*The OFFICIAL-Men's hair grooming THREAD*

Postby Cjruckus » December 19th, 2008, 11:48 pm

TK! wrote:
Today's modern woman likes her men a little more groomed and tidy because times have changed, and so has a woman's attitude towards male body hair.

i think that line summarizes it all up. we gotta remember that not all trinis are like this.

things take a lil while longer to catch on here...

I have an attiude to womens hair also. Sometimes i just dont want it to look like a wolverine is eating a hot dog.

Postby UML » December 20th, 2008, 8:54 pm

.....talking about crossing the "line"

wah allyuh have tuh say bout T.C/ Tigga/ Jigga or wtf his name is from Synergy Soca Star....allyuh ever see the "bull me please" pants he does be wearing on tv?!!! dat so fagish!!

NO EH.....my gf brought it to my attention!!!! :lol: :lol:

Raziel

Postby Raziel » December 20th, 2008, 9:27 pm

crossdrilled wrote:rb26_chick, getting back to the point, it have a fellah wukking dong point, the man does be coasting waxed clean chest and arms, and I guess everywhere else, he does have pointy toe shoes, low rise jeans, spiky hair, manicured and up tops metro. (He is Italian).

He does be coasting with a different babes every time I see him. The Metro look wukking for him. If the oman like eet, then men will do it.

Finally somebody gets it ...

Point is who gives a sheit .. do what works for you

TK!

Postby TK! » December 20th, 2008, 11:54 pm

pablo_tt wrote:Aite chief, ah hear yuh. :lol: :lol:

On a side question, is there such a thing as low rise jeans for men?

FYI ...

three tings matter in a jeans:
1- rise
2- style / fit
3- the cut on the leg bottom

the rise is the waist... so there is low rise. we dont wear jeans up to our chests anymore. the stlye/fit is like 'slim fit' or 'loose' or 'straight cut'. and the bottom of the jeans near your ankles have differnt cuts too... like boot cut or gun mouth etc. i see gun mouth coming back but boot cuts are a lot more popular *and* practical.

women jeans have more considerations like:
- ass stlye... some cuts will lift. some compress.
- waistband material type (fatties prefer thicker wasitbands to hold the blubber inside)...
- pocket location and type. got a wide ass.. look for closely spaced pockets. got a flat ass? look for flaps over pockets. got a saggy ass.. look for higher pockets.

i went orf on a tangent dey.. but men... doh ever ever buy jeans fuh yuh gyul. u will nvr get it right! stick with shoes!

(waiting on some female validation on this post)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 21st, 2008, 1:32 pm

Point is who gives a sheit .. do what works for you

Ditto.

Don'ts for Guys.. (no matter how metro you are)

2) shave under your arms (no matter what gets trapped in the hair under there)

I guess people have their likes and dislikes......but.....

~*§ãñCħїą*~ ......... :shock: :shock:

Wet Shaving

Postby Maserati » June 9th, 2009, 10:03 pm

Tried it today, good bye Mach 3 and those expensive cartridges.

Much cleaner and enjoyable shave, slightly more time consuming but worth it.
Blades also very cheap.

for those who are lost Wet Shaving is
Wet shaving at its simplest, is just that – shaving with water, a razor blade, and some sort of lubricant (lather, soap, etc.) on your face. Men have shaved this way for centuries, starting early on with a sharp knife or stone, progressing to the straight razor, safety (double-edge) razors, and eventually cartridge razors from companies like Gillette, etc.

Basically you need a
Double edge razor, safety razor,e.g. Merkur "Futur"Adjustable Double-edge Razor
or
An Edwin Jagger razor.

A good Shaving Brush-badger hair or boar hair one.

Shaving soap or Cream to make the lather with.

quite a number of sites/forums dedicated to this. 8-)

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » June 9th, 2009, 10:05 pm

dat does work on meff??

devrat

Postby devrat » June 9th, 2009, 10:06 pm

Geez that title had me fooled :oops:

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » June 9th, 2009, 10:06 pm

i see my grandfathers using that lol it works with rasor blades

larafan

Postby larafan » June 9th, 2009, 10:11 pm

Maserati,

bredda....is some serious animal fur i dealing with here u know....

i suppose yuh get alot better precision with this thing too....

i've grown accustomed to shaving in less than 5 mins...and something telling me....if i try to do that with this...i'll end up in a medical institute somewhere....

and given the medical institutes here....i might die....cause...i won't be treated by dr.house...i'll probably be treated by dr.nannypali from india who doesn't speak much english....

vans

Postby vans » June 9th, 2009, 10:18 pm

TURBOT wrote:dat does work on meff??

