trancer

Postby trancer » September 25th, 2008, 4:19 pm

Someone could do the maths...

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » September 25th, 2008, 4:46 pm

Premium vs. Regular Gas: How to Decide
(Updated July 16 2008)

The Bottom Line Most cars don't need premium, but a few do -- and not necessarily the ones you'd expect. And premium's not likely to "clean" your engine, either.

While many people claim that their car runs better on premium, this costly fuel is really only needed in a few circumstances. However, when it is needed, it must be used to spare your engine from costly damage. On the other hand, if you burn premium when your car doesn’t need it, the damage won’t be to your engine but only to your pocketbook.

It’s All In The Numbers

The AKI (anti-knock index -- also known as "octane rating") of the fuel is an average of two different methods of computing the fuel's ability to resist engine knock. Regular unleaded gas in the U.S. has an anti-knock index of 87, while mid-grade is usually 89, and premium typically is 91 - 93. The higher the number, the more anti-knock protection the fuel offers.

Engine knock occurs when the fuel in the cylinder ignites by itself before the spark plug ignites it. The technical name for this condition is "pre-ignition." It sounds like marbles rattling around in a can, and it generally gets worse the harder you press on the accelerator pedal.

Knocking can indeed damage an engine because what is in effect happening is the "explosion" of the fuel/air mixture is trying to push the piston downward in the cylinder before it's gotten to the top of its stroke and is free to move downward. The engine is actually working against itself to a degree, and there is a lot of mechanical stress placed on certain engine parts, such as the pistons. In extreme cases, knocking can burn holes in the pistons and create other forms of engine damage.

Oil companies sell higher AKI fuels (also known as premium) to address this problem. A fuel with a higher AKI actually burns more SLOWLY than fuel with a lower AKI. This is because the fuel is less volatile and requires more heat input before it begins to ignite.

(For this same reason, high AKI fuels will actually make your car HARDER to start on a very cold day. In extreme cold -- below 0 degrees F -- you want a more volatile fuel which ignites easily so you can get the engine going without extensive cranking. So if extreme cold is expected, buy 87 AKI gas unless your owner’s manual advises against it.)

Who Needs Premium?

Basically, all premium fuel does is resist knock. So the short answer to the above question of “Who Needs Premium?â€

dmitc

Postby dmitc » September 25th, 2008, 4:48 pm

UAE TT$2.32 per litre
Venezuela $$0.32 per litre

i may be off but that seems to be it

Postby teems1 » September 25th, 2008, 5:09 pm

trancer wrote:Image

Someone could do the maths...

RM is Malaysia's currency. anyhow.

1USD = 3.23RM

therefore

6.25TT = 3.23RM

switch it around and divide both sides by 3.23

1RM = (6.25/3.23)TT

1RM = 1.93TT. (lets round up to 2TT cuz i'm being generous and easier to compute)

All prices in TT and per litre

Trinidad = 4.00
UAE = 2.38
Egypt = 2.06
Bahrain = 1.74
Qatar = 1.36
Kuwait = 1.34
Saudi = 0.76
Iran = 0.70
Nigeria = 0.64
Turkmenistan = 0.50
Venezuela = 0.32

Smokey

Postby Smokey » September 25th, 2008, 6:26 pm

sheit i could fill my tank with jus $15TT in venezuela!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 25th, 2008, 9:47 pm

and me with $22.40 :shock:

great article there Mr. Cheese, some more stuff here [url=http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=209562]Gasoline FAQ
[/url]

Postby equipped2ripp » September 25th, 2008, 10:43 pm

bess we start a lil import of vene gas under low yes :lol:... but i sure their quality is poor.

Postby UML » September 26th, 2008, 7:00 am

all this talk bout from ppl who want to add actane boosters to their super gas to get better performance

...if every time u buy super gas u have to buy an octane booster.....better u save the time money and effort and just buy PREMIUM GAS....cause i sure is over $20 for ah octane booster....it most likely be cheaper tuh just use the premium gas!!!

