WTK: STOP SMOKING!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 30th, 2008, 11:39 pm

I used acupuncture treatment and was smoke free for like 8 weeks.....tested it several times by liming in rum shop surrounded with smokers and my smoking colleagues and had no urge to smoke....but I started back having been out of the country and not really willing to seek an acupuncturist in the place I was......

stopping on the horizon for me though.....I believe!

alcohol stopped since early september and doesn't bother me.......one vice at a time.......

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » December 1st, 2008, 12:00 am

Computerman wrote: I stopped because I couldn't afford it anymore... New Slogan for Quitting Smoking: :

chain smoking padna of mine say he guh stop smoking when du maurier reach $20, he guh take it as a sign from God lol

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » December 1st, 2008, 8:21 pm

these Canadian Du Maurier packs have all kinda graphic pics...that made me stop....everytime u go to take a cigarette out of the pack u seeing a pic of someone lying on a bed on life support..makes u think twice........plus the image of having a cigarette in ur mouth is quite disgusting.

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » December 1st, 2008, 8:24 pm

i jus stopped
it jus a mind game
and i was a kronic smoker
but some time i feel for a smoke which i jus block it out and most time i jus lift weights to forget about it

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 3rd, 2008, 3:11 pm

i stopped now..jus bun 1 o 2 when ah having some drinks!!!..lol

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » December 3rd, 2008, 3:58 pm

that's good shagadelic99tt,

i tried to stop using the nicotine patch and it did work for a while but really i think its more psychological. smoking is my only bad vice and if i give it up i will have to start something else.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » December 3rd, 2008, 5:16 pm

Shagadelic let me give you a little story. At about 16 I started smoking and eventually I used to smoke 2 packs a day. On a drinking weekend I could even do 3 packs. Eventually I started coughing up small amounts of blood, as time progressed more and more blood came out but still my addiction was too strong so I ignored it.

At around my early 20's I started to get a pain almost in my upper shoulder, it felt like it was almost around my shoulder pain. I though it was nothing maybe some gas. 2 weeks passed and the pain would come and go but I couldnt figure it out. One day it got bad, it would hurt with every breath I took and I realised that it must be my lungs. It hurt so bad that I chucked the cigararettes and breathed small breaths like through a straw, it was terrifying.

I saw the Doctor and he examined my lungs and basically told me that if I continued I would die. I had a serious lung infection that needed serious treatment. That was the day I quit. I guess I was lucky to get that tough warning to help me stop. A month after I quit I felt like a new man, I could breathe again, smell again, to this day it is one of the best things I ever did.

I look at my smoking friends and actually feel sorry for them, they always smelling and they are a slave to that stick in their mouth. Every minute they have to run for more cigarettes. Its so pathetic that they can't even hang out inside someone's a/c home for more than 10 minutes. IN the morning they coughing and it hurts me to remember the times when I smoked.

Anyways, smoking is a right that people have but non-smokers have rights too.

The way I quit was really slowed right down to like one a day. I told myself that if I felt to smoke I would and if not I would not or maybe just hold off. Eventually somehow I just couldn't stand the smell. I didn't want it near me or on my clothes. Cigarettes is addictive only second to heroin as I have been active in the fight against its promotion and use in public and towards minors. If you had a kid would you want him smoking, let me hear any bad boy smoking advocate in here say yes.

I had an article published with a great headline and great impact in the Newsday. It changed the way Witco was allowed to promote their stuff in clubs. It made them have to change all those yellow B&H signs that would be used for newspapers. So some of you in here who just talk sheit and think I google my fact, guess again and enjoy your cancer stick. If I am going to die I prefer it be on a motorbike or whatever than on a respirator.

Don;t be a slave to an addiction, remember it controls you not the other way around. It is a chemical addiction that up to this day passes my mind every once in a while.

..Also gum actually helped.

Re: WTK: STOP SMOKING!!!

Postby MG Man » December 3rd, 2008, 5:25 pm

shagadelic99tt wrote:well my new year resolution was to stop the smoking...which i'm very close to and proud to say..i only smoke like 1 a day now...but what i wanted to know is are there ne ppl here who have stopped smoking and if so what sedatives yuh used to help the cravings...right now the only one i find is hot lipton tea kinda helps but not for long..

studies show the highest success rate comes from ppl who did NOT use a nicotine patch or gum
Yeo has it right
Personal commitment and determination, and a system to phase it out
cold turkey is rough

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 3rd, 2008, 5:27 pm

pioneer wrote:RRRIIIIIIGGGGHT

Surverys...who fund them ?...who do them ?...what methodologies did these surveys use ?

People so quick to accept and live by surveys without actually askin WHAT exactly do these surveys really try to investigate

SO i guess me coughing up 5ml of blood each morning was caused by pollution then, good thing it stopped when I stopped. Who you really fooling man? Yourself? Smoking kills, statistically, you should know what a statistic is? If you wanna smoke go right ahead, no one fighting you, just don't say that smoking isnt harmful.

We not saying other things are not harmful, we just saying that the addictiveness of cigarettes is very very high. It is the addiction and the 1000+ chemicals that makes it a problem. It is the chemical addiction sir, thats all!!

Odessy

Postby Odessy » December 3rd, 2008, 5:41 pm

they have a store which sells the "stop smoking tea" in maraval.

my cousins tells me it real good.stopped her from smoking for 2weeeks.

but u have to keep using the tea.

Postby MG Man » December 3rd, 2008, 5:57 pm

Odessy wrote:they have a store which sells the "stop smoking tea" in maraval.

my cousins tells me it real good.stopped her from smoking for 2weeeks.

but u have to keep using the tea.

that's the problem with stuff like that
You cannot quit by using chemical blockers
The key element is your mind

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 3rd, 2008, 5:59 pm

996vtwin wrote:Shagadelic let me give you a little story. At about 16 I started smoking and eventually I used to smoke 2 packs a day. On a drinking weekend I could even do 3 packs. Eventually I started coughing up small amounts of blood, as time progressed more and more blood came out but still my addiction was too strong so I ignored it.

At around my early 20's I started to get a pain almost in my upper shoulder, it felt like it was almost around my shoulder pain. I though it was nothing maybe some gas. 2 weeks passed and the pain would come and go but I couldnt figure it out. One day it got bad, it would hurt with every breath I took and I realised that it must be my lungs. It hurt so bad that I chucked the cigararettes and breathed small breaths like through a straw, it was terrifying.

I saw the Doctor and he examined my lungs and basically told me that if I continued I would die. I had a serious lung infection that needed serious treatment. That was the day I quit. I guess I was lucky to get that tough warning to help me stop. A month after I quit I felt like a new man, I could breathe again, smell again, to this day it is one of the best things I ever did.

I look at my smoking friends and actually feel sorry for them, they always smelling and they are a slave to that stick in their mouth. Every minute they have to run for more cigarettes. Its so pathetic that they can't even hang out inside someone's a/c home for more than 10 minutes. IN the morning they coughing and it hurts me to remember the times when I smoked.

Anyways, smoking is a right that people have but non-smokers have rights too.

The way I quit was really slowed right down to like one a day. I told myself that if I felt to smoke I would and if not I would not or maybe just hold off. Eventually somehow I just couldn't stand the smell. I didn't want it near me or on my clothes. Cigarettes is addictive only second to heroin as I have been active in the fight against its promotion and use in public and towards minors. If you had a kid would you want him smoking, let me hear any bad boy smoking advocate in here say yes.

I had an article published with a great headline and great impact in the Newsday. It changed the way Witco was allowed to promote their stuff in clubs. It made them have to change all those yellow B&H signs that would be used for newspapers. So some of you in here who just talk sheit and think I google my fact, guess again and enjoy your cancer stick. If I am going to die I prefer it be on a motorbike or whatever than on a respirator.

Don;t be a slave to an addiction, remember it controls you not the other way around. It is a chemical addiction that up to this day passes my mind every once in a while.

..Also gum actually helped.

Thank you.
Very inspirational.

I'm on Day 10, Urges come and go. Sleep deprived, miserable, and i know it is all because of that blasted nicotine.

I am trying to stick to 1 nicorette per day, it seems to be working thus far, because this time, I willed myself to quit. And I dont like personal failures, so I will make it a point to stick to my decision - no matter how hard it gets.

Honestly this is the hardest thing I have ever done.

The first time I tried to quit (maybe four years ago), I didnt last a day.
Much stronger now......

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 3rd, 2008, 6:05 pm

I should also add that support from those around you is critical.
I have support from family, friends, co-workers, everyone understands that for a while, i may have a short temper, or may not be as merry and so on.

I was told that this is especially important.

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 3rd, 2008, 6:05 pm

I admit I relapsed as well but eventually stuck it when I started training as a routine. I would have one here and there and noticed it became a problem again. It's very addictive. I gained a good 5 lbs as well when I stopped.

Just keep at it and if your will is strong and you really want to stop you will. The good feelings you get later on will be well worth it. Even sometimes I may have a rough night out but still it dosent compare to a rough night with cigarettes.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » December 3rd, 2008, 10:08 pm

996vtwin, good, proper advice there, not the usual pontification we get from non smokers about why its bad and blah blah blah .... i myself intend to kick this habit that costs me $5000+ a year .. think about that smoking money invested or at least saved....

Postby skylinechild » December 3rd, 2008, 10:34 pm

Tarantula wrote:that's good shagadelic99tt,

i tried to stop using the nicotine patch and it did work for a while but really i think its more psychological. smoking is my only bad vice and [color=red]if i give it up i will have to start something else.[/color]

i hear local porn is d new flick these days.....try that.....good and highly addictive ..plus u doh hurt ur lungs.......lol

Postby MG Man » December 3rd, 2008, 10:41 pm

how much dey does pay yuh?

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » December 4th, 2008, 12:05 am

shagadelic99tt....u wanna smoke when only u are drinking....this wont help as u would start back smoking just as regular as before. i think someone posted the benefits of not smoking which is more that enough to stop smoking. just dont think about smoking and slowly ur addiction will stop.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 4th, 2008, 12:50 am

that's some good stuff there 996vtwin....great to share personal experiences to help with the resolve of others........kudos!!!!!!!!

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 4th, 2008, 6:38 pm

996vtwin wrote:
pioneer wrote:RRRIIIIIIGGGGHT

Surverys...who fund them ?...who do them ?...what methodologies did these surveys use ?

People so quick to accept and live by surveys without actually askin WHAT exactly do these surveys really try to investigate

SO i guess me coughing up 5ml of blood each morning was caused by pollution then, good thing it stopped when I stopped. Who you really fooling man? Yourself? Smoking kills, statistically, you should know what a statistic is? If you wanna smoke go right ahead, no one fighting you, just don't say that smoking isnt harmful.

We not saying other things are not harmful, we just saying that the addictiveness of cigarettes is very very high. It is the addiction and the 1000+ chemicals that makes it a problem. It is the chemical addiction sir, thats all!!

OK that's all dandy n stuff, so now that you breathe this "clean air"...you sure u gonna live longer right?

Bro, I wake up at 5.30 am, cycle for about 2-3 hours, 5 days a week (not gonna say where but in a clean place). I feel good man, I don't have a smokers cough and I really feel fuggin good. I am god damn healthy :D and its one the the best feeling I know. I aint afraid to die in the least, i just wanna feel good while I am alive.

Healthy body = healthy mind. Death matters not to me, infact I almost embrace it because I know it will be destiny when it happens. When I do die I know I will die a happy, healthy camper,...what more can I ask from life.

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 4th, 2008, 6:46 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:that's some good stuff there 996vtwin....great to share personal experiences to help with the resolve of others........kudos!!!!!!!!

Thx man, ive done quite a bit of research on the topic. Cigarettes are more deadly than people really know. When i saw what it does to my insides I almost felt like garbage.

I mean, would anyone light a bon fire and stand to inhale the fumes? I can't accept the arguement that cigarettes are healthy. I can actually tell a smoker by just looking at his skin color, you turn a grey color and your teeth looks all fugged up too.

read this, maybe it might help. For some interested in a career in sports smoking can affect that.

What happens to my lungs when I smoke?

Every time you inhale smoke from a cigarette, you kill some of the air sacks in your lungs, called alveoli. These air sacks are where the oxygen that you breathe in is transferred into your blood. Alveoli don't grow back, so when you destroy them, you have permanently destroyed part of your lungs. This means that you won't do as well in activities where breathing is important, like sports, dancing, or singing.

Smoking paralyzes the cilia that line your lungs. Cilia are little hairlike structures that move back and forth to sweep particles out of your lungs. When you smoke, the cilia can't move and can't do their job. So dust, pollen, and other things that you inhale sit in your lungs and build up. Also, there are a lot of particles in smoke that get into your lungs. Since your cilia are paralyzed because of the smoke and can't clean them out, the particles sit in your lungs and form tar.

Mini

Postby Mini » December 4th, 2008, 9:44 pm

i quit cold turkey a while back.... and lasted almost 2 years... i quit cold turkey again on Jan 2nd this year... as 996 said... I've started exercising regularly...

i've realized it's not about the physical cravings, but it's mental.... you have to WANT to stop...

try this site... there's a nice counter on it tells you how much you've saved in terms of money, how much you didn't smoke etc.

http://www.quitnet.com/

Zim

Postby Zim » December 4th, 2008, 11:43 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/gmjjHkxTItE&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 5th, 2008, 2:39 pm

so smokers..
yuh ever had a cold and when you blow yuh nose you see streaks of black?
mucus from your lungs..

zoomedic

save up the money from the cigs

Postby zoomedic » December 5th, 2008, 3:01 pm

and after you save the money with a fresh mex or Columbian and enjoy all every dollar that you could have spent behind cigs and i think you will be smiling more :lol:

Yeo

Postby Yeo » December 5th, 2008, 3:07 pm

Jan 1st 2009 will be my 3 year anniversary of quitting. :mrgreen:

(remember eh, I smoked for 19-20 yrs :| )

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 5th, 2008, 6:25 pm

pioneer wrote:996vtwin, quick question, do u consume alcohol at all?

Umm, only when serious stress hit me. Sometimes I might binge, again stress. Don't get me wrong I have my vices but i try my best to keep a level head (key word try). Like I said if I have a rough night which is never good, I am thankful to not have smoked.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 5th, 2008, 6:28 pm

Oleander wrote:so smokers..
yuh ever had a cold and when you blow yuh nose you see streaks of black?
mucus from your lungs..

ummm no...tha soundin like u real sick :|

Not now!!
That actually happened to me.. and that's what caused me to quit..
it's been 3 months that I haven't touched a cigarette...for the first time in yearss..Sometimes I am seriously tempted too but I try my best.. and it's also good to have someone to support you..

996vtwin

Postby 996vtwin » December 5th, 2008, 6:49 pm

pioneer wrote:and say if you were to get...TB...no more happy camper?

now i 'm not denying that you are healthy eh

uhh, if got got TB, lol. I would def need to look for that happy camper in me at the bottom of some proverbial hole. Desperate times call for desperate measures you know.