Postby buzz » June 9th, 2009, 10:18 pm

but i always do this :?

soap + shaver = shave :|

Postby Maserati » June 9th, 2009, 10:21 pm

larafan wrote:Maserati,

bredda....is some serious animal fur i dealing with here u know....

i've grown accustomed to shaving in less than 5 mins...and something telling me....if i try to do that with this...i'll end up in a medical institute somewhere....

and given the medical institutes here....i might die....cause...i won't be treated by dr.house...i'll probably be treated by dr.nannypali from india who doesn't speak much english....

^ :lol:

I don't know what to tell you yes :lol: :lol:

a weed wacker may be your best bet lol

The most you would get is a little nick if you apply pressure.

I really after a smooth clean shave, I've used mach 3 etc ever since and it's never been as smooth & clean as this.

As for the doctor part I think you'll more likely end up with a cuban who speaks no english, so your a$$ dark either way :|

larafan

Postby larafan » June 9th, 2009, 10:25 pm

i'll try it tho....

just know...my death would be on ur hands....

Postby Maserati » June 9th, 2009, 10:26 pm

larafan wrote:i'll try it tho....

just know...my death would be on ur hands....

I'll send freelander and dhanraj to ur funeral :lol:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 9th, 2009, 10:43 pm

bess shave is an old-time barber with the shaving cream that you have to mix with a brush and a straight razor

had a man down Siparia used to handle de scene......think he ent alive again

bess shave ever :wink:

larafan

Postby larafan » June 9th, 2009, 10:44 pm

yeah zayo used to do that

Postby cinco » June 9th, 2009, 10:46 pm

yeh dem ole time barber with a straight razor is a bess shave face smood like a baby bottom for days

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » June 9th, 2009, 10:47 pm

LOL ... i am old enough to have used that razor blade shave ... errr no thanks ... far to easy to cut yourself ... you young boys go brave i go stick with me Mach 3.

Use logic and think for yourself when you fellahs where young ever see ur father with one set of small tissue over his face from razor cut well is these beasts that cause it ... so no thanks.

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » June 9th, 2009, 10:54 pm

dem cut does happen wen yuh pass over de contours of yuh face wit too much haste...i used to get a mark an shave from a ole indian man in puna wit a str8 razor an i never get a cut yet...i get nuff ryu tsui zen from barbers an normal razor blades though

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 9th, 2009, 10:56 pm

DevilZ wrote:i get nuff ryu tsui zen from barbers an normal razor blades though

F :arrow: F :arrow: D :arrow: F :arrow: HP

dat go protect yuh :lol:

Postby Maserati » June 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

biggy82 wrote:bess shave is an old-time barber with the shaving cream that you have to mix with a brush and a straight razor

had a man down Siparia used to handle de scene......think he ent alive again

bess shave ever :wink:

that is a different skill there yes

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 9th, 2009, 11:01 pm

Maserati wrote:
larafan wrote:..........

As for the doctor part I think you'll more likely end up with a cuban who speaks no english, so your a$$ dark either way :|
well you either get a doctor that can't speak the language very well......[spoiler].....or Qran :shock: pick your poison 0X :lol: :lol: [/spoiler]

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » June 9th, 2009, 11:01 pm

i aint talking straight blade young blood ... but tell me this fellahs you all ever wake up in the morning late to go to work ... or after a hard night of partying.

Yes in an ideal world you gonna take your time and becareful with the contours ... but the fact of the matter is using this crap here it is far to easy to get cut plain and simple we have moved on from back then.

Postby M_2NR » June 10th, 2009, 12:08 am

boss, i open this thread expecting to see Hammond and Clarkson pulling some stunt on May. :lol:

but indeed bro, i fraid that blade like a lots *sigh* lets just say, bad experiences. But the shave you get in beyond clean 8)
but too time consuming sadly.
Fusion FTW yes. Least time and no worries about cuts.

Postby DFC » June 10th, 2009, 2:11 am

i does use wilkinson sword blades on my razor, and i out of shaving cream so i using soap and water....works..good....just need a good moisturizer for your face after. What do u guys use on your face?

To save me a fortune on razorblades...i buy a straight razor from adams in chaguanas, well Surprise....its blunt as ever, and cant take sharpening. Anyone know where u can get a real good quality straight razor?

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 10th, 2009, 8:48 am

dais what i grow up using! i still use it from time to time.

Postby noshownogo » June 10th, 2009, 9:11 am

Fusion for me as well yes...i go slice my jugular with that device above :oops:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » June 10th, 2009, 9:15 am

i use that setup to shave my head and face,,then use a personna,to get it extra clean and smooth

aR&D

Postby aR&D » June 10th, 2009, 9:27 am

Good read. Bought back memories when i was little watching my dad shave with this.

My dad, grandfather and many of my uncles used to use this system but have long stopped with the innovation of the balanced shaving razors. They have said they will not use the old system again mainly it results in more cuts and "nics", more razor burn and to time consuming.

Apart from this, the old system is much more harsh on ones face since the after-shave burn factor is much more intense than if a balanced shaving razor was used.

i think the old system is for a more connoisseurs type environment.