The arrogance of this government is amazing :-(

tekno1

The arrogance of this government is amazing :-(

Postby tekno1 » November 28th, 2008, 10:55 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161406908

Minister Colm Imbert's mumbo jumbo appeal and hyperbolic statements about the Coat or Arms on the Prime Minister’s car are perfect examples of why Trinidad and Tobago is in trouble today. Rather than acknowledge they made a mistake, his puerile obfuscations are nothing more than an attempt to bamboozle the public from the facts with Minispeak (Ministerial lingo) and bluster.

Saying that the Prime Minister is not responsible for the vehicle he's a passenger in is about as logical an excuse as a shooter blaming the bullet manufacturer for making working bullets. After all, they didn’t hit the person. The bullet did.

Not to mention my shock at finding out that the Leader of the nation is driving around without proper insurance. Does this mean if, god forbid, I ever get hit by PM1 I will have no recourse to insurance? Or will I have to battle it out with the government bureaucracy to get some form of financial relief?

If those in charge of the law so easily ignore and break it at their whim and fancy, then why should they be surprised when the "average Joe" out there does the same thing? Leaders, by their very definition, are supposed to set the example for others to follow. If this is the example they set then our present trials and tribulations make a lot more sense.

Supazuki

Postby Supazuki » November 28th, 2008, 11:06 am

jed Imbert yuh talkin bout, daz Manning poddle

Postby RBphoto » November 28th, 2008, 11:35 am

"minispeak"

Hmmm.... new nickname for imbert?

Postby Team Loco » November 28th, 2008, 11:43 am

excellent article tekno1

Postby hydroep » November 28th, 2008, 12:20 pm

I'm surprised he didn't say that it was due to a freak act of nature... :?

Postby Dave » November 28th, 2008, 1:31 pm

dem always have an excuse, nobody is ever wrong as far as they are concerned

Dictatorship at its best!

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 28th, 2008, 1:33 pm

:ughug: < PNM before news conference

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 28th, 2008, 1:36 pm

I see Express staff spends lots of time on TriniTuner.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 28th, 2008, 1:44 pm

He also wrote that the "requirement for licensing motor vehicles was abolished by Act No 9 of 1997", and the requirement for the affixing of identification marks, also commonly known as licence plates, on vehicles, was deleted from Act No 25 of 1997 from Section 12 (1) of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act."

is govt vehicles alone he referring to right?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 28th, 2008, 1:45 pm

^^ de man basically say plates are rice!!

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » November 28th, 2008, 2:52 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
He also wrote that the "requirement for licensing motor vehicles was abolished by Act No 9 of 1997", and the requirement for the affixing of identification marks, also commonly known as licence plates, on vehicles, was deleted from Act No 25 of 1997 from Section 12 (1) of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act."

is govt vehicles alone he referring to right?

I was wondering about. Because, if i read that right, it basically states that we are not required to affix Identification marks, aka: license plates, to our vehicles.

Anyone have access to a copy of the laws and regs? cause people, this opens up a WHOLE can of worms. Espcially for those who've been ticketed for bad plates or no plates or whatever..

Not to mention i can now put ANY plate i want on my car. Including Personalised plates..

Personally, i feel it's a misquote. As Usual

W2J

Postby W2J » November 28th, 2008, 2:54 pm

"In the first instance, the Prime Minister is neither the user or owner of the vehicle, as defined in the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act, and he is merely a passenger in the vehicle. In this context, it should be noted that the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act places responsibilities on users and/or owners of vehicles, rather than on passengers," Imbert said.

so they going to charge the driver? and who is the owner of this said vehicle? if it is the government of Trinidad and Tobago are the owners are they going to be charged aswell?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 28th, 2008, 2:57 pm

damn good ting the wind did blow , so the clouds did move so no flood for the car in the coat of arms , so they were able to do breakfastses! :roll:

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » November 28th, 2008, 2:58 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:damn good ting the wind did blow , so the clouds did move so no flood for the car in the coat of arms , so they were able to do breakfastses! :roll:

rofl..

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » November 28th, 2008, 3:02 pm

"In the first instance, the Prime Minister is neither the user or owner of the vehicle, as defined in the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act, and he is merely a passenger in the vehicle. In this context, it should be noted that the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act places responsibilities on users and/or owners of vehicles, rather than on passengers," Imbert said.

First of all, as the leader of the government, and the fact that the car is owned by the government, places the onus directly on the head of the Prime Minister. Its his car. Whether by proxy or whatever maneuverings he'll try to get out from under this. Nothing changes the facts of the case.

Were it not his car then it would not be designated PM1. It would be called EVERYBODY1. Its not. And Minispeak (Imbert) really needs to get up off his knees from behind Manning. I've heard of loyatly, but for god's sake.. Doesn't the man have ANY pride at ALL?!?!?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 28th, 2008, 3:26 pm

W2J wrote:

so they going to charge the driver? and who is the owner of this said vehicle? if it is the government of Trinidad and Tobago are the owners are they going to be charged aswell?

But if they government charge themselves, then it's our tax money. And I can't afford that fraction of a cent cuz I'm trying to tighten my belt.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » November 28th, 2008, 3:52 pm

Supazuki wrote:jed Imbert yuh talkin bout, daz Manning poddle

no no no.

Is Pompek.....he eh no pure bred. :lol:

Raziel

Postby Raziel » November 28th, 2008, 4:36 pm

why am I not surprised?

where are the PNM dogs to defend this? to blame in on COP/UNC? aint Panday once drove a car with PM1 on it, so it must be his fault? ain't all ah we dotish and doh understand these things are beyond the control of poor patrick?

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » November 28th, 2008, 8:33 pm

Personally i feel we should ALL take off our plates for one day and replace them with a coat of arms. Set aside a day for it and EVERYONE with cars do it for 30 minutes. Let them know how we feel.

If the police ask us whats going on we can quote the law and blame the "...Minister with responsibility for road transport," in the words of Minispeak...

People will try and sidetrack this and claim how we have more pressing problems and this is minor. There is no such thing as a minor problem. Minor is a matter of perspective. This a breaking the law. Which makes it major.

If you or i did this the law would jump on us with both feet and fists to boot. Therefore, if its not minor for us then why is it minor for the rest of them? Or is the adage really true after all and the rest is just a pile of BS!??

One law for them and another law for us.....

Postby Cjruckus » November 28th, 2008, 10:06 pm

stop protesting

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 28th, 2008, 10:43 pm

Of late, the media houses actually getting brave. They aint fraid Manning walk into their station, or what?

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 28th, 2008, 11:31 pm

Supazuki wrote:jed Imbert yuh talkin bout, daz Manning poddle

boy allyuh fellas real brave to be talking bout manning in a bad light he probably have some kinda software to pick up threads like these and next thing u know monday morning tuner close down!!!

silver racer

Postby silver racer » November 28th, 2008, 11:36 pm

ey manning is ah ricer!!! he wana run illegal plates 2 :lol:

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 28th, 2008, 11:44 pm

u know what reali pisses me off, he claims that if u look at the polls this is what the people wanted, but when i look at the polls i see over 60% of the population voting against him!!!! he happened to win be the splitting of votes!!! and why is it he and the umplumpa they call imbert cant ever give a straight answer!!!!

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » November 29th, 2008, 1:15 am

Cjruckus wrote:stop protesting

Why?

Snags

Postby Snags » November 29th, 2008, 5:01 am

I really want to know what's the worst that can happen to me - Maserati told me jail wth seven other men :| but seriously, if I remove my plates and put the coat of arms like captain dumba$$, what can the law legally do me?Impound my car?If that's all they can do I'm all for it. Lets organise this sheit.

Odessy

Postby Odessy » November 29th, 2008, 11:16 am

i love colm imbert.

example:news reporter said "but the pm teif money"

colm said"so wat,everybody tiefs money"

and he jus leans bac and smile.

PNM will win again,cuz they firetruck good :lol: 8-)

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » November 29th, 2008, 12:19 pm

Michael wrote:I really want to know what's the worst that can happen to me - Maserati told me jail wth seven other men :| but seriously, if I remove my plates and put the coat of arms like captain dumba$$, what can the law legally do me?Impound my car?If that's all they can do I'm all for it. Lets organise this sheit.

Im serious about this. Can we organise this? maybe a sticker or something we can put over the license plate? Something that we all do at the same time to show how we feel. Liek at 12 noon on a Friday. We let the media know about it too in advance so they'll be looking for it. Police dont like it we just strip the sticker off and voila.. normal plate.

When they ask we just tell them the truth.. "If the leader of the country and the people responsible for the law can do this, then we, their employers and the ones directly responsible for them having a job in the first place, should be able to do it too.. fair is fair.."

How much does a sticker like that cost? Can we get sponsors to help us with this? What about that guy who organises all the meetings and protests? Cant remember his name. Anyone know how i can contact him? I'll organise everything if i have to.

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » December 1st, 2008, 7:47 am

nobody's interested?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 1st, 2008, 7:53 am

So i ask again

if you are HIT by one of these UN-INSURED government vehicles- WHo will be responsible for the damage?

Does the STATE pay , and how does one go about taking a legal stance in this suitation?