Evolution?
48%
Creation?
52%

Total votes: 111

Postby bushwakka » December 20th, 2008, 7:33 pm

evolution is all around us.....but why can't there be a separate evolution/creation hybrid theory?

Raziel

Postby Raziel » December 20th, 2008, 9:33 pm

MG Man wrote:why MUST there be a purpose?
Purpose is what most people look for, and the idea of God gives people that...same for 'is there anything after this?'
most ppl can't fathom the possibility that this really be all there is, and there's nothing after...again manmade concepts to make one's existence more bearable
is it so hard to see how insignificant we are? just look up at the sky........we are not even dust

Ego, what most people can't deal with is the fact that they are just another lifeform among billions, no purpose, no grand plan, if you die today or tomorrow, it's just a roll of the dice.

I'm sure a couple of thousand years ago somebody would have been willing to argue for the sun god (or river or wind god), because we don't understand something completely it does not automatically make it the work of god.

People need to accept religion/god is a belief (i.e no basis in fact), so if that works for you great ...

But please don't try to "explain" why it's real ... more people have seen bigfoot than god

syncrod

Postby syncrod » December 21st, 2008, 2:19 pm

look like Creation winning :P

pandu

Postby pandu » December 21st, 2008, 3:34 pm

Raziel wrote:
Purpose is what most people look for, and the idea of God gives people that...same for 'is there anything after this?'
most ppl can't fathom the possibility that this really be all there is, and there's nothing after...again manmade concepts to make one's existence more bearable
is it so hard to see how insignificant we are? just look up at the sky........we are not even dust

Ego, what most people can't deal with is the fact that they are just another lifeform among billions, no purpose, no grand plan, if you die today or tomorrow, it's just a roll of the dice.

I'm sure a couple of thousand years ago somebody would have been willing to argue for the sun god (or river or wind god), because we don't understand something completely it does not automatically make it the work of god.

People need to accept religion/god is a belief (i.e no basis in fact), so if that works for you great ...

But please don't try to "explain" why it's real ... more people have seen bigfoot than god

There are many saints who have seen God, made God appear before people, etc. You just don't know. I am sure in another thousand years or so people will start wondering if Jesus was real, especially if they have your mindset.

Postby bushwakka » December 21st, 2008, 3:52 pm

pandu wrote:
Raziel wrote:

There are many saints who have seen God, made God appear before people, etc. You just don't know. I am sure in another thousand years or so people will start wondering if Jesus was real, especially if they have your mindset.

we kno jesus lived....we just question his credibility is all

pandu

Postby pandu » December 21st, 2008, 4:05 pm

Jesus brought and still brings complete happiness in people's lives. Who are YOU to speak of His credibility? Could you do ANYTHING like Jesus did?

What I said before applies. Over time, many people forget the truth, or distort it. And even when another saint comes again, in the thousands of years after they leave the earth, people will question them also. It does not matter really, because the ones who know the truth will be happy. Those who doubt it will never be happy.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » December 21st, 2008, 9:20 pm

There is only one God and his name is Jesus, some of you have no faith and will burn in hell forever.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » December 21st, 2008, 11:02 pm

996vtwin wrote:There is only one God and his name is Jesus, some of you have no faith and will burn in hell forever.

hope that was sarcasm cuz there are so many things wrong with this statement.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » December 21st, 2008, 11:25 pm

pandu wrote:Jesus brought and still brings complete happiness in people's lives. Who are YOU to speak of His credibility? Could you do ANYTHING like Jesus did?

What I said before applies. Over time, many people forget the truth, or distort it. And even when another saint comes again, in the thousands of years after they leave the earth, people will question them also. It does not matter really, because the ones who know the truth will be happy. Those who doubt it will never be happy.

No offense, but this is the old religous defense .. how could you know? don't dare question

What do you know? what some priest/pundit/etc told you? who told him? stories told to men by men.

As I said, faith is exactly that, it's a belief in something that cannot be proven, if it could, it would be science. If faith works for you, be happy, but please don't try to argue proof, and don't try to tell eveyone else what they can question, religion has spent that last 2000 years trying to keep us in the dark ages.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 1:19 am

Smokey wrote:
996vtwin wrote:There is only one God and his name is Jesus, some of you have no faith and will burn in hell forever.

such as?

pandu

Postby pandu » December 22nd, 2008, 7:37 am

Raziel wrote:
As I said, faith is exactly that, it's a belief in something that cannot be proven, if it could, it would be science. If faith works for you, be happy, but please don't try to argue proof, and don't try to tell eveyone else what they can question, religion has spent that last 2000 years trying to keep us in the dark ages.

So when you see people practice yoga (not wai lana thing eh) and achieve the power to shrink their bodies, to enlarge their bodies, to control fire and water, what would you say? Show you proof? I have seen these things. Many others have seen these things. National Geographic did a piece on it, and could not prove it.

But they could not prove it, so it dont exist, right? According to your logic... Humans dont have the answers for everything.

Just to hammer the point about how ridiculous your 'without proof it dont exist' statement is:

Take the process of forming memories. All we can figure out is that somehow energy is transferred through your nerves, and goes to different areas of the brain, especially the hippocampus. but that does not explain WHAT a memory actually is.

Even something as simple as fire. Do you ever just look at it and try to understand it? All we could say is that it is heat energy....

Smokey

Postby Smokey » December 22nd, 2008, 7:47 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Smokey wrote:

such as?

Jesus is hardly God.
Jesus was infact allegedly son of the 'one' true god.
There is no Hell.

And even though u didn't directly say it, you are insinuating that those who don't put their faith in Jesus, will burn in hell. Something I have heard countless time from Christian Nazis/

I hate to go over this again, but i feel sorry for people who believe that and fall so much inlove with that christian fantasy, that they are are only ones who will be 'saved'. firetruck that, that is incredibly pompus, selfish, close minded and plain wrong. Not to mention, what kind of God will prefer to save a rapist/murderer/pedophile who repented and accepted jesus over a native tribesperson who lived a life in sync with nature, but never heard of jesus.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » December 22nd, 2008, 7:50 am

pandu, everything you mentioned there could be explained properly through science.....i dont know why in this day and age, if we don't fully understand something, we just say its the work of God.....mankind would never have evolved and moved into the industrial and technological revolution if everyone had lazy attitudes like you.

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 8:25 am

hmm...........when this turn into a religious debate again?
well since we on it, Hay Soo was a wandering hippie
John Lennon was the only true Messiah

Postby RBphoto » December 22nd, 2008, 8:45 am

While we on it as well, why do people see pleasure in seeing other people converting to their religion, even thieves and murdurers, but if we grant all the vincy and oyther small islanders in lavantil citizenship they will make a fuss?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 22nd, 2008, 9:10 am

MG Man wrote:hmm...........when this turn into a religious debate again?
well since we on it, Hay Soo was a wandering hippie
John Lennon was the only true Messiah

I thought Ozzy Osbourne was the messiah, but then he said "i'm just a man and I don't walk on water... (oh noo...)"

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/P58PkYJzPaA&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="25"></embed>

Hear it for yourself. My faith was shattered.

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 9:30 am

The Ozzman is the Prince of Darkness

pandu

Postby pandu » December 22nd, 2008, 11:28 am

Smokey wrote:pandu, everything you mentioned there could be explained properly through science.....i dont know why in this day and age, if we don't fully understand something, we just say its the work of God.....mankind would never have evolved and moved into the industrial and technological revolution if everyone had lazy attitudes like you.

I guess you shoulda replace my lecturers in mt hope when I was doing memory in the neurosciences block.

Anyway, with comprehension skills as bad as yours, it is no wonder you dont understand my point. Where did I say that we should not have technology? Technology is good. No one wants to stop science from progressing, it helps us in our lives. There is just the fact that there are some things that cannot be explained by science, no matter how hard they try. By all means, try. But if you are unable to attain the answer, do not dismiss it as false....

