Help:TD lessons

fearsaga15

Help:TD lessons

Postby fearsaga15 » November 22nd, 2008, 11:55 pm

cud any one recommend places that teach technical drawing(how to draw and interpretation) from CXC level..even past UWI level.
construction drawings,architectural drawings included.
Also autocad for beginners,level1 level2

preferably classes on saturdays
thanks

Postby buzz » November 23rd, 2008, 9:22 pm

fearsaga15

Postby fearsaga15 » November 23rd, 2008, 9:52 pm

rite

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 23rd, 2008, 10:01 pm

My suggestion to you don't try to do to much one time. Start from CXC level and don't try to do anything else until you understand and are able to visualize things. Start there and move on to Auto CAD etc.
(P.S. I did Auto CAD and drawing @ Trinizuela and wasn't disappointed)

Postby buzz » November 23rd, 2008, 10:01 pm

aite

O' level TD is quite easy

just read any reputable text an yuh good tuh go

as for auto cad you can check SBCS

but rumour has it that their certificates are not recognized by autodesk :|

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » November 23rd, 2008, 10:03 pm

what area u located? then ppl could recommend the places nearer to you

Postby buzz » November 23rd, 2008, 10:07 pm

until you understand and are able to visualize things.

X10

i couldn't agree more

a mental image is essential before starting any drawing

once you can visualize it IMO 60% of the work is already done

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 26th, 2008, 11:37 am

fearsaga15, didnt u do that in yr 1 uwi?

Postby RBphoto » November 26th, 2008, 11:44 am

Nobody uses pencils to draw anymore. Go straight to autocad lessons. Learn the principles of TD (like projections all them stuff) from a book and practice on your own.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 26th, 2008, 12:02 pm

TD? nah jedd,forget that,try and do autocad or sumn but still,ppl who just draw,cant interpret more than maybe 60% of their work cuz if u dont know fundamentals of building,then u just basically drawing whatever they give u to draw.

if u can build or know much about building,then u on,but otherwise,u just hadda draw,

Postby RBphoto » November 26th, 2008, 12:19 pm

Rahtid wrote:TD? nah jedd,forget that,try and do autocad or sumn but still,ppl who just draw,cant interpret more than maybe 60% of their work cuz if u dont know fundamentals of building,then u just basically drawing whatever they give u to draw.

if u can build or know much about building,then u on,but otherwise,u just hadda draw,

^^^That is what separates the mere cad-monkey from a designer. Plenty people who know TD apply to do electrical drawings, but if you don't know what you are drawing, you don't know when you made a mistake.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 26th, 2008, 12:29 pm

buzz wrote::lol: :lol: :lol:

aite

where dat rumour come from?

yuh does get a sbcs cert and an autodesk cert for each level yuh complete eh.. so if the sbcs one not 'recognised' then i think the one from autodesk is 8-)

Postby RBphoto » November 26th, 2008, 12:32 pm

Autocad 2008 make cad design so easy eh, especially with the angle and lenght being displayed in real time on the screen for lines.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 26th, 2008, 12:43 pm

i stopped using autocad a long time now for professional designs. i use Vector Works for most of my work plus a lot of other programs which are like a big percentage better than acad.

i not dissin acad,just that i rather use these instead.

electrical drawings,,some ppl do not have the slightest idea of an elec. circuit and wanna do drawings,,i did electrical designs for a big well known oil company,i mean like 12kv, and upwards,and the chief electrical and instrumentation engineer came personally to my office up north just to meet me and shake my hand,considering the fact that i am yung and does his level of work,,,

EXPERIENCE IS THE KEY YOUNG PEOPLE,,,TRY YOUR BEST AND GET EXPERIENCE DONT WORRY BOUT THE SALARY(i know its difficult,but take one that allows u to live and handle your bizznizz,the greater rewards will come later on)WITH EXPERIENCE,U WILL GET A GOOD POSITION THEREFORE SALARY!!!!!

Postby RBphoto » November 26th, 2008, 12:48 pm

Rahtid wrote:i stopped using autocad a long time now for professional designs. i use Vector Works for most of my work plus a lot of other programs which are like a big percentage better than acad.

electrical drawings,,some ppl do not have the slightest idea of an elec. circuit and wanna do drawings,,i did electrical designs for a big well known oil company,i mean like 12kv, and upwards,and the chief electrical and instrumentation engineer came personally to my office up north just to meet me and shake my hand,considering the fact that i am yung and does his level of work,,,

EXPERIENCE IS THE KEY YOUNG PEOPLE,,,TRY YOUR BEST AND GET EXPERIENCE DONT WORRY BOUT THE SALARY(i know its difficult,but take one that allows u to live and handle your bizznizz,the greater rewards will come later on)WITH EXPERIENCE,U WILL GET A GOOD POSITION THEREFORE SALARY!!!!!

Why vector works? I see the piping people like to use microstation, something about being ablt to export the 3D files or something. You doing architectural drawings?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 27th, 2008, 8:48 am

crossdrilled wrote:
Rahtid wrote:i stopped using autocad a long time now for professional designs. i use Vector Works for most of my work plus a lot of other programs which are like a big percentage better than acad.

Why vector works? I see the piping people like to use microstation, something about being ablt to export the 3D files or something. You doing architectural drawings?

i do everything,from piping to architectural.

Samo

Postby Samo » November 27th, 2008, 8:52 am

AGENT RORO wrote:My suggestion to you don't try to do to much one time. Start from CXC level and don't try to do anything else until you understand and are able to visualize things. Start there and move on to Auto CAD etc.

serious now :?:

Samo

Postby Samo » November 27th, 2008, 8:52 am

Rahtid wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

i do everything,from piping to architectural.

*makes sure car lock*

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » November 27th, 2008, 9:02 am

Samo wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:My suggestion to you don't try to do to much one time. Start from CXC level and don't try to do anything else until you understand and are able to visualize things. Start there and move on to Auto CAD etc.

serious now :?:

Sorry Sir. Allow me to correct myself. SAMO thought me......Happy? LOL!

fearsaga15

Postby fearsaga15 » November 27th, 2008, 2:08 pm

Midnight_Demon, located in st.joseph..plz recommend

Aaron 2NR, yeah i did engineering drawing with no TD background!!
sessions were extremely ketch ass, especially when u had like 4 helpers for a class of 150+ and i always wanted to go back to basics, now i have d time

AGENT RORO, gud advice, was thinkin along those lines but still lookin for a place to start with O'level drawing... cuss wht i went through in UWI.. iz like i jus jumped str8 into mechanical drawings..

Also, i do plan on doin some architectural.

Postby buzz » November 27th, 2008, 2:25 pm

original_lollybob wrote:
buzz wrote::lol: :lol: :lol:

aite

where dat rumour come from?

yuh does get a sbcs cert and an autodesk cert for each level yuh complete eh.. so if the sbcs one not 'recognised' then i think the one from autodesk is 8-)

well it was a rumour meng :|