Tools - suggestions

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 12th, 2008, 1:00 pm

GOS

AND I TESTIN ANYBODY ELSE WHO WHA RUSH EEN!!!

GoS

Postby GoS » October 12th, 2008, 1:04 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:GOS

AND I TESTIN ANYBODY ELSE WHO WHA RUSH EEN!!!
hm mm gangster behavior on the forum

larafan

Postby larafan » October 12th, 2008, 2:29 pm

i aint seeing no power handle dey tho....

and saltydorg right...all yuh really need is a good hammer...

Postby r3iXmann » October 12th, 2008, 4:27 pm

other handy misc. tools:

Offset spanner set
Aviation/Tin snips
Dremel :fadein:

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2008, 4:30 pm

crafstman is d best....lifetime warranty and guarantee.....if you can break it...they WILL replace it....guaranteed....

make sure and get all the sizes of sockets you'll need...shallow and depth sockets...as well as rachets and drive extensions....also make sure an get a good screwdriver set.....preferably one with tips.....one handle screwdriver and you just attach the tips..saves space and $$ of carrying around a lot of different screwdrivers when u can just carry around tips and a handle....

tips come in a small pouch like kit...so it kinda hard to loose...also they magnetic....so you doh hav to worry about screws fallin off the tip when you tryin to screw them in....also they can work in a drilll for automation....and you cant break them....believe me i've tried....

craftsman powertools are not really long lasting...drills....etc but mechanic sets are excellent...

wait until they hava public holiday there..meaning big sale with discount and then buy...

NOTE: make sure the tools come in a briefcase kinda thing.....they usually package it in bags and put the bags into the briefcase an sell it.....and u now have to arrange the parts according to their size and place that is made for them on the inside of the kit...

my father has one...will TRY and load up pics for u to see....

P.S> hammer not really important.... buy an stanley hammer with a wooden handle....remove the wooden handle and weld on a metal one.....lol.....cheaper an cost effective.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2008, 4:39 pm

this should suffice

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1260 ... ?adCell=A3

and just add any additional stuff you require

shipping to a freight forwarder in miami shouldnt be more than $30 standard shipping

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 12th, 2008, 5:21 pm

pioneer wrote:I see Anil does use craftsman tools....he doh use nuttin else

Craftsman are nice tools, klein also is nice..

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » October 12th, 2008, 5:23 pm

i got the goodyear set from pricesmart
works good

Re: Tools - suggestions

Postby 3stagevtec » October 12th, 2008, 5:24 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:was lookin at the GoodYear set from Pricesmart for ~TT$650
but the quality couldnt be that hot for the price

i have that goodyear set and it holding out nicely.. they get used quite often as well with no complaints..

is mostly light - medium duty use i put them through though..

Postby Cjruckus » October 12th, 2008, 5:32 pm

craftsman makes the good sheit, you really cant go wrong with that.

Mini

Postby Mini » October 12th, 2008, 5:42 pm

you should be good with a 10mm, 12mm, 17mm and 19mm for now (an 8mm will also come in handy).. with that combination and a good Phillips head screwdriver yuh could dismantle most japanese cars.

ah mean.. how often you will need like a 15 or a 16...

buy that basics for now and then add on as you need fit..

however them ratchet wrenches does make life real easy sometime.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2008, 5:46 pm

he has to determine what does he really need the tool kit for

can you see duane actually doing work on his own car??

however a good complete tool set is always a good thing to have around the house

as well as your own hammer,drill, stepladder, cutlass etc

it have some neighbours here who dont own a flippin tool and feel every weekend they go send d workman to borrow

Postby X_Factor » October 12th, 2008, 5:50 pm

the Goodyear set pricemart has, its pretty decent for the cost, my cuz has a set and between himself and I , that got good liks already...changing shocks, using it on spring clamps, taking out exhaust manifolds etc...it has stood up till this date except for the 3/8 ratchet, well the button that you use to release the sockets no longer works as well as the switch to select direction sticks sometimes

Postby SR » October 12th, 2008, 5:53 pm

thats becasue you drop the handle

i have noticed that with cheaper kits when the ratchet handle falls or is is dropped a few time the toggle switch and button tends to give trouble
as well as if dust/muck gets inside it

the more expensive ones are much better sealed and can handle rough treatment

Postby X_Factor » October 12th, 2008, 6:09 pm

allyuh talkin bout hammer, i must hav this one!!
looks even sexier in real!!

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1260 ... Name=Tools

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00937442000P
best measuring tape ever!!

http://www.irwin.com/irwin/consumer/jht ... Prod100226
another amazing accessory!!
Last edited by X_Factor on October 12th, 2008, 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 13th, 2008, 12:02 am

SR wrote:he has to determine what does he really need the tool kit for

can you see duane actually doing work on his own car??

however a good complete tool set is always a good thing to have around the house

as well as your own hammer,drill, stepladder, cutlass etc

it have some neighbours here who dont own a flippin tool and feel every weekend they go send d workman to borrow

DITTO - thus the appeal of a good hammer and some pliers too

Mini wrote:you should be good with a 10mm, 12mm, 17mm and 19mm for now (an 8mm will also come in handy).. with that combination and a good Phillips head screwdriver yuh could dismantle most japanese cars.

ah mean.. how often you will need like a 15 or a 16...

buy that basics for now and then add on as you need fit..

however them ratchet wrenches does make life real easy sometime.

thats what I'm thinking
the metric sizes are hardly ever used

a 8mm, 10mm and 12mm etc in that cool jointed ratchet would be great

and the same sizes in 1/2" and 3/8" sockets with extensions and ratchet handles

Postby eliteauto » October 13th, 2008, 12:08 am

^^mmm sexy * checks credit card*

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 13th, 2008, 12:33 am

snap-on or mac.....professional mechanic tools

craftsman.....weekend warrior ( DIY )

stanley.....cheep arse contractor shitt (debe special)

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » October 13th, 2008, 3:38 pm

The price mart one good. I bought 2 . It was cheeper (4something)about a few months ago and was selling like hot bread. I had to go back a few times to get a second set.
Get yourself a few breaker bar or a T handle or a power handle and stop using the ratchet to tighten and loose nuts and bolt . Ratchets are not design for that. Ratchets are design to speed running up or down a bolt or nut, then use a breaker bar for tightening or loosing.
Aim for 1/2" drive or bigger for the tougher works.

Price mart had a nice tool chest too a few months ago. stainless steel drawers and slides. good price $3000 . Too bad when i went back to buy a second one all was gone- even the one in the show case.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » October 13th, 2008, 4:59 pm

Snap-on is very good. I bought some screw drivers and the tips must be made of diamond. They are so tough compared to crap like stanley etc. Really those tools will last you a lifetime.

Postby Razkal » October 13th, 2008, 5:06 pm

Cjruckus wrote:craftsman makes the good sheit, you really cant go wrong with that.

Just a question, you ever pull a spanner in ur life to back up that recommendation? :lol:

Anyways, i thought everything automated in the west, car does fix themselves etc etc... :lol:

PM still have the Goodyear sets? I need to get a set as well, lost a decent amount of the tools at home and i have no idea where/how it happened :|

larafan

Postby larafan » October 13th, 2008, 5:31 pm

Razkal wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:craftsman makes the good sheit, you really cant go wrong with that.

Just a question, you ever pull a spanner in ur life to back up that recommendation? :lol:

Anyways, i thought everything automated in the west, car does fix themselves etc etc... :lol:

PM still have the Goodyear sets? I need to get a set as well, lost a decent amount of the tools at home and i have no idea where/how it happened :|

de rat and dem pass and take it...

and yeah...we've destroyed our fair share of craftsman tools...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 13th, 2008, 5:34 pm

sufferrar wrote:The price mart one good. I bought 2 . It was cheeper (4something)about a few months ago and was selling like hot bread. I had to go back a few times to get a second set.
Get yourself a few breaker bar or a T handle or a power handle and stop using the ratchet to tighten and loose nuts and bolt . Ratchets are not design for that. Ratchets are design to speed running up or down a bolt or nut, then use a breaker bar for tightening or loosing.
Aim for 1/2" drive or bigger for the tougher works.

Price mart had a nice tool chest too a few months ago. stainless steel drawers and slides. good price $3000 . Too bad when i went back to buy a second one all was gone- even the one in the show case.

yeah i have a 1/2" drive power handle - it sleeps in my trunk as I use that with a hex key as my wheel spanner for my hex lugs

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 13th, 2008, 8:37 pm

i buying the wrong kind dese days .. the kinds with legs... i losing tools from pple i lent

all my regular tools are craftsman and they hold up quite well ..

if u go snap on u wont ever have to make posts like these anymore.. however u may have to spend over that budget .. plus shipping..

the craftsman will never let u down as well u will have alot more tools for any other odd job that may come up ... might even help certain honda and scooby owners.. :twisted: :twisted: :evil: :evil: