wtk who sells dunlop tires

daymean

Postby daymean » November 28th, 2008, 2:43 pm

in the 235 45 17 range...direzza or sp sport line...

Rahtid

Re: wtk who sells dunlop tires

Postby Rahtid » November 28th, 2008, 2:49 pm

daymean wrote:wtk who sells dunlop tires
in the 235 45 17 range...direzza or sp sport line...

arima,next to street concepts,,,call street concepts and ask i cyah remember d fella nex door name nuh,,,

Postby equipped2ripp » November 28th, 2008, 2:52 pm

i think that person is a powerseller on 2nr... CleanTech. not so?

do a search there daymean.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 28th, 2008, 2:57 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:i think that person is a powerseller on 2nr... CleanTech. not so?

do a search there daymean.

yeh daz dem he sells rims also,,

Postby tr1ad » November 28th, 2008, 2:58 pm

check a tyre shop

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » November 28th, 2008, 3:07 pm

tr1ad wrote:check a tyre shop

daymean the answer was so obvious!!

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » November 28th, 2008, 3:46 pm

Tyre Clinic couva has direzzas

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 28th, 2008, 3:47 pm

nah jed,,,hardly u will find a tyre shop selling that eh,,

ilLegAl STREET iMporT

Postby ilLegAl STREET iMporT » November 28th, 2008, 3:49 pm

Shabby's in Couva have Direzza's for sale as well right before Issac junction

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » November 28th, 2008, 4:11 pm

Dunlop still around.
Go Pirelli or Firestone or even GoodYear.

Postby Razkal » November 28th, 2008, 4:31 pm

daymean, for the 8 not so?

Using direzza's by preference or price? serious question. imo they grip like sheit if rain even think about falling...not all that you'd expect in the dry either...

Michellin Pilots and pilot sports are pretty damn good all around, tire is durable as well, not like those Kumho Ecsta Supras that are popped by any little debris, Michellins are kinda expensive though...paid $650 per 205/50/15 tire for the corolla.

If you're interested in the Michellins, check Kelly's Tyre Shop on the main road heading west in Mt Lambert, they have the Sport in stock evo tire specs.

daymean

Postby daymean » November 28th, 2008, 4:44 pm

yer the michellin pilot sport ps2 is $2500 per tire from michelin service centre (235/45/17) with the sale all 4 is $7600.00.....kinda pricey :(
was looking for something ah bit cheaper :|
i have used the pilot sport ps2 before and i liked them for road use...the toyo ra1's were very very good especially at the last dex, and well the yokohamas a048 were top of the pile....
i don't know what other decently priced performance tire there is out there...
Razkal any other options....
how well do the normal pilot sport hold...?

Postby Razkal » November 28th, 2008, 5:45 pm

^pretty good actually :idea: Isn't the A048 the competition dot tire? you used those for daily rubber!? :o
(*gasp* @$2500 per tire at the service centre!! :shock:)

last set i had on the corolla were regular pilot sport, i got them at the regular pilots price so couldn't say no lol...they grip super but then again the grip level that offers the corolla and the 8mr are two different things :lol: they're not noisy either :)

Wish i could afford to order a new set of the neova AD07 or advan sport in the sizes i need :(

revlimit ren

Postby revlimit ren » November 28th, 2008, 6:45 pm

the dealer for dunlop iz on couva main road dey go bless u right up !! i nuh sure if iz tyre clinic but one ah dem big tyre shop in couva iz the dealer an duz bless u up nice if n e ting ever happen to the tyre..

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2008, 7:17 pm

michelins generally last at least 1 1/2 - 2 times as long other costing 1/2

Postby X_Factor » November 28th, 2008, 7:33 pm

Bridgestone Potenza RE-01
Dunlop Direzza Z1

i heard a tyre shop has some of those at reasonable prices

I hadda say those RE-01s are one sweet tyre!!

but imo for a daily driver tyre the DZ101 is pretty good!!
and is probably the best tyre in its class and price range

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 28th, 2008, 8:44 pm

Razkal wrote:daymean, for the 8 not so?

Using direzza's by preference or price? serious question. imo they grip like sheit if rain even think about falling...not all that you'd expect in the dry either...

Michellin Pilots and pilot sports are pretty damn good all around, tire is durable as well, not like those Kumho Ecsta Supras that are popped by any little debris, Michellins are kinda expensive though...paid $650 per 205/50/15 tire for the corolla.

If you're interested in the Michellins, check Kelly's Tyre Shop on the main road heading west in Mt Lambert, they have the Sport in stock evo tire specs.

Aks, i had no probs with 195/50 R 15 Direzza on the civic, and my car held up rather nicely on the corners. (Rivulet road corners, 160 kmph @ night)

Truth be told, i liked the grip better when i upgraded to 17" with Sumitomo HTRZII, but too much factors changed on the car to make a fair comparison. (Newer shocks, bushings, rims et al)

All in all, the direzzas not all that bad, nor noisy for a daily driver.

daymean

Postby daymean » November 28th, 2008, 10:13 pm

oops :oops: razkal it was the a046 sorry
i will call the service center in the morning about the regular pilot sport and hear the price....hopefully alot less than $2500 per tire :S

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 28th, 2008, 10:44 pm

daymean, you never really answered Razkal question re: Using direzza's by preference or price? Because you may have noticed many other good options have been thrown at you. Have you used the Direzza before?

I would extend his question to: Are you looking for a.....
Extreme Performance tyre?
Ultra High Performance All-Season tyre?
High Performance All-Season tyre?
Everyday driving tyre?

I've used the Dunlop Direzza DZ101 and I agree with Razkal, it sucks on wet roads, and quite frankly, wet traction/hydroplaning resistance are paramount for the Caribbean. I replaced the DZ101 with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx -- chalk and cheese.

See ratings:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... ezza+DZ101
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... Sport+Maxx

The best for me was the Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3, handled water like a boat. :D

See ratings:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... e+F1+GS-D3

So you decide - cost > safety performance > brand.

BTW, to answer your question - Jack's Tyre shop, Chaguanas. Ask for Bob.

Postby pete » November 28th, 2008, 11:04 pm

I really like these..

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... 45WR6HTRZ2

That's what I'm trying out on my swift now. have to switch the back tyres sometime soon.

How much for those Sport Maxx?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 28th, 2008, 11:35 pm

pete wrote:I really like these..

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... 45WR6HTRZ2

That's what I'm trying out on my swift now. have to switch the back tyres sometime soon.

How much for those Sport Maxx?

I think I paid about $700 a tyre for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx size 205/55R16, but that was a couple years ago.

daymean

Postby daymean » November 29th, 2008, 5:36 pm

ok so i got the ps2's
will post up a review of these for those interested in ah while

daymean

Postby daymean » November 30th, 2008, 8:40 am

these tires feel great, grip in the dry is excellent, havent tried it in the wet and probably willl not push it in the wet.
it is a bit bouncy however the level of grip, feedback and breakaway tendencies are very very good!
i would recommend them to any evo driver! :!:

Postby Razkal » November 30th, 2008, 9:39 am

daymean wrote:oops :oops: razkal it was the a046 sorry
i will call the service center in the morning about the regular pilot sport and hear the price....hopefully alot less than $2500 per tire :S

I'll make a call to the guy at Kelly's and see what price they have the pilot sports at, if it's reasonable (for that tire of course) i'll post back and let you guys know.

VexXx Dogg, the direzzas not bad, but imo they lose lateral grip easier than all the others i've tried, it may just be the shiddy situation the rx's suspension was in when i had them on, but that's my initial experience with them :|

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2008, 10:56 am

buh d rx always shiddy

Postby Razkal » November 30th, 2008, 10:58 am

^well that is always a point to consider eh :lol:

steups....things brong when ah man sheit yuh up and yuh agree yes :( :lol:

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » November 30th, 2008, 10:58 am

tr1ad wrote:buh d rx always shiddy

dais wah i thinkin

Postby Razkal » November 30th, 2008, 11:04 am

^nah i will NEVER take a sheit up from a man who driving a more flip-prone vehicle than Brent DC5 :lol:

ANYTHING better than a van with the centre of gravity two feet over the hood :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2008, 11:05 am

so yuh rx in better shape now?

wha tyres yuh have on eet

Postby UML » November 30th, 2008, 11:06 am

Tyre clinic in Couva had 18" Dunlop tyres wen last i checked....and at a bess price too.....so I assuming they might have the required size...give dem a call and see.