:idea:

Postby eliteauto » September 26th, 2008, 8:46 am

log on to http://i955fm.com/nowplaying.aspx and listen now

dmitc

Postby dmitc » September 26th, 2008, 9:14 am

UML wrote:all this talk bout from ppl who want to add actane boosters to their super gas to get better performance

...if every time u buy super gas u have to buy an octane booster.....better u save the time money and effort and just buy PREMIUM GAS....cause i sure is over $20 for ah octane booster....it most likely be cheaper tuh just use the premium gas!!!

a lil calculation for you

AE101 40litres to full

40 x 2.70 = 108 a full thank on super
108 + 40 = 148 a full tank on super with a $40 bottle of octane booster
40 x 4.00 = 160 a full tank on premium

yuh still come out cheaper on super and the octane booster

Postby UML » September 26th, 2008, 9:37 am

dmitc wrote:
UML wrote:all this talk bout from ppl who want to add actane boosters to their super gas to get better performance

a lil calculation for you

AE101 40litres to full

40 x 2.70 = 108 a full thank on super
108 + 40 = 148 a full tank on super with a $40 bottle of octane booster
40 x 4.00 = 160 a full tank on premium

yuh still come out cheaper on super and the octane booster

k thx for the info man 8-)

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 26th, 2008, 12:48 pm

^^^ yea but en yuh have to drive and buy d octane booster so ah sure daz d same $20 dollars yuh wasting....oh by the way octane booster doesnt do jack sit

jaceson

Postby jaceson » September 26th, 2008, 1:51 pm

anyone notice a REDUCTION in road rage?

cause i still mad as hell when i reach home (my commute POS to Central)

the traffic is still the same, just slower and i taking 15mins more to reach home cause i driving much slower

dsaint

Postby dsaint » September 26th, 2008, 4:43 pm

Everyone is overlooking one detail though. The pump says the fuel octane rating is 91 and 93 or whatever. Do you really think that is what you're getting? Let's be real here ...

I am not so sure that the only issue with Super Unleaded is the lower octane. The super gas in many of the gas stations have more impurities. Go ahead and put Super in your new cars and see what happens after a couple months of use.I know of two people one with a Mitsu Lancer and another who had a relatively new Nissan that used Super Gas, not only did it mess up their injectors but it feffed up the Oxygen sensors and Catalytic convertors. Some of the newer cars with sensors in the Cat get all screwed up. ...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 26th, 2008, 8:53 pm

The super gas in many of the gas stations have more impurities.

ANd the tanks that the Premium gas is stored in is amazingly clean?

new Nissan that used Super Gas, not only did it mess up their injectors but it feffed up the Oxygen sensors and Catalytic convertors. Some of the newer cars with sensors in the Cat get all screwed up. ...

How does unleaded (read that again eh... U N L E A D E D ) SUper gas mess up an O2 sensor?

Before mouthing off with ah set of misinformation and general BS, how the heck does Super dirty injectors? What.....we does run ah septic tank through it? The red colour come from dead rat inside the Super tank?

Are you aware that Super and Premium both come from the SAME source tank? And are carried in the SAME trucks?

So how d fack Super end up being dirtier?

(( awaits answer from dsaint ))

Or better yet, go try putting Super in a bottle, and Premium in a bottle, and see which one has more crap settle out first.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 26th, 2008, 9:04 pm

The premium would setting out first since it's less dense.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 26th, 2008, 9:32 pm

dsaint wrote: I am not so sure that the only issue with Super Unleaded is the lower octane. The super gas in many of the gas stations have more impurities. Go ahead and put Super in your new cars and see what happens after a couple months of use.I know of two people one with a Mitsu Lancer and another who had a relatively new Nissan that used Super Gas, not only did it mess up their injectors but it feffed up the Oxygen sensors and Catalytic convertors. Some of the newer cars with sensors in the Cat get all screwed up. ...

