ARE GATEWAY LAPTOPS ANY GOOD?

wana-B-racer

ARE GATEWAY LAPTOPS ANY GOOD?

Postby wana-B-racer » September 19th, 2008, 9:43 am

Thinking about buying the Gateway P-173FX XL edition.Anybody has this or used it before?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » September 19th, 2008, 9:44 am

as we on this note..... i am interested in purchasing ah laptop, are there ne recommended places i can checkout.....

apart from purchasing online.... :? :?

Postby bushwakka » September 19th, 2008, 9:59 am

^^not in trinidad, unless price is no concern for u

Postby RBphoto » September 19th, 2008, 10:06 am

Gateway is shite. Buy a HP or comapg (sp)

Postby noshownogo » September 19th, 2008, 10:11 am

HP, Dell and Lenovo are good

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » September 19th, 2008, 10:20 am

...price is no concern...

where do you all suggest...

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » September 19th, 2008, 10:25 am

bushwakka wrote:^^not in trinidad, unless price is no concern for u

cheers!!!
its better to purchase a laptop from a noted dealer with a 4 year crash/drop warranty and then in year 3, go drop it in the pool and get it replaced.

air wick

Postby air wick » September 19th, 2008, 10:39 am

DELL since you get service and warranty in trini

Postby RBphoto » September 19th, 2008, 10:45 am

Tsuchiya wrote:
bushwakka wrote:^^not in trinidad, unless price is no concern for u

cheers!!!
its better to purchase a laptop from a noted dealer with a 4 year crash/drop warranty and then in year 3, go drop it in the pool and get it replaced.

Better you drop it. The battery warranty is only one year.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » September 19th, 2008, 11:22 am

my next choice
http://www.alienware.com/products/area- ... KU-DEFAULT

will be adding some stuff to it because i really want to run CRYSIS smoothly.

Postby noshownogo » September 19th, 2008, 11:34 am

if you could afford it, go with the alienware and spend as much as you can afford on memory as Vista is a hog for resources. I didn't bother to mention the brand because most people find it's out of their budget but for performance they are seldom beaten.

Postby RBphoto » September 19th, 2008, 1:10 pm

Alienware laptops do not work well in our climate. I have friends with it and they can't use it for more than an hour before it overheats. Some of these machines use actual desktop hardware shoehorned into a laptop form factor. Bestt performance...yes, but you probably have to use it in a freezerr.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 19th, 2008, 2:06 pm

save some money and buy a Doorway.......1/8 the price

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » September 19th, 2008, 2:09 pm

but ent Alienware is now owned by DELL...

Postby RBphoto » September 19th, 2008, 2:45 pm

ray786 wrote:but ent Alienware is now owned by DELL...

Correct.

Postby noshownogo » September 19th, 2008, 3:28 pm

strange, i know about three people with highend spec'ed out AW laptops for video and audio editing and they have no heating issues. The software they use is built only on Windows platform hence not using Mac's.

Postby Razkal » September 19th, 2008, 3:49 pm

dell.com wrote:Tuxedo Black
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T8100 (2.1GHz/800Mhz FSB/3MB cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium Edition SP1, 64-bit
Standard Display with 2.0 Megapixel Webcam
4GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
Size: 320GB SATA Hard Drive (5400RPM)
CD/DVD burner (DVD+/-RW Drive)
128MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ 8400M GS
Dell Wireless 1395 802.11g Mini Card
85Whr Lithium Ion Battery (9 cell)
ExpressCard Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio Sound Card
Biometric Fingerprint Reader
Norton Internet Security 2008 (only 30 Day Protection)
1Yr Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis
1Yr LoJack for Laptops Theft Protection
No DataSafe
Recycling Kit and Plant a Tree for Me
Adobe® Acrobat® Reader 9.0
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor
Windows Vistaâ„¢ Premium
Standard LCD with Tuxedo Black Casing and Camera XPS M1330
Microsoft Works
No Entertainment software pre-installed
No ISP requested

Just built this...looking for a good laptop, hopefully not exceeding 10K or atleast not too much, have no idea how good this is or isn't, so enlighten me, what should i add/remove etc
I hate getting that trial norton sheit tho! :x
anyway around that?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 19th, 2008, 9:58 pm

sheit>geteway

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 19th, 2008, 10:50 pm

i sure nobody who just post there ever use a gateway, i've had my gateway laptop for 3 years now, never ever had aprooblem, while friends with compaq's, dell's and toshiba's have changed parts, my laptop is on permanently, i havent taken it off for more than an hour for about a year now(beside when there is no current)...i read that their desktops are poor, but the one that i have is the MX6441, turion 64 1.8ghz, 512 mb RAM, i'd say its a great buy and if you get it on sale, better yet, my brother also had a gateway laptop, dual core AMD, got stolen out of his van at G. Bazaar, that one was also really nice, scratch resistant surface etc, with 3 gigs of ram, good laptops

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » September 20th, 2008, 12:11 am

i have a gateway laptop.........................and it's very good,never had any probs,the only thing is ,it gets hot fast!!!(i have it on my bed most of the time so that why)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 20th, 2008, 9:28 am

LENOVO THINKPAD SL SERIES FTW!!!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 20th, 2008, 12:57 pm

i buy a lenovo the other day as well, the ideapad series, core 2 duo @2ghz, 3 gigs ram, dual layer dvd burner, 5 speakers and a sub, 15.4 wide screen, its nice, its and ideapad, with face recognition etc, it aint no thinkpad but its nice

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 21st, 2008, 11:01 am

^^^^^ :shock: :mrgreen:

Smokey

Postby Smokey » September 21st, 2008, 12:03 pm

three words......dell outlet + xps1530
u will get a top of the line midrange system for approx $6000TT
a padnuh jus bought this system and it is friggin amazing for the price which was just over $6000TT

2.4 Core Duo 8400
4gb ram
15.4 LED Backlit LCD 1440 x 900 (the resolution is decent for most ppl, but the LED backlight makes is a freaking amazing screen! superb contrast, color and brightness, by far better than anything else out there on laptops)
8600GT Nvidia
320GB 7200 RPM HD
Intel Wifi N card
Vista Ultimate

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » September 21st, 2008, 12:40 pm

Gateways are good ...had like 4 ....only problem is the batteries which are produced by sony and Sony is know for manufacturing sheit batteries ....so when ordering a gateway stay away from the models that use sony batteries .... and dont leave the laptop plugged in 24/7 had two change 2 hard drive in 2 gateways this weeks because they sit on a desk plugged in for the last year and a half.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » September 22nd, 2008, 11:22 am

then gateway it is.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 22nd, 2008, 11:55 am

well my gateway plugged in full time, have not had any issues yet, more than a year now it on full time...maybe i should unplug it

Postby Razkal » September 22nd, 2008, 1:27 pm

^thats when problems go start :lol: