Generating your own electricity is illegal

Ronnie203

Generating your own electricity is illegal

Postby Ronnie203 » November 6th, 2008, 9:23 am

....this ridiculous now, Light bill reaching New Undiscovered highs, pockets being emptied into T&TEC

*looks for alternative*

did you'al know the gov'm has a ban on Importing SOLAR PANELS or any equipment similar or acts to reproduce electricity by means of SOLAR energy ????? :wtf:

Postby MG Man » November 6th, 2008, 9:41 am

by law citizens cannot generate their own power without some sort of license
There is no precedent for a citizen applying for a permit to power his home with solar cells but they would probably blany you anyway
my sources tell me even using a price smart inverter to run your power tools from your car battery is technically illegal
Apparently u supposed to get a permit to buy a generator as well.......

then you go to Barbados and every house has a bank of solar cells on the roof, and you start to wonder......

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » November 6th, 2008, 9:48 am

^^ exactly..Barbados, Genada, they all have Solar water Heaters, and Solar Power

:roll: we should rally for the rights of citizens to purchase they own solar powered system.....its abundantly available in the US, and Germany market

Not sure how the Chinese one will hold out though

Postby wagonrunner » November 6th, 2008, 9:55 am

ironically, in bago, there are a lot of solar heaters, especially in the western end of the island overlooking the sea.

but in t'dad, as mg man said, its an issue if you generate your own power supply.

Postby RBphoto » November 6th, 2008, 10:15 am

I feel I going to get an old mitsubishi alternator, put it up on a pole with a old lasko fan blade (only the best wil do) and see if I can't charge a few batteries, to run some second hand b13 foglights from Bix to light up my garage in the night.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 6th, 2008, 11:00 am

thats screwed yo

and there i was gonna buy solar panels :? :?

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 6th, 2008, 11:02 am

my neighbour in trini has had solar panels on their roof for about 5-10 years now.

think they use it to heat water

Postby MG Man » November 6th, 2008, 11:05 am

^^^I am building a house now and was looking into it, and believe me, road blocks galore
But now thinking about it, I am sure I've seen marine suppliers in chaguaramas selling wind powered generators for yachties.....hmm

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 6th, 2008, 11:08 am

but is trini, u really feel them checking ?

68MUSTANG

Postby 68MUSTANG » November 6th, 2008, 11:20 am

this fackin govt is fackin crazy

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 6th, 2008, 11:26 am

no, they spending rel $$ on ttec and upgrading infrastructure, is kinda obvious they want to recoup that cost.

sad though..bdos have solar power YEARS now.

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » November 6th, 2008, 11:34 am

MadCrix wrote:but is trini, u really feel them checking ?

Was thinking the same thing!

Frig away wit dem yes!! Solar powah in yuh pweffum!!

Postby MG Man » November 6th, 2008, 11:40 am

and when u import it and customs hold it, what then?

Postby Greypatch » November 6th, 2008, 11:41 am

every little bit helps and saves the planet (sloar enegry that is)

govt should encourage this...

Postby teems1 » November 6th, 2008, 11:42 am

wait nah

den technically my scientific calculator illegal... ??

Postby MG Man » November 6th, 2008, 11:43 am

good point

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 6th, 2008, 11:45 am

teems1 wrote:wait nah

Just like if you don't have a pipe to your house, but getting water from a nearby ravine, you have to pay water rates.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » November 6th, 2008, 11:46 am

I suppose we should ban generators as well as batteries and capacitors. :roll:
Last edited by Michael Knight... on November 6th, 2008, 11:51 am, edited 2 times in total.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 6th, 2008, 11:47 am

Yea i looked into this a few years back....the law is really fcuked

Postby MG Man » November 6th, 2008, 11:47 am

Strauss wrote:
teems1 wrote:wait nah

Just like if you don't have a pipe to your house, but getting water from a nearby ravine, you have to pay water rates.

apparently that applies to ketchin rain water too

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 6th, 2008, 11:55 am

^^^ Don't think it applies to rain water... if it comes directly into a container/barrel. If the water touches the ground, then you have to pay.

Postby MG Man » November 6th, 2008, 12:01 pm

to quote Plex, Good info :shock:

Postby SR » November 6th, 2008, 12:02 pm

if i dig my own well on my own land....................

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 6th, 2008, 12:12 pm

dont worry- when the govt starts to think "green" then some MINISTER or his family will GAIN EXCLUSIVE Importing permission to sell and distribute Solar systems.

its the fcuked up way- its the pnm's cheating way!

slick

Postby slick » November 6th, 2008, 12:25 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:dont worry- when the govt starts to think "green" then some MINISTER or his family will GAIN EXCLUSIVE Importing permission to sell and distribute Solar systems.

its the fcuked up way- its the pnm's cheating way!

like ah man hit d nail on d head 8-)

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 6th, 2008, 12:44 pm

^^^^ buh like u is ah noob ah wha, evo-STI-k is the man with all the political info... and he does be on de button all the time.... :lol: :lol:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 6th, 2008, 12:49 pm

afaik, UWI has solar panels in their solar energy lab..
What about those?

Postby wagonrunner » November 6th, 2008, 12:55 pm

MG Man wrote:^^^I am building a house now and was looking into it, and believe me, road blocks galore
But now thinking about it, I am sure I've seen marine suppliers in chaguaramas selling wind powered generators for yachties.....hmm

It's possible.
also check out the mats that are on the decking of some some of those vessels. they may be a source of power as well.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » November 6th, 2008, 1:02 pm

MG Man wrote:and when u import it and customs hold it, what then?

Getting the solar system is not a problem ^^this is

It wouldn't be easy to spend thousands on a system and custom seized it :(

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 6th, 2008, 1:06 pm

SR wrote:if i dig my own well on my own land....................

You still have to pay for it.
In other words, WASA pwns you.

I wonder if the government will make you pay for if you find oil on your land too.