since TSTT Mailhost is down what you using

W2J

since TSTT Mailhost is down what you using

Postby W2J » July 17th, 2008, 11:18 am

for your outgoing mail server if you primary connection is TSTT domain?

Postby wagonrunner » July 17th, 2008, 11:59 am

W2J,
configure iis to be your own smtp server

Snyper

Postby Snyper » July 17th, 2008, 12:06 pm

well they have moved over to google mail give blink csr a call to have it configured

W2J

Postby W2J » July 17th, 2008, 12:11 pm

servers are rejecting user names and password right now, I was told to call back in about three hours that was two days ago, when I called 15mins earlier I told the same thing.

anyway this what I getting when trying to log into web based mail

ERROR: Connection dropped by IMAP server.

Postby SR » July 17th, 2008, 12:15 pm

working now
at least for me
no configuration change

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 17th, 2008, 8:10 pm

http://apps.tstt.net.tt to activate your new account
http://mail.tstt.net.tt for the new web login
indians will give u the pop settings for outlook

W2J

Postby W2J » July 17th, 2008, 8:21 pm

^ROFL after I reviewed today's log our our technical team was + 60% with remote access and phone support. I am really feeling sorry for the pocket of the people who using TSTT email. TSTT should have not have Migrated in such a fashion without proper support for the end user.

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 17th, 2008, 8:30 pm

i had problems a while ago maybe a month ago
even when i migrated to shitty google mail and i put in the pop settings for outlook, it didnt work
they didnt have a clue why the pop wasnt working
they had to get a tech to fix it
but surprisingly it was fixed in a couple hours
i dont know how they did that without advising customers.. a simple email with instructions would have been sufficient
Last edited by ¤Sabrina¤ on July 17th, 2008, 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DW

Postby DW » July 17th, 2008, 8:31 pm

POP3 / IMAP settings on the "Settings" page of the "new mail" service.
Its the standard, Google settings for POP3 / IMAP.

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 17th, 2008, 8:32 pm

DW, i had the correct pop after i converted my account
but it REFUSED to work, and the indians were stumped, the trini dude was the one who said he needed to escalate to a technician

DW

Postby DW » July 17th, 2008, 8:44 pm

Ok it worked off the bat, I tried the POP3 settings, IMAP is for another machine.
Just have to remember to enable POP3 / IMAP as needed from the web front end, and to use the correct ports etc. Same stuff that is in the help document.

Still, they should provide ppl with a quick guide, not everyone will know where to look to get settings. :roll:

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 17th, 2008, 8:49 pm

when u call them they run thru all the settings
but i did mine when they had just started converting, so they obviously had issues and it just wasnt working, the indian had reset my password over an over when she couldnt figure out what was wrong
even said she would have to have her supervisor call me
but i get fed up of she so i called back till i got a local an he told me exactly what was going on and that it was real strange the POP wasnt working, but they fixed it in less than 4hrs i think

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 17th, 2008, 8:50 pm

¤Sabrina¤ wrote:i had problems a while ago maybe a month ago
even when i migrated to shitty google mail and i put in the pop settings for outlook, it didnt work
they didnt have a clue why the pop wasnt working
they had to get a tech to fix it
but surprisingly it was fixed in a couple hours
i dont know how they did that without advising customers.. a simple email with instructions would have been sufficient

They happen to have the best commercial e-mail platform IMO, so if u actually find flaws, mind listing it here....

Postby r3iXmann » July 17th, 2008, 8:51 pm

A33_VQ35 wrote:
They happen to have the best commercial e-mail platform IMO, so if u actually find flaws, mind listing it here....

x10000

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 17th, 2008, 8:53 pm

I'm actually surprised that in this day and age ppl still POP mail...

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 17th, 2008, 8:57 pm

A33_VQ35 wrote:I'm actually surprised that in this day and age ppl still POP mail...

i personally prefer to use outlook
i dont like webmail
i dont care for the gmail interface, also hate that back and forth messages all get grouped into one

W2J

Postby W2J » July 17th, 2008, 9:12 pm

DW wrote:Ok it worked off the bat, I tried the POP3 settings, IMAP is for another machine.
Just have to remember to enable POP3 / IMAP as needed from the web front end, and to use the correct ports etc. Same stuff that is in the help document.

Still, they should provide ppl with a quick guide, not everyone will know where to look to get settings. :roll:

I feel is outlook express and not outlook.

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 17th, 2008, 9:15 pm

i use ms outlook not outlook express

Postby Cjruckus » July 17th, 2008, 9:23 pm

New thunderbird configures googlemail in 1 step.

All you do is put in your user name and password and it does the rest.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 17th, 2008, 9:24 pm

^ not refering to you.. with outlook there is more than meets the eye... some other parameters to config esp if you using another mailhost and not the ISP own.

Postby Sky » July 17th, 2008, 10:58 pm

A33_VQ35 wrote:I'm actually surprised that in this day and age ppl still POP mail...

ent
I wont even use isp mailhosts. You can't cause as much trouble.

DW

Postby DW » July 18th, 2008, 3:54 am

W2J wrote:^ not refering to you.. with outlook there is more than meets the eye... some other parameters to config esp if you using another mailhost and not the ISP own.

No its MS Outlook 2003 I am speaking of that I tested it with. True there are many settings, one just needs to know what to look for and what to change. :wink:

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 18th, 2008, 8:21 am

¤Sabrina¤ wrote:

i personally prefer to use outlook
i dont like webmail
i dont care for the gmail interface, also hate that back and forth messages all get grouped into one

I actually like it cause it doesn't clutter your mailbox with numerous msgs from 1 person if u replying to a specific e-mail. i believe they term it conversations and as such its grouped like that. Takes some getting used to, but i mean u have to luv the idea of 6Gigs of storage and there search feature.

mars

Postby mars » July 18th, 2008, 11:32 am

¤Sabrina¤ wrote:http://apps.tstt.net.tt to activate your new account
http://mail.tstt.net.tt for the new web login
indians will give u the pop settings for outlook

Thanks for the links. Couple of things they neglect to tell you:

1. You HAVE to use the 1st link to get a new password - you can then change it back to your old one.

2. You have to enable POP retrieval from the webmail interface before you can use an email client.

3. In Apple Mail, the username must include the "@tstt.net.tt"

Not really their problem, I also have an Interserv email account but the "port 995" thing doesn't work with it. Does Interserv/Cariblink have a separate outgoing mailserver I can use?