Zoom Airlines suspend all flights

Mini

Zoom Airlines suspend all flights

Postby Mini » August 30th, 2008, 8:01 pm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/7586654.stm

Transatlantic budget carrier Zoom Airlines has suspended all flights and is applying to go into administration.

Thousands of passengers due to fly with Zoom have been told to rebook with other carriers, and to contact credit or debit card issuers about refunds.

Earlier, two of the airline's jets were held at Glasgow and Cardiff airports.

UK-Canadian Zoom blamed its problems on the "horrendous" price of jet fuel - which had added $50m (£27.3m) to annual fuel bills - and the economic slowdown.

'Desperately sorry'

Zoom, which has flown since 2001, employs 450 staff in Canada and 260 staff in the UK.

It operated flights from London Gatwick, Glasgow, Manchester, Cardiff and Belfast, as well as Paris and Rome.

And it flew to eight destinations in Canada, New York, San Diego, Fort Lauderdale and Bermuda.

Zoom's co-founder Hugh Boyle told BBC News he "did not hold much hope" of finding new investors to salvage the company.

"We are very, very sad and disappointed that we thought we could pull through this very difficult situation," he said.

"We had some financing in place, but sadly it didn't come quick enough to avert some of the creditors who came in today to seize one of the planes, which resulted in a domino effect of the situation that we're faced with".

In a statement, Mr Boyle and his brother John said they "deeply regretted" having to suspend all Zoom operations.

One of the grounded planes had been due to leave Glasgow on Thursday

"It is a tragic day for our passengers and staff," they said.

"We are desperately sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment that this will cause passengers and those who have booked flights.

"We have done everything we can to support the airline and left no stone unturned to secure a re-financing package that would have kept our aircraft flying."

They added that hopes of securing a new investment package to ensure future operations had failed, meaning administration procedures had to begin.

Zoom said BA and Virgin Atlantic were offering "special" fares for passengers whose flights had been cancelled.

Trip jeopardy

The announcement came after one of its planes was detained at Glasgow Airport for non-payment of air traffic control charges.

Meanwhile passengers on a flight from Cardiff were told to get off their Zoom plane, which was then impounded.

One of the passengers due to fly from Glasgow to Vancouver said he had been told on Thursday morning that there was a "technical difficulty" with the aircraft, and that the plane would not leave until 11pm.

"Then at 7 o'clock the British airport authorities started telling us that Zoom Airlines had entered into administration and basically that we could go home," William Moonie told BBC News.

"This was supposed to be a holiday of a lifetime for my wife and I. I've just retired from the fire service after 30 odd years and my wife is 50 this year.

"We were going to have a celebration holiday. We were supposed to go on a cruise to Alaska and supposed to go to the Rocky Mountains by train."

He added he was hopeful that, because his flight was part of a package holiday, he may be covered by the CAA's Air Travel Organiser's Licence (Atol) scheme.

Cutting back

A number of other budget long-haul carriers have gone into administration in recent months, including Hong Kong-to-London carrier Oasis and business class transatlantic firms Eos, Maxjet and Silverjet.

The rising cost of oil - which topped $147 a barrel in July - has led to aviation fuel bills soaring.

"They had based their business model on oil prices of about $70 or $80," said Simon Calder, travel editor of The Independent.

"Once it topped $140 they simply could not cope."

He added that "tens of thousands" of passengers were likely to suffer.

Airline analysts say that with consumers being more cost-conscious, many were cutting back on luxury spending such as travel.

WHAT SHOULD ZOOM AIRLINES' PASSENGERS DO?

Any Zoom flight you have booked will not be departing. If you still wish to travel, Zoom recommends contacting other carriers and lists several on its website

If your flight is part of a package holiday originating from the UK, you may be able to make a claim under the CAA's Air Travel Organiser's Licence (Atol) scheme.

If you have paid for a Zoom flight, contact your credit card or debit card issuer to see if they can refund your money
Source: Zoom Airlines

Postby Gem_in_i » August 30th, 2008, 8:20 pm

So wht abt the Trinis from Canada who wud have been returning this weekend for school etc?
They wud have to buy new tickets? Normally after a holiday all extra $$$ is low so I sorry for some of those people. And especially with entire families travelling with children etc.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 30th, 2008, 8:22 pm

Damn. They're a carrier for many local light-weight goods from Miami. I seriously thought that the airlines would have bounced back after the 911 phase but it looks like the oil epidemic is their new straw to break the camel's back.

Postby Team Loco » August 30th, 2008, 8:32 pm

zoom airlines was one of the better airlines i flew with. sorry to hear this

Postby Maserati » August 30th, 2008, 8:35 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:So wht abt the Trinis from Canada who wud have been returning this weekend for school etc?
They wud have to buy new tickets? Normally after a holiday all extra $$$ is low so I sorry for some of those people. And especially with entire families travelling with children etc.

