getting an amatuer radio licence (ham radio)

megadoc1

getting an amatuer radio licence (ham radio)

Postby megadoc1 » September 15th, 2008, 12:44 am

any operators on tuner?
how and who to contact locally to get started?
cost?
well i always like playing with radio and now i want to acquire a license
for some serious stuff
time to get off cb

hindian

Postby hindian » September 15th, 2008, 1:00 am

me...9Z4FC i have mine abt 4 years now but the guy who signed up to do the exam with no longer does that. I think your best bet is to go to the boy scouts headquarters in St. Anns they have a station there and i believe its the base of the Trinidad andTobago Amateur Radio Services they should be able to help you

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 15th, 2008, 1:16 am

ok thanks
so is there a shortage of volunteer examiners ?
and what was the overall cost

de stig

Postby de stig » September 15th, 2008, 6:37 am

These link may help , as usual in TNT we always have issues as these two agencies hasa bit of beef lol
http://www.geocities.com/ttarsorg/
http://www.ttarl.org/_mgxroot/page_10764.html

best of luck 73s

9Z4BL

purpleheart

Amateur Radio Classes

Postby purpleheart » September 15th, 2008, 11:18 am

Ok you like playing radio then you are a true HAM Radio person even though you dont have your license yet. For more information on classes and cost email ttarsradioclass@yahoogroups.com.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 15th, 2008, 8:25 pm

thanks email sent

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 15th, 2008, 8:32 pm

i have one as well cobra...no licence though.....whats the advantg of having this?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 15th, 2008, 8:53 pm

is that ham or normal cb
with cb you don't need a license
ham is a different thing fcc regulated= illegal to operate

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » September 15th, 2008, 9:04 pm

megadoc1, share the info when you get it...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 15th, 2008, 9:05 pm

ok no problem

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » September 15th, 2008, 9:06 pm

The Telecom Authority of Trinidad & Tobago has published the final version of the Framework for the Authorization of Amateur Radio Services.

http://www.tatt.org.tt/ddocs/Amateur_Framework.pdf

4.4.1 Amateur Radio certification requirement for licensing
Currently there are no local certification bodies for Amateur Radio Services in Trinidad and Tobago. In order to facilitate the licensing of Amateur Radio Services, the Authority will accept certification from certain foreign institutions. Currently the Authority accepts certification from the RSGB, the ARRL and Industry Canada Amateur Radio certification. These international certifications must be valid and active at the time of application to be considered by the Authority. The Authority will continue to review certification from internationally recognised institutions and will maintain a list of accepted amateur radio certifications which will be posted on the Authority’s website

Amateur Radio Services Framework Guideline
Nationals and/or residents who hold Amateur Radio certificates from foreign institutions that meet the Authority’s approval and appear on the Authority’s approved list may apply for a Trinidad and Tobago Amateur Radio Licence.

Postby bushwakka » September 16th, 2008, 8:36 am

jes a question....can a muslim use a ham radio?

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 19th, 2008, 1:16 am

i got a cobra cb ? whats that i know nothig bout it or operating cept listening to ppl fish somewhere!..sounds kinda kool at times...

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » September 25th, 2008, 8:15 pm

hey all 9Z4FI here.for info call me at 395-0654 73's to all operators here!

dtp

Postby dtp » September 26th, 2008, 11:47 am

bushwakka wrote:jes a question....can a muslim use a ham radio?

good one lol lol

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » September 26th, 2008, 12:40 pm

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

take all ten, me belly jed lol

Samo

Postby Samo » September 26th, 2008, 1:13 pm

if alll yuh lookin for ah dj...i in :mrgreen:

Postby AllTrac » September 26th, 2008, 1:23 pm

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ARSE HOLIOOOOO!!!! HAHAHAHAHHA

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » September 26th, 2008, 1:29 pm

question of the week :D :D

Sheriff!

Postby Sheriff! » September 26th, 2008, 4:29 pm

lol the answert is yes

Sheriff!

Re: getting an amatuer radio licence (ham radio)

Postby Sheriff! » January 18th, 2023, 1:19 pm

Did you ever get your license?

mad

Postby mad » February 10th, 2023, 1:54 pm

Any tuner with an ameteur radio license willing to make an easy $200. Just to clear two walkie talkies for me. Hit me a P.M if interested.

Postby sMASH » February 10th, 2023, 2:36 pm

mad wrote:Any tuner with an ameteur radio license willing to make an easy $200. Just to clear two walkie talkies for me. Hit me a P.M if interested.
I had brought in some via skybox many years ago.
Got seized cause I don't kno what I doing.
Contacted tatt concerning it. they gave me a letter, I can't remember for sure but I don't think they charged me for it. Gave the letter to the sky box and normal business after that.

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2023, 4:01 pm

mad wrote:Any tuner with an ameteur radio license willing to make an easy $200. Just to clear two walkie talkies for me. Hit me a P.M if interested.

You still equipment certification. The process is free and fast.

Equipment Certification

APPPLY EARLY!
Get your Radio Product/Equipment Certified Before it Reaches a Port of Entry!

To apply for an equipment certificate for radiocommunication (radio) equipment to be used in Trinidad and Tobago, visit the Equipment Standardization and Certification page on the Authority’s website and download the Equipment Certification Application Form.

1) Complete the form(s), scan or obtain a softcopy of the required attachments, and email all to info@tatt.org.tt.

NOTE: Signing of the application form(s) will not be required for submission.

NOTE: Certification of radio equipment already held in Customs or at a port of entry must be explicitly stated in the email to the Authority, if applicable.

The Authority will respond to the emailed application with instructions for collection/delivery of the equipment certificate.

Any queries related to obtaining an equipment certificate/certifying radio equipment can be emailed to equipmentcertification@tatt.org.tt.

https://tatt.org.tt/Consumers.aspx

mad

Postby mad » February 10th, 2023, 5:53 pm

So right now it in customs Piarco. I went TATT to inquire and they told me I have to write an exams before I get the License. For me is too much run around. Is either I juss leave it there to rot or pay somebody a lil change to get it clear for me. If I knew was all this run around I would of bought the ones selling in Pricemart.

Postby sMASH » February 10th, 2023, 6:10 pm

mad wrote:So right now it in customs Piarco. I went TATT to inquire and they told me I have to write an exams before I get the License. For me is too much run around. Is either I juss leave it there to rot or pay somebody a lil change to get it clear for me. If I knew was all this run around I would of bought the ones selling in Pricemart.
I didn't have to get no license. They just verieifed what type it was, and gsve me a clearance letter.

U sure u explained urself properly?

mad

Postby mad » February 10th, 2023, 6:18 pm

sMASH wrote:
mad wrote:So right now it in customs Piarco. I went TATT to inquire and they told me I have to write an exams before I get the License. For me is too much run around. Is either I juss leave it there to rot or pay somebody a lil change to get it clear for me. If I knew was all this run around I would of bought the ones selling in Pricemart.
I didn't have to get no license. They just verieifed what type it was, and gsve me a clearance letter.

Yup, apparently the ones I bought was over some wattage hence needed an Ameteur radio Licence.

Postby sMASH » February 10th, 2023, 6:38 pm

mad wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Yup, apparently the ones I bought was over some wattage hence needed an Ameteur radio Licence.
Damn. How much to do the course?

Postby adnj » February 10th, 2023, 6:50 pm

Yes, I see now.

mad

Postby mad » February 11th, 2023, 7:58 am

sMASH wrote:
mad wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Damn. How much to do the course?

Didn't bother to find out. I eh going through that for two little walkie talkie.