Thats why we have such things known as fuel filters :roll: :roll:

eitech

Postby eitech » September 27th, 2008, 12:00 am

this thread would go on and on about which gas to use. Ppl jus use want yuh want to use and comfortable with. If yuh find premium to expensive, use d super. At d end of the day it's all about money

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 27th, 2008, 6:26 am

The premium would setting out first since it's less dense

ROFL

Postby RBphoto » September 27th, 2008, 1:15 pm

Knight1 wrote:
The premium would setting out first since it's less dense

ROFL

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2008, 3:37 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
dsaint wrote: I am not so sure that the only issue with Super Unleaded is the lower octane. The super gas in many of the gas stations have more impurities. Go ahead and put Super in your new cars and see what happens after a couple months of use.I know of two people one with a Mitsu Lancer and another who had a relatively new Nissan that used Super Gas, not only did it mess up their injectors but it feffed up the Oxygen sensors and Catalytic convertors. Some of the newer cars with sensors in the Cat get all screwed up. ...

dsaint, the Super fuel is UNLEADED - so it cant damage the O2 sensors and catalytic converter - the symptoms to mention are for leaded gas which they dont sell in T&T gas stations again.

for low compression cars (passenger / non turbo etc) you can use Super with no problems - anything else is just mind over matter

Postby equipped2ripp » September 27th, 2008, 8:56 pm

i dunno why they never changed the name of the 92RON fuel from super to regular unleaded... always misleading the public in that people always think "super" is leaded fuel :?

Rx

Postby Rx » September 28th, 2008, 10:48 am

I vex .. put $137 in the Fozzy tank .. that's $34.25 more :evil:
that's nearly the price of a 6pack Carib :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Frick that ... I still hadda go places ...

Good time for a 2nd vehicle - diesel stylin' :twisted:

dsaint

Postby dsaint » September 29th, 2008, 10:01 am

TriniVdub wrote:

dsaint, the Super fuel is UNLEADED - so it cant damage the O2 sensors and catalytic converter - the symptoms to mention are for leaded gas which they dont sell in T&T gas stations again.

for low compression cars (passenger / non turbo etc) you can use Super with no problems - anything else is just mind over matter

Completely understood, but I'm not saying this based on what I think. Just talking from the experience of two friends and mechanics that they took the cars to both said the same thing. They said it is the fuel. Was also told by one of them that a guy from NP said that although they say it's Super Unleaded the fuel does have lead in it. *shrug* I don't know, I don't work for NP and am not a mechanic. Just mentioning their experience.

On the other hand I agree with eitech, it's a matter of preference. Personally for my own peace of mind I will stick to the premium.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 29th, 2008, 10:03 am

I went up by $40 in the SGVs. Not too bad.

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2008, 10:20 am

norstar2k wrote:I went up by $40 in the SGVs. Not too bad.

do the maths of +$40 a tank full, by 9 tankfuls a month, that extra $360 cuts into ppls savings in already frugal times.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 29th, 2008, 11:00 am

^Ent, and super making my car perform strange (yeah, more than usual :lol: ). Premium price for me :x

Postby crazybalhead » September 29th, 2008, 11:01 am

norstar2k wrote:I went up by $40 in the SGVs. Not too bad.

do the maths of +$40 a tank full, by 9 tankfuls a month, that extra $360 cuts into ppls savings in already frugal times.

Time to stop buying shittings jerk... :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2008, 11:12 am

crazybalhead wrote:Time to stop buying shittings jerk... :lol:

yuh mean let other ppl buy me beers when they hail me out. :lol: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » September 29th, 2008, 11:20 am

crazybalhead wrote:Time to stop buying shittings jerk... :lol:

yuh mean let other ppl buy me beers when they hail me out. :lol: :lol:

Yuh cheap MC. :lol: :lol: