ppl who live deep south

Postby honda hoe » November 19th, 2008, 1:21 pm

wuz d point in getting a job in POS an hafta leave home 4 o clock every morning just to get to work on time?

couldn't ur time and resources be much better utilised getting a job southside? and don't say u can't get any

how productive can u really be when u spend 3 hrs to get to work? and when u reach home its night time?

air wick

Postby air wick » November 19th, 2008, 1:29 pm

I know some people from south that leave 5:30am each day but reach bk home like 430pm daily...

the ones who do have no choice cause gov't jobs are better than what they are getting in south

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » November 19th, 2008, 1:35 pm

its a choice...

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 19th, 2008, 1:37 pm

That's something I would never understand..
I got the job in POS on a Tue.. Wed was a public holiday (used the day to move)
Thur began working leaving from my new living area..
I doh understand how ppl could willingly put themselves through such torture

Postby wagonrunner » November 19th, 2008, 1:37 pm

1). difference in salary
2). 20mins commute to work in the am, 2hr commute to home.
3) extra curricular activities
4) extra curricular activities
5) extra curricular activities

douglaking

Postby douglaking » November 19th, 2008, 1:47 pm

Oleander wrote:That's something I would never understand..

Basically if you fall in the bracket where you make enough not to want to work south but not enough to pay the rent to stay up north, you have to choose.

I usually come up real early to beat the traffic, i would finish my sleep in the car or in the office. It's a hard knock life, the jobs in south don't pay as well

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 19th, 2008, 2:09 pm

douglaking wrote:

Basically if you fall in the bracket where you make enough not to want to work south but not enough to pay the rent to stay up north, you have to choose.

I usually come up real early to beat the traffic, i would finish my sleep in the car or in the office. It's a hard knock life, the jobs in south don't pay as well

ispat,petrotrin etc,,,dem doh pay good? i got a good salary back then,and i livin north eh,,, :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

air wick

Postby air wick » November 19th, 2008, 2:21 pm

Rahtid wrote:
douglaking wrote:

ispat,petrotrin etc,,,dem doh pay good? i got a good salary back then,and i livin north eh,,, :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

ISPAT, PETROTRIN, ALNG etc.. cannot employ everyone from south.... it's the ones who can't get good jobs turn to service commission etc...

Postby honda hoe » November 19th, 2008, 2:23 pm

the jobs in south don't pay as well

what a pack of sh!t

u feel if u workin as a teller in scotia u'll be paid less just cuz its a south branch

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » November 19th, 2008, 2:25 pm

Travis wrote:
Rahtid wrote:
douglaking wrote:

ISPAT, PETROTRIN, ALNG etc.. cannot employ everyone from south.... it's the ones who can't get good jobs turn to service commission etc...

Define "good jobs"

Postby Gem_in_i » November 19th, 2008, 2:26 pm

For the Govt worker you go work where they put you.
You apply for a transfer South but the Vacancy is few and far between.
Or You cannot move up North because you have a family to take care of in South or maybe they have loans etc and cannot afford to rent.

There are many reasons why people make choices they do.

air wick

Postby air wick » November 19th, 2008, 2:38 pm

Mr. Cheese wrote:
Define "good jobs"

A good job to me is one that is permanent and makes enough to live comfortably and still have enough to put aside for saving etc.

the cost of living depends on your lifestyle... etc so a good job for me might not be the same for someone else....
Last edited by air wick on November 19th, 2008, 2:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: ppl who live deep south

Postby equipped2ripp » November 19th, 2008, 2:39 pm

honda hoe wrote:wuz d point in getting a job in POS an hafta leave home 4 o clock every morning just to get to work on time?

couldn't ur time and resources be much better utilised getting a job southside? and don't say u can't get any

how productive can u really be when u spend 3 hrs to get to work? and when u reach home its night time?

it's called a sacrifice.

if the gov't were to decentralise POS (gov't offices), this would help to relieve the traffic.. but no, they're not gonna do it.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » November 19th, 2008, 2:40 pm

Things so bad for me in south that I doh get paid :cry: :cry: :cry:

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » November 19th, 2008, 2:42 pm

Travis wrote:
Mr. Cheese wrote:
Define "good jobs"

A good job to me is one that is permanent and makes enough to live comfortably and still have enough to put aside for saving etc.

the cost of living depends on your lifestyle... etc so a good job for me might not be the same for someone else....

seen...

Re: ppl who live deep south

Postby SR » November 19th, 2008, 2:44 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
honda hoe wrote:wuz d point in getting a job in POS an hafta leave home 4 o clock every morning just to get to work on time?

it's called a sacrifice.

if the gov't were to decentralise POS (gov't offices), this would help to relieve the traffic.. but no, they're not gonna do it.

ha ha ha

de sentra lies................

patos and his cronies will never do that otherwsie thier grand waterfront project will have no audience

there are many governemt offices that jsut dont need to be in pos

but now where yuh gonna put them

traffic congestion is ridiculous in chaguanas due to poor foresight of those in charge

douglaking

Postby douglaking » November 19th, 2008, 2:53 pm

honda hoe wrote:
the jobs in south don't pay as well

what a pack of sh!t

u feel if u workin as a teller in scotia u'll be paid less just cuz its a south branch

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Ok let me explain.

Given there are a a few companies in south that pay well. It all depends on the field that you are in.

For example you wouldn't expect someone who has a marketing backgroud to work as a teller....

I know that there are a few companies that pay well but what if all the positions in lets say IT are filled what does someone with IT skills do? go and sell shoes in Francis fashions?

Basically limited number of places, limited number of openings. I applied everywhere (north, south and central) when i came out of school, and the companies from up north called at first. Those in south called long afterwards and were offerin much less.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » November 19th, 2008, 2:54 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:For the Govt worker you go work where they put you.
You apply for a transfer South but the Vacancy is few and far between.
Or You cannot move up North because you have a family to take care of in South or maybe they have loans etc and cannot afford to rent.

There are many reasons why people make choices they do.

Presenting, an argument with sense...

depending on yur qualifications, Town has the better jobs and and salaries (esp. for gov't workers) Petrotrin and ALNG can't employ the whole of South, cuz they even have workers from North too.

SO North ppl shud work North and South ppl shud wrk South? :?:

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » November 19th, 2008, 2:55 pm

pioneer wrote:Foresight on the whole with respect to EVERYTHING was lacking.

Jus look at the eastern main road and souther main road, then ask yourself, where was the foresight.

where was the SENSE!!!

Postby Greypatch » November 19th, 2008, 4:10 pm

soon most big offices will be in central and south....l

less water nah

varung

Postby varung » November 19th, 2008, 4:28 pm

UNLESS IS OIL AND GAS INDUSTRY, do businesses in south really pay well, compared to businesses in south.

half ah dem is some set of famalee working in the business.

Postby wagonrunner » November 19th, 2008, 4:38 pm

varung wrote:UNLESS IS OIL AND GAS INDUSTRY, do businesses in south really pay well, compared to businesses in south.

burr

Postby equipped2ripp » November 19th, 2008, 4:40 pm

same thing i was thinkin... :lol:

re-read what you type

Virus

Postby Virus » November 19th, 2008, 4:50 pm

Is a mind set to wake up and get to work on time most south ppl me included, leave early hrs in the morning just to make that lil extra that south cant give and trust me south have nothing despite what most will say the average south person doesn't make as much as some1 in north hence the reasons why we leave south. Even experience etc is much better in POS.

So there goes my reason
Experience
Salary
A better name for yourself :shock:

NOW I COULD BE WRONG BUT JUST MY VIEW ON THE SUBJECT

varung

Postby varung » November 19th, 2008, 4:52 pm

varung wrote:UNLESS IS OIL AND GAS INDUSTRY, do businesses in south really pay well, compared to businesses in south.

burr

oh lawd
sorry i meant north

Virus

Postby Virus » November 19th, 2008, 4:54 pm

Oh but ent they supposed to move some government buildings or private owned companies to the place in construction off gasprillo ?

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » November 19th, 2008, 6:37 pm

i worked for 6 years in north, woke up at 3:30am left home at 4:15 to catch a bus for 5:00, get to north 6:15, then get to the office at 7:00am, then i would leave the office at 3:30pm to get to classes in south for 5:00, get home by 9:00 and finish studying by 12:30 then go to bed and do the same thing the next day.......

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 19th, 2008, 6:40 pm

rdeonarine wrote:i worked for 6 years in north, woke up at 3:30am left home at 4:15 to catch a bus for 5:00, get to north 6:15, then get to the office at 7:00am, then i would leave the office at 3:30pm to get to classes in south for 5:00, get home by 9:00 and finish studying by 12:30 then go to bed and do the same thing the next day.......

you have u r 1st Deg, MSC and PHD..... WTF!!! :shock: :shock:

Postby tr1ad » November 19th, 2008, 6:43 pm

he survive on 3 1/2 hrs sleep per day.....yea rite

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » November 19th, 2008, 6:46 pm

seriously guys that was my routine for 3 years while i was studying, i had weekends to catch up on sleep ,the other 3 years while i worked in pos, the earliest i would get home is 7:00pm