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 11:42 am

pandu wrote:

Anyway, with comprehension skills as bad as yours, it is no wonder you dont understand my point. Where did I say that we should not have technology? Technology is good. No one wants to stop science from progressing, it helps us in our lives. There is just the fact that there are some things that cannot be explained by science, no matter how hard they try. By all means, try. But if you are unable to attain the answer, do not dismiss it as false....

how can you say that?
Science is all about progress.
There are things science could not have explained a thousand years ago, but can be explained now.......who knows what science will answer in another 500 years......but in 500 years, the concept of god will still be a human concept invented by humans to make sense of their own existence

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 11:55 am

Smokey wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Smokey wrote:

such as?

Jesus is hardly God.
Jesus was infact allegedly son of the 'one' true god.
There is no Hell.

And even though u didn't directly say it, you are insinuating that those who don't put their faith in Jesus, will burn in hell. Something I have heard countless time from Christian Nazis/

I hate to go over this again, but i feel sorry for people who believe that and fall so much inlove with that christian fantasy, that they are are only ones who will be 'saved'. firetruck that, that is incredibly pompus, selfish, close minded and plain wrong. Not to mention, what kind of God will prefer to save a rapist/murderer/pedophile who repented and accepted jesus over a native tribesperson who lived a life in sync with nature, but never heard of jesus.

can we say the same for Mohammed?

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 12:16 pm

^^^he just rewrote somebody else's book and fit it to his ideals.........

Postby Monk BANzai » December 22nd, 2008, 12:17 pm

MG Man wrote:^^^he just rewrote somebody else's book and fit it to his ideals.........

who? Mohammad or Satan?

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2008, 12:19 pm

yuh know damn well who

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 22nd, 2008, 2:57 pm

All you Cafeteria Catholics say HOOOOO!!!

Snags

Postby Snags » December 22nd, 2008, 6:08 pm

I just typed out a long response here and I just realized it. Wasn't clear before. Some people think that science will lead to the end of everything. I want to encourage all the scientist that want to find the truth. I want to encourage all the scientist that want to figure out where we all came from. I want you guys to dig deep, without fail, without sleep. There's no need for fear of what scientist will uncover. It will be helpful to all of us, scientist included, it's genius actually.

Cheers

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 22nd, 2008, 6:22 pm

I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery;
Do not have any other gods before me.

[Admins please lock thread now]

Postby bushwakka » December 22nd, 2008, 6:46 pm

pandu wrote:Jesus brought and still brings complete happiness in people's lives. Who are YOU to speak of His credibility? Could you do ANYTHING like Jesus did?

i suppose u cud say that u were an eye witness to all the alleged miracles that jesus did?

how can ppl trust history? its not a science....its gossip...full of holes, omissions, additions, exaggerations....why don't we believe in dragons and all the rest of folklore that the norsemen used to believe in?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 22nd, 2008, 6:54 pm

god is the ultimate scientist...

Smokey

Postby Smokey » December 22nd, 2008, 8:45 pm

pandu wrote:
Smokey wrote:pandu, everything you mentioned there could be explained properly through science.....i dont know why in this day and age, if we don't fully understand something, we just say its the work of God.....mankind would never have evolved and moved into the industrial and technological revolution if everyone had lazy attitudes like you.

I guess you shoulda replace my lecturers in mt hope when I was doing memory in the neurosciences block.

look at how this lil boy want to attack my comprehension skills..... :lol: :lol: :lol: jus read over my last post there padna.....u should get in the practice of doing that....

anyway, as for the formation of long term memories, that is a tricky situation with many theories floating around, but nothing proven as yet. The most recent scientific theory is that DNA methylation is the process responsible for preserving long term memories. This theory is being supported with evidence from experients with mice, as when they inhibited methylation, mice lost their long term memories.

But here wha....everything i or science cyah explain....is the work of god almighty......next time u hear a loud thunder.....calm down, is jus god ripping a fart.

Anyway, do god faring folk believe in aliens? cuz that may put a whole new spin on your religion. Suppose, we make contact and they tell us their one through religion is correct. Or better yet, they are atheist who laugh at our childesh belief in god.....did jesus ever mention E.T.?