what a pound for?.....

rolandk

Postby rolandk » October 12th, 2008, 10:23 pm

In the process of finishing a house and renovaing my parents home.

You can get he best prices at Azad Abass Ali hardware, Edinbourg Hardware and a couple other smaller places based on what you/re looking for.

Example, clay blocks bought directly from the factor are the same price as the hardware, BUT you get an extra 12 blocks per pallet. This adds up if you plan on purchasing a truck load like I did.

Steel prices are the cheapest from edinbourg hardware - usually its a little corroded since its is coming from the Ukraine. I bought 5 tonnes for my foundation and decking. Saved over 10K compared to prices at bhagwansinghs.

For better looking steel e.g roofing I-beams etc, I bought from Azad Abass Ali - prices are average, but they deliver for free. Bought all my roofing materials from here and saved over $2K in transport.

For the best prices doors, the door factory opposite medford gas station. What other folks have for 800-900, they have for 395.00. Thye also have high quality and custom doors for up to 25K if that is what you want.

If you want to find out the average price of building a 2 storey house that the majority of indain folks would live in, you're looking at about 600-700K materials + labour (I did everything myself with the help of family and friends, so can't give a good estimate here - probably spent about 20K in food and drinks for them). I got a couple quotes for plastering my walls that ranged between 60-80K, so may be able to guide you on a few items here.

For tiles, the best place is Classic tiles behing price plaza. high quality tiles for a fraction of the price of other tile shops. And you can go back a couple years later and still get the same pattern/style. (speaking from experince here).

Feel free to contact me if you need any further information. I'm not a contractor............just built my house without any big contractor.

rolandk

Postby rolandk » October 12th, 2008, 10:37 pm

MG Man wrote:Banzai..............

since prices on everythin goin down, price on hos goin down too?

Sounds like the voice of inexperience.

Prices of homes in Trinidad have NEVER dropped. The best that you can hope is for it to level off and not continue escalating.

Note 1: Even when we went through the recession in the 80's, house prices did not fall!! There were a few exceptions such as Santa Rosa Heights which was a "new" development that people started running away from (based on break-ins and valdalism etc). So the best you can hope for is for an area to become infested with crime (more than currently) and for people to flee the development. I doubt that you would then want to live there!

Note 2: Government is not slowing down thier construction projects, so that would offset any possibiity of hardwares and suppliers of building materials actually dropping their prices.

Guess we'll have to wait and see.

Postby joker » October 13th, 2008, 12:10 am

those who built houses within the last 2yrs get real shaft ....

building material going down

steel prices DROP AND WILL BE DROPPINGWITHIN THE NEXT 3 MTHS

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 13th, 2008, 6:04 am

rolandk wrote:
MG Man wrote:Banzai..............

since prices on everythin goin down, price on hos goin down too?

Sounds like the voice of inexperience.

Prices of homes in Trinidad have NEVER dropped. The best that you can hope is for it to level off and not continue escalating.

Note 1: Even when we went through the recession in the 80's, house prices did not fall!! There were a few exceptions such as Santa Rosa Heights which was a "new" development that people started running away from (based on break-ins and valdalism etc). So the best you can hope for is for an area to become infested with crime (more than currently) and for people to flee the development. I doubt that you would then want to live there!

Note 2: Government is not slowing down thier construction projects, so that would offset any possibiity of hardwares and suppliers of building materials actually dropping their prices.

Guess we'll have to wait and see.

Man talkin bout important tings like the price of hos and you go come talking on pack ah a§§ about price ah house?

steupsssss

Postby joker » October 13th, 2008, 6:15 am

go and check prices , and tell mih if i lying , prices ARE LOWER

aR&D

Re: what a pound for?.....

Postby aR&D » October 13th, 2008, 7:53 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:blocks
Gravel
Cement
Gypsum
Alluminum Windows
Doors
Tiles
Steel

these days?

Hey Banzai,

I am not actively monitoring the prices of the materials you listed but i can offer some advise/suggestions on what you can consider for your building project:

* If space permits, buy your bags of cement in bulk. Many people say that no, dont do that, de cement will get hard. that is BS and i have proven it to be BS with at least 10 open bags of unused cement sitting idle for about 3 weeks on the bare ground. When i had to use it, de cement mixing just like if it was a new sealed bag. So imagine if the bags are sealed/new, wrapped in bales of plastic and on a pallet .. the cement will not get hard. You will always want cement. Your contractor may say buy a 20 bag here, buy a 20 bag there ... you just go and buy 50! bags and done de talk.

* Steel prices are or will be dropping. you may want to consider buying your steel or any of the above materials during the "non-building" season, usually the rainy season. What happens is that come "building-season" material and even transportation prices go up, can become scare etc.

* Strike a deal with a hardware if possible. What i did was approach different hardware (ended up with one in Central, can PM you de name if you like) to supply me and i will buy from them will all my materials and treat me as if i was a "mini-hardware" buying from them - kinda like a mini-wholesale arrangement. And it worked out for me with a savings of almost 8.2% off the regular prices. The owner even give me a credit line and free transport and access to materials even on a Sunday.

* Your foundation and decking: Dont skimp on these two areas. Go with quality 1st grade pre-mix pouring cement. Additional consider placing and planning the plumbing fixtures within your decking to facilitate toilets, baths, sinks etc. That way you are not "forced" to have your baths/toilets only along a wall. Think how they do it in foreign, they run their pipes through the flooring and all terminating in the basement. Consider the use of decking-pan as oppose to decking-ply and calculate the height from the ground floor to underneath your ceiling so that you will be able to ceil off your downstairs. Again many people traditionally just smooth plaster it and paint it. I'm sure you've seen this and have also seen how much better and nicer (better ROI too) a nice gypsum ceiling looks.

good luck!

Postby AllTrac » October 13th, 2008, 9:32 am

lettuce is $12