Mini wrote:
If you have paid for a Zoom flight, contact your credit card or debit card issuer to see if they can refund your money
Source: Zoom Airlines[/b]

Postby Gem_in_i » August 30th, 2008, 8:45 pm

You don't get $$$ credited right away. I had problems with Delta and it took months of back and forth with the Bank and Delta Airlines before I got my account credited.

Wht abt people who bought with cash?

And they said to see IF you wud get your money back not to get your money back.

Postby Maserati » August 30th, 2008, 9:04 pm

For customers who have future travel plans involving a Zoom flight for which reservations and payment have been made, you should refer to your credit or debit card company to apply for a refund. We have set out details of other airlines who operate the same or similar routes to those flown with Zoom in the hope that this may assist you in making alternative travel plans to replace the flights that you had booked with Zoom.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 14th, 2008, 12:53 pm

Zoom joins a number of other budget carriers that have gone under in recent months, e.g. Oasis, EOS, Maxjet and Silverjet.

Now XL Airways, UK's 3rd largest charter airline has ceased operations effective 12.09.08, and entered into administration.

Antigua based carrier, Carib Aviation, is set to close its doors at the end of this month.

Postby SMc » September 14th, 2008, 1:24 pm

norstar2k wrote:Zoom joins a number of other budget carriers that have gone under in recent months, e.g. Oasis, EOS, Maxjet and Silverjet.

Now XL Airways, UK's 3rd largest charter airline has ceased operations effective 12.09.08, and entered into administration.

Antigua based carrier, Carib Aviation, is set to close its doors at the end of this month.

I flew with them last week :?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 14th, 2008, 2:01 pm

SMc wrote:
norstar2k wrote:Zoom joins a number of other budget carriers that have gone under in recent months, e.g. Oasis, EOS, Maxjet and Silverjet.

I flew with them last week :?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7612225.stm

Postby teems1 » September 14th, 2008, 3:01 pm

current price of jet fuel = a big fat artery clogged high cholesterol transfatty menopausal lesbian feminist beitch

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 19th, 2008, 10:13 pm

Lawd, now Alitalia in trouble.

The EU has ruled that governments can no longer fund private airlines. Italy has been forced to pull its funding from Alitalia. This has left Alitalia with not nearly enough cash to run for more than a few more weeks.

Postby Maserati » September 20th, 2008, 12:17 am

yea Alitalia screwed

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » September 21st, 2008, 5:01 pm

im getting back half my airfare from zoom...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 23rd, 2008, 9:36 pm

Now American Airlines in T&T has terminated all of their local staff (except the country manager) and is now utilizing the staff from Servisair for counter, baggage, passenger handling and ramp/flight operations. :shock:

3NEKarter

Postby 3NEKarter » September 23rd, 2008, 9:51 pm

Thats is really sad to hear cause my family and I supported ZOOM Airlines everytime we travel because of their courteous and friendly staff unlike those at caribbean Airlines, those pigs who don't feed you.

Pressure, what we go do now, another one bites the dust.

No Air Canada, No Zoom, and certainly NO TO CARIBBEAN AIRLINES

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » September 24th, 2008, 7:43 pm

3NEKarter wrote:Thats is really sad to hear cause my family and I supported ZOOM Airlines everytime we travel because of their courteous and friendly staff unlike those at caribbean Airlines, those pigs who don't feed you.

for real......they serve their breakfast and then them gone to sleep...if u want something you have to go to the 'kitchen' and BEG them.

dunno if is true.....but i THINK Sky Service stop flying to Trinidad?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 24th, 2008, 7:46 pm

Sky serive still flies, so does Air TRansat but their service is jsut only surviveable.
I'm not saying it happens all the time but my brother's flight had to land in NC after leaving TO because of issues.

What we're doiing this winter because Caribbean Air. os charing 1700-1900 out of here is flying from NYC..pretty darn cheap. Even on continental out of Austin, Tx is 350USD.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » September 25th, 2008, 2:49 pm

satan's ride wrote:
3NEKarter wrote:Thats is really sad to hear cause my family and I supported ZOOM Airlines everytime we travel because of their courteous and friendly staff unlike those at caribbean Airlines, those pigs who don't feed you.

for real......they serve their breakfast and then them gone to sleep...if u want something you have to go to the 'kitchen' and BEG them.

dunno if is true.....but i THINK Sky Service stop flying to Trinidad?

U probably had a bad experience yes.... I got food going and coming plus i ask for seconds an get it so i ehh know wha allyuh talkin bout. an i fly with them jus this mth.

Yuh know allyuh does fly AA an get nuttin an doh complain!!! Keep quiet!!

CA staff friendly an dey have some nice hostess 2!!!

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » September 27th, 2008, 2:15 pm

^^^^^u have some serious lying issues...
get real nah man....asking for second serving of food on an airplane and receiving it......

i live in canada...y would i need to fly AA for?