices are not going to be altered due to no plastic bags show the ppl that pricemart really want to save the earth and not thier banks accounts

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » January 21st, 2009, 1:03 pm

Aldi do the same thing and they take it further. u have to insert a quater to get a cart (certain people don't retun the carts).most of the "shelves" if not all are nothing more than the shipping palates with the boxes of stuff on them.they usually only have one or two cashiers and ofcourse you pay for your bags.

P.S. everything is cheaper there as a result of the cost cutting measures.

double trouble

Postby double trouble » January 21st, 2009, 1:07 pm

so what alternative do they have in place for customers???.......

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » January 21st, 2009, 1:10 pm

i guess walk with your own bag/box or buy bags/boxes from them. :?:

wackaman

Postby wackaman » January 21st, 2009, 1:10 pm

I loading up the trolley the next time i go fack them :lol:

TM MAD

Postby TM MAD » January 21st, 2009, 1:19 pm

P.S. everything is cheaper there as a result of the cost cutting measures.[/quote]

you mad not everthing